This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Open letter Min. Rodriguez: Chateau Laurier, July 9 2019

 

The Honourable Pablo Rodriguez, P.C., M.P.

Minister of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism

485, Confederation Building

House of Commons

Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0A6

 

July 9, 2019

 

Dear Minister,


We are addressing you in your dual capacity: first, as the Minister of Canadian Heritage who is responsible, according to your mandate letter, to promote “Canada’s stories, shaped by our immense and vibrant diversity, [which] should be celebrated and shared between Canadians and with the world”; and also as the Minister responsible for the National Capital Commission to Parliament, a Commission sensitive to national symbols, historic commemorations and in particular to events of national significance held on Parliament Hill.

 

We are deeply concerned that the integrity of the original architecture of the Château Laurier is being destroyed, and that you and the Commission have surrendered and washed your hands of the issue, as if this is happening in some remote backyard.

 

Perhaps a brief historical reminder will serve to enlighten the present situation and allow us to reflect on our collective inability to prevent the disappearance of what identifies us, and could positively inspire us to undertake initiatives that draws on the lessons learned from our not so distant past.

 

In 1966, Minister George McIlraith’s Department of Public Works approved the demolition of Union Station (where the Senate sits today) to, you guessed it, make room for public parking spaces! The reasoning offered at the time seemed very convincing in the eyes of the government: there would be huge crowd of visitors to Ottawa to celebrate the Centenary of 1867, and it seemed imperative to make room for tourists’ cars in the city center to facilitate their access to the National Capital.

 

It was a group of citizens assembled under the banner of Heritage Ottawa’s predecessor that organized protests, pressure campaigns, open letters in newspapers, and petitions to Parliamentarians to finally convince Minister McIlraith to back down.

 

What ultimately influenced the government’s decision was that Union Station and Chateau Laurier formed an inseparable ensemble that had originally, and personally, been promoted by Prime Minister Sir Wilfrid Laurier. Both buildings were designed by the same Montreal architectural firm, Ross & MacFarlane, to give Ottawa the look of a true capital city that would, indeed, be rooted in the great history of Humanity. The Station was meant to be of classical/beaux-arts architectural style, while the Chateau was inspired by medieval/renaissance style.

 

We remind you of these facts because the decision you face affords you a choice that will mark your legacy at the head of this Ministry: will you be a visionary, as was Laurier in his time, or remain merely indifferent, as was McIlraith’s Department in 1966, who happened to also be responsible for the National Capital Commission which, at the time, had complacently followed the Department’s administrative reasoning, as has the current Commission and its Chairman in the face of this botched project?

 

How do you intend to mark history? This is what you are facing: you can either hide behind the rhetoric of “it's not us, it’s them – it's not the public, it's the private sector”; or, you can take up the mantle of leadership by asserting, with all of the moral and political authority that your title confers on you, to demonstrate to all Canadians that the heart of Parliament Hill is not akin to a shopping center that can be developed at will, but rather that it carries a symbolic value to which all Canadians from coast to coast hold dear.

 

You represent us all at this moment of our national life. Allow us to hope that you will not project an image of helplessness, but rather that of visionary leadership, as have done the most distinguished of your predecessors: request a meeting with the members of the Lalji family; enlighten them as to how they, too, share a collective responsibility as owners of the Chateau Laurier, a historic building, and that we are not seeking to prevent them from making more money by enlarging the hotel, but rather, to do so in the respect of our past, of who we are, and of what identifies us. Distinguished experts are on hand to offer helpful advice for an acceptable expansion project. This is the kind of leadership that we would expect from you.

 

Yours sincerely,

 

 

 

______________________________                                                _______________________________

 

The Honourable Serge Joyal, C.P.

O.C., O.Q., M.R.S.C., Ad. E.

Fiduciary Member of the CCA

Phyllis Lambert, CC, COQ, CAL, FIRAC Founding Director Emeritus of the

Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA)

 

 

 

 cc. : The Hon. Catherine McKenna, Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Lettre ouverte au Min. Rodriguez : Chateau Laurier, 9 juillet 2019

 

L’honorable Pablo Rodriguez, c.p., député

Ministre du Patrimoine canadien et du Multiculturalisme

Édifice de la Confédération, pièce 485

Chambre des communes
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0A6

 

9 juillet 2019

 

Monsieur le Ministre,

 

Permettez-nous de nous adresser à vous à double titre, d’abord comme ministre du patrimoine canadien, responsable selon votre lettre de mandat de promouvoir « les histoires du Canada, façonnées par notre immense et riche diversité, [qui] devraient être célébrées par et partagées avec les Canadiens et le reste du monde », et ensuite comme ministre responsable de la Commission de la capitale nationale au Parlement, commission sensible aux symboles nationaux, commémorations historiques et en particulier aux événements d’importance nationale qui se déroulent sur la colline parlementaire.

 

Ce qui nous préoccupe profondément, c’est que l’on est en train de saccager l’intégrité de l’architecture originale du Château Laurier et que vous-même et la Commission avez déclaré forfait et vous en laver les mains, comme s’il s’agissait d’une banale histoire d’arrière-cours.

 

Peut-être qu’un peu de rappel historique pourrait éclairer le temps présent et nous faire réfléchir sur notre incapacité collective à prévenir la disparition de ce qui nous identifie et surtout nous inspirer des initiatives à entreprendre en puisant dans les leçons que nous enseigne un passé pas si lointain.

 

En 1966, le ministère des travaux publics dirigé à l’époque par George McIlraith avait approuvé la démolition de la Gare Union (où siège maintenant le Sénat) pour, nous vous le donnons en mille, faire de la place pour un stationnement public! La raison avancée apparaissait bien convaincante aux yeux du gouvernement : il devait y avoir une telle affluence de visiteurs à Ottawa, pour célébrer le centenaire de 1867, qu’il apparaissait impérieux de dégager le centre de la ville pour faire place aux voitures des touristes, histoire de leur faciliter l’accès à la capitale.

 

C’est un groupe de citoyens, réunis sous la bannière de l’ancêtre d’Héritage Ottawa qui, au prix de manifestations, de pétitions, de pressions, de lettres ouvertes dans les journaux, de suppliques aux parlementaires, finirent par convaincre le ministre McIlraith de reculer.

 

Ce qui a fini par influencer la décision du gouvernement c’est que la Gare Union et le Château Laurier formaient un ensemble inséparable promu à l’origine personnellement par le premier ministre Sir Wilfried Laurier. Tous deux conçus par les mêmes architectes de Montréal, la firme Ross & MacFarlane, pour donner à Ottawa l’allure d’une véritable capitale d’un pays ancré, et oui, dans la grande histoire de l’humanité. La gare devait être de style architectural classique/beaux-arts, alors que le château devait s’inspirer du style médiéval/renaissance.

 

Nous vous rappelons ces faits parce que la décision à laquelle vous faites face, vous inscrira dans l’histoire et marquera votre mandat à la tête de ce ministère : serez-vous visionnaire comme Laurier, en son temps, ou platement utilitaire comme l’était au début le ministère de McIlraith en 1966, lui aussi responsable à cette époque de la Commission de la capitale nationale, laquelle s’était benoîtement rangée devant l’argutie administrative du ministère, tout comme la commission actuelle et son président devant ce projet bâclé?

 

En fait, comment voulez-vous faire l’histoire? C’est ce à quoi vous êtes confronté : soit vous réfugier derrière le paravent de « ce n’est pas moi, c’est l’autre - ce n’est pas nous, c’est le secteur privé », soit vous prenez le leadership de faire valoir avec toute l’autorité morale et politique que votre titre vous confère de démontrer aux yeux de tous les Canadien(ne)s que le cœur de la colline parlementaire n’est pas un centre d’achat qu’on peut agrandir à volonté, mais qu’il représente une valeur symbolique à laquelle les Canadien(ne)s d’un océan à l’autre tiennent par-dessus tout.

 

Vous nous représentez tous à cet instant de notre vie nationale. Permettez-nous d’espérer que vous ne nous renverrez pas une image d’impuissance, mais plutôt celle d’un leadership visionnaire, comme les plus distingués de vos prédécesseurs : demandez à rencontrer les membres de la famille Lalji; expliquez leur qu’eux aussi partagent une responsabilité collective en étant propriétaires du château, un édifice historique, et que ce que nous cherchons ce n’est pas de les empêcher de s’enrichir en agrandissant l’hôtel mais de le faire en respectant ce que nous avons été et ce que nous sommes. Des experts désintéressés sont disponibles pour les conseiller utilement. C’est le geste de leadership que nous attendons de votre part.

 

Nous vous prions d'agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, l'expression de notre considération distinguée.

 

 

 

________________________                                                                _______________________________

 

Honorable Serge Joyal, CP

OC, OQ, MRSC, Ad. E.

Fiduciaire Émérite du CCA

 

Phyllis Lambert, CC, COQ, CAL, FIRAC Président-Fondateur,

Centre Canadien d’Architecture

 

cc. : l’hon Catherine McKenna, ministre responsable de Parcs Canada