This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

STATEMENT by Senator Linda Frum - Hon. Serge Joyal, P.C., O.C.

Hon. Linda Frum: Honourable senators, I rise today to speak about the importance of cherishing our past and to pay tribute to a senator who has been a leader in doing so here on Parliament Hill, our honourable colleague, Senator Serge Joyal.

Recently, because we are both members of the Senate's Art Advisory Committee under the excellent leadership of Senator Fortin-Duplessis, I learned about Senator Joyal's largely unsung and quite extraordinary efforts to keep our Canadian history alive.

Only yesterday, a two-decades-long quest by Senator Joyal culminated in the hanging of three royal portraits, which now complete a full collection of portraits of all the nine French kings and nine British kings and queens who have reigned over Canada.

Colleagues, when Senator Joyal was appointed to the Senate in 1997, Parliament's portrait collection of English monarchs had gaps in it, and there were no portraits of French kings whatsoever. Senator Joyal set out to rectify this. As he told me, "It's not right not to reflect our history. The past explains who we are today."

Senator Joyal donated the portrait of George IV from his own collection and purchased portraits of William IV and Edward VIII as gifts to this place.

[Translation]

However, going back to what Senator Joyal said, we are the oldest constitutional monarchy in the Americas. We should display all of the sovereigns who have reigned over Canada since its beginnings, back to the time of Jacques Cartier. Senator Joyal set out to complete the series of portraits of kings of France. He donated three from his personal collection and, over time, bought the remaining six for Canada.

[English]

However, Senator Joyal has done more than contribute these valuable paintings.

[Translation]

When the senator arrived in the Senate, the Salon de la Francophonie was a former smoking room with a plain plaque on the door. Thanks to Senator Joyal, the room was redecorated and now includes a bronze bust of Samuel de Champlain, founder of Acadia and Quebec City.

[English]

Further, recognizing that Canada had a history before Europeans arrived, Senator Joyal has donated Aboriginal art to the Aboriginal Affairs Committee room.

Honourable senators, there were nine French kings of Canada, including François I who commissioned Jacques Cartier to claim Canada for France, and Louis XIV, the Sun King, who gave Quebec its civil law code.

Coincidentally, there have also been nine British monarchs. Thanks to Senator Joyal, we now have portraits of all 18 of these monarchs hanging on the walls of our Parliament.

Honourable senators, I believe we, and the Canadian people, owe Senator Serge Joyal our warmest thanks and our deepest gratitude for his outstanding — and largely unsung — generosity, and for reminding us all that in a world that rushes forward, it's very important to look back and appreciate our wonderful collective past.

Hon. Senators: Hear, hear!

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

DÉCLARATION de la sénatrice Linda Frum - L'honorable Serge Joyal, C.P., O.C.

L'honorable Linda Frum : Honorables sénateurs, j'interviens aujourd'hui pour dire à quel point il est important de chérir notre passé et pour rendre hommage à un sénateur qui joue un rôle de premier plan à cet égard sur la Colline du Parlement, soit notre honorable collègue, le sénateur Serge Joyal.

Comme nous sommes tous les deux membres du Comité consultatif du Sénat sur les arts, qui est présidé avec brio par la sénatrice Fortin- Duplessis, j'ai récemment été sensibilisée aux efforts exceptionnels et grandement méconnus du sénateur Joyal en vue de garder bien vivante notre histoire nationale.

La longue quête du sénateur Joyal, qui a duré deux décennies, a connu hier son dénouement lorsqu'on a accroché trois portraits de monarques, ce qui a permis de compléter la collection de portraits des neuf rois de France et des neuf rois et reines d'Angleterre qui ont régné sur le Canada.

Chers collègues, lorsque le sénateur Joyal a été nommé au Sénat en 1997, la collection parlementaire de portraits de monarques anglais n'était pas complète et elle ne comptait aucun portrait des rois de France. Le sénateur Joyal a alors décidé de corriger cette situation. Voici ce qu'il m'a dit : « Il est inadmissible de faire abstraction de notre histoire. Le passé explique qui nous sommes aujourd'hui. »

Le sénateur Joyal a fait don du portrait de George IV de sa collection personnelle et fait l'acquisition des portraits de William IV et de d'Édouard VIII, dont il a fait don à notre institution.

[Français]

Cependant, pour reprendre les paroles du sénateur Joyal, nous sommes la plus ancienne monarchie constitutionnelle des Amériques et nous devons présenter tous les souverains qui ont régné sur le Canada, depuis ses débuts, en remontant jusqu'à Jacques Cartier. Le sénateur Joyal a donc entrepris de compléter la série de portraits des rois de France en faisant don de trois œuvres de sa collection personnelle et, avec le temps, en achetant les six œuvres qui manquaient pour les offrir au Canada.

[Traduction]

Toutefois, la contribution du sénateur Joyal ne se limite pas au don de ces précieux tableaux.

[Français]

À l'arrivée du sénateur au Sénat, le Salon de la Francophonie était un ancien fumoir dont la porte était ornée d'une simple plaque. On doit au sénateur Joyal le réaménagement de la pièce, y compris le buste en bronze de Samuel de Champlain, fondateur de l'Acadie et de Québec.

[Traduction]

Qui plus est, conscient que le Canada existait avant l'arrivée des Européens, le sénateur Joyal a fait don d'œuvres d'art autochtones qui ornent la salle du Comité des affaires autochtones.

Honorables sénateurs, neuf rois de France ont régné sur le Canada, notamment François 1er, qui a chargé Jacques Cartier de prendre possession du Canada au nom de la France, et Louis XIV, le Roi-Soleil, qui a donné au Québec son Code civil.

Pure coïncidence, le Canada a également connu neuf monarques britanniques. Grâce au sénateur Joyal, les portraits de ces 18 souverains ornent maintenant les murs du Parlement.

Honorables sénateurs, je crois que notre assemblée et la population du Canada doivent au sénateur Serge Joyal des remerciements chaleureux et une profonde gratitude pour sa générosité exceptionnelle — et largement méconnue —, et parce qu'il nous rappelle à tous que, dans un monde résolument tourné vers l'avenir, il est essentiel de regarder en arrière et de prendre conscience de la grandeur de notre passé collectif.

Des voix : Bravo!