This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

STATEMENT - Judicial Selection Process

Hon. Serge Joyal: Honourable senators, last week, media reports based on an unidentified leak described confidential conversations that allegedly took place between the Prime Minister himself and the former Minister of Justice, the Honourable Jody Wilson-Raybould, regarding the appointment of a judge from Western Canada to fill that region’s vacant seat on the Supreme Court. The conversations also concerned the appointment of a new Chief Justice of the Supreme Court to replace the Right Honourable Beverley McLachlin.

[English]

This is an extraordinary breach of confidentiality regarding the process of appointing justices to the benches of the highest court of the land. It should be investigated immediately by the most able forces of the RCMP so that the source of the leak can be quickly identified and that corrective measures can be put in place as soon as possible. To be clear, such a shocking leak is a breach of the oath of secrecy taken by those involved in the selection process of such nominations which are part of the process of consultation, appraisal and examination of the candidates for appointment to the bench. This is even more serious, honourable senators, than a violation of cabinet deliberations, since the consequences of that leak affect each and every Canadian.

The Supreme Court of Canada is the court of last appeal. It interprets the Constitution and the nation’s laws for all citizens. Its Chief Justice presides over the work of the Canadian Judicial Council that governs the ethics and conduct of the more than 1,100 federally appointed judges in Canada. Making public the exchanges on the selection of candidates for important judicial positions jeopardized the functioning of constitutional democracy in Canada and the guarantee that the rule of law is always served and protected.

There is an integral relationship between democracy, the independence of the courts and the rule of law. An impartial and independent judiciary guarantees that Canada remains a law-based society; it allows Canadians to have faith in their court system.

As the Supreme Court underlined in the decision of Valente in 1985:

The word “impartial” . . . connotes absence of bias, actual or perceived.

Later in the 1997 in the case of R v. S, the court added:

True impartiality. . . . requires that the judge be free to entertain and act upon different points of view with an open mind.

Chief Justice Richard Wagner properly recognized this judicial fundamental when he was sworn in in February 2018:

The importance of public confidence in the justice system. . . is the lynchpin of our democracy.

Such an inexcusable leak regarding the exchange of views in the selection process challenges the whole system of appointments at the highest level and the integrity of judges; it jeopardizes the trust of every Canadian in the judicial system in Canada. The Prime Minister must intervene immediately and launch a thorough investigation so that corrective measures be put in place to protect the democratic right of every Canadian to be heard by an independent and impartial court. To safeguard the rule of law demands nothing less.

Some Hon. Senators: Hear, hear.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

DÉCLARATION - Le processus de nomination des juges

L’honorable Serge Joyal : Honorables sénateurs, la semaine dernière, les médias, par une fuite non identifiée, ont rapporté la nature des échanges confidentiels qui auraient eu lieu entre le premier ministre lui-même et l’ancienne ministre de la Justice, l’honorable Jody Wilson-Raybould, au sujet de la nomination à la Cour suprême d’un juge de la région de l’Ouest afin de combler ce siège vacant, échanges qui traitaient également de la nomination d’un juge en chef pour cette cour afin de remplacer la très honorable Beverley McLachlin.

[Traduction]

Cette atteinte au caractère confidentiel du processus de nomination des juges au plus haut tribunal du pays est sans précédent. Elle devrait faire l’objet séance tenante d’une enquête de la part des éléments les plus aptes de la GRC afin que le responsable de la fuite soit identifié rapidement et que des mesures correctives soient mises en place le plus vite possible. Pour dire les choses clairement, une fuite aussi choquante constitue une violation du serment de confidentialité prêté par ceux qui participent au processus de nomination, lequel implique des consultations ainsi que l’évaluation et l’examen des candidats à la magistrature. C’est encore plus grave, honorables sénateurs, qu’une violation du secret du Cabinet, étant donné qu’une telle fuite a des répercussions sur tous les Canadiens.

La Cour suprême du Canada est le tribunal d’appel de dernier ressort. Elle interprète la Constitution et les lois du pays pour tous les Canadiens. Son juge en chef préside les travaux du Conseil canadien de la magistrature, qui régit l’éthique et la conduite des quelque 1 100 juges nommés par le gouvernement fédéral au Canada. Le fait de rendre publics les échanges sur la sélection des candidats aux postes importants de l’appareil judiciaire a mis en péril le fonctionnement de la démocratie constitutionnelle au Canada et a jeté un doute sur le fait que la primauté du droit est toujours respectée et protégée.

La démocratie, l’indépendance des tribunaux et la primauté du droit sont intimement liées. Une magistrature impartiale et indépendante garantit que le Canada demeure une société fondée sur le droit et permet aux Canadiens d’avoir confiance dans le système judiciaire.

Dans l’arrêt Valente, de 1985, la Cour suprême dit ceci:

Le terme impartial [...] connote une absence de préjugé, réel ou apparent.

Dans l’arrêt R. c. S, de 1997, la Cour ajoute ceci:

La véritable impartialité [...] exige que le juge soit libre d’accueillir et d’utiliser différents points de vue en gardant un esprit ouvert.

Le juge en chef Richard Wagner a reconnu à juste titre cet aspect fondamental de la justice lorsqu’il a prêté serment en février 2018. Je le cite :

[...] la confiance du public dans le système de justice [...] est la pierre angulaire de notre démocratie.

La divulgation impardonnable des échanges concernant le processus de sélection menace tout le système de nominations aux plus hauts postes, ainsi que l’intégrité des juges, et elle met en péril la confiance des Canadiens dans le système judiciaire du Canada. Le premier ministre doit intervenir sur-le-champ et doit lancer une enquête approfondie afin que des mesures correctives soient mises en place pour protéger le droit démocratique de chaque Canadien d’être entendu par un tribunal indépendant et impartial. Il ne peut en être autrement si nous voulons défendre la primauté du droit.

Des voix : Bravo!