This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Statement - Notre Dame Cathedral—Centre Block Rehabilitation

 

Hon. Serge Joyal: Honourable senators, on the evening of April 15, a catastrophic fire destroyed much of the venerable Notre-Dame Cathedral in Paris.

I was there, standing just a few hundred metres away. For hours, I watched aghast as the blaze consumed the immense oak frame that had held up the cathedral’s lead roof for more than 850 years. The fire spread with terrifying speed.

Soon the flames were licking at the soaring 60-metre spire over the transept. In just a few minutes, that elegant structure, one of the most iconic landmarks of central Paris, was engulfed in flames. Then, in the blink of an eye, the burning spire collapsed, crashing through the vaulted ceiling of Notre-Dame, into the choir and nave, and sending millions of red-hot embers flying through the interior of the cathedral. The inferno swiftly spread to the great north tower, which blazed forth like a lantern in the gathering dusk.

Words cannot describe the anguish you feel in the face of such a tragedy, when there is nothing you can do or try that would stop the senseless destruction. Centuries of history went up in flames before our eyes. It was like seeing a vision of the apocalypse, when the fires of hell will consume the earth and not one stone will be left upon another.

Notre-Dame de Paris is a part of our universal heritage. Its destruction is a loss for all of humanity.

[English]

We share our deepest sadness with our French friends and assure them of our entire support for the rebuilding and restoration of Notre Dame.

What could we learn from this tragedy? We should be mindful that, in the past, several major fires that have destroyed historical buildings happened during restoration work conducted on the premises.

Let us consider the restoration work that has been initiated this year in the Centre Block of Parliament. Fires in buildings under restoration in the past have happened as a result of carelessness and the lack of an efficient prevention plan.

The Subcommittee of Internal Economy of the Senate - ably chaired by our colleague, Senator Scott Tannas — tasked with the responsibility of overseeing the restoration of Centre Block, should immediately ask for a report from Public Works to make an in-depth review of the measures taken to prevent such an accident over the next ten years or more as the restoration will be conducted.

We should remember, honourable senator, that a fire on February 3, 1916, completely destroyed the original Centre Block building erected 50 years earlier in 1866. We should do everything we can to implement strict security measures during the decade-long construction phase in that building to ensure that we have done our utmost to prevent a tragedy of the magnitude of Notre Dame in Centre Block. We cannot do anything less.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Déclaration - La cathédrale Notre-Dame—La réhabilitation de l’édifice du Centre

L’honorable Serge Joyal : Honorables sénateurs, en soirée le 15 avril dernier, un incendie catastrophique a détruit une grande partie de la vénérable cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris.

J’en ai été témoin, à quelques centaines de mètres, pendant plusieurs heures, sidéré par le spectacle des flammes qui détruisaient l’immense charpente de bois de chêne vieille de plus de 850 ans qui soutenait la toiture de plomb de l’édifice. Le feu progressait à une vitesse effroyable!

Très rapidement, les flammes ont entouré l’immense flèche de 60 mètres du transept, consumant en quelques minutes l’élégante structure qui donnait au centre de Paris son profil si pittoresque. Puis, en deux coups, toute la flèche s’est écroulée comme une torche funeste en perçant dans sa chute la voûte de Notre-Dame au milieu du chœur et de la nef et en projetant ses millions de tisons ardents à l’intérieur de la cathédrale. Ensuite, le feu s’est propagé dans la grande tour nord, transformant celle-ci en lanterne incandescente dans la nuit qui tombait à peine.

Il n’y a pas de mots pour exprimer l’effroi que l’on peut ressentir devant une telle tragédie quand on ne peut absolument rien faire ni rien tenter pour arrêter une destruction aussi insensée. Des siècles d’histoire disparaissaient en flammes sous nos yeux. Nous vivions sur place les prédictions de l’Apocalypse qui annonce que le feu vengeur détruira tout et qu’il ne restera plus pierre sur pierre…

Notre-Dame de Paris appartient au patrimoine universel. Sa destruction est une perte pour l’humanité tout entière.

[Traduction]

Nous partageons la profonde tristesse de nos amis français et les assurons de notre complet soutien pour la reconstruction et la restauration de Notre-Dame.

Que peut nous apprendre cette tragédie? Je pense qu’il ne faut pas oublier que plusieurs grands incendies qui ont détruit des édifices historiques ont pris naissance pendant des travaux de restauration.

Pensons aux travaux de restauration qui ont été entrepris cette année dans l’édifice du Centre du Parlement. La négligence et l’absence d’un plan de prévention efficace ont été à l’origine de certains des incendies qui ont ravagé des édifices pendant des travaux de restauration.

Le sous-comité de la régie interne du Sénat — sous la direction compétente de notre collègue le sénateur Scott Tannas — qui est chargé de surveiller la restauration de l’édifice du Centre devrait demander immédiatement à Travaux publics de produire un rapport d’examen détaillé sur les mesures qui ont été prises pour empêcher un tel accident pendant les travaux qui vont s’étendre sur les 10 prochaines années, ou plus.

N’oublions pas, honorables sénateurs, que, le 3 février 1916, un incendie a complètement détruit l’édifice du Centre original, qui avait été construit 50 ans plus tôt, en 1866. Nous devrions faire tout ce que nous pouvons pour mettre en place des mesures de sécurité strictes pendant la décennie que dureront les travaux de construction sur cet édifice afin de nous assurer de n’avoir ménagé aucun effort pour empêcher une tragédie de l’ampleur de celle de Notre-Dame dans l’édifice du Centre. Nous nous devons de le faire.