This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

C-45, Cannabis Bill - Bill to Amend—Third Reading—Debate Continued

On the Order:

Resuming debate on the motion of the Honourable Senator Dean, seconded by the Honourable Senator Dupuis, for the third reading of Bill C-45, An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other Acts, as amended.

Hon. Serge Joyal: Honourable senators, I want to bring to your attention the concerns that have been raised at the Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee regarding the issue that Senator Carignan mentioned in relation to the protection of the licit and legal cannabis market from organized crime. You will remember, of course, the two policy objectives of the government. One is to promote health among Canadians, especially youth, and the second is to exclude organized crime, which controls, according to the testimony we heard at the committee, more than 50 per cent of the cannabis market in Canada.

But what we have heard, which is of greater concern, is the fact that the medical or therapeutic cannabis market has already been invaded by organized crime. In other words, the cannabis you can buy in a store, which is essentially the available cannabis the doctor has prescribed — even that cannabis that you buy legally on the street — is infected by organized crime. It’s not me who states that; it’s the President of the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police, Mario Harel, who testified in front of our committee on March 29, 2018. I want to read to you what Chief Harel stated:

We also ask the Federal Government to enact strict security clearance requirements that would safeguard against criminal organizations becoming licensed growers as has been observed in the medical marijuana regime.

I repeat: “. . . becoming licensed growers as has been observed in the medical marijuana regime.”

The CACP remains concerned with the inclusion of organized criminals as licensed growers/distributors in the new cannabis regime since organized crime has infiltrated the medical marijuana industry. This is a major problem, in our view.

That’s what the President of the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police stated to us two months ago.

I also want to quote from Superintendent Yves Goupil from the RCMP. He is the Director of Federal Policing Criminal Operations. He stated:

. . . yes, there are organized crime groups that will certainly use tax havens or even so-called beneficial ownership, where they are hiding behind corporate secrecy to invest and get licences to produce cannabis.

In other words, the RCMP and the various police groups in Canada are aware that the legal market of therapeutic cannabis is already infected by organized crime, and there are serious grounds to be concerned that the new market that will be open for the general consumption of cannabis will also be infiltrated by organized crime.

In an article published in January, Le Journal de Montréal gave a list of 35 companies out of the 86 producers that have been authorized to produce cannabis. I have the list here, and I’m going to provide it to you so that you have an idea of how much money has been invested by those hidden funds in fiscal paradises in the various Canadian companies: AbCann Global, Cayman Islands, $12.4 million; Aurora Cannabis, Cayman Islands, $32.5 million; CannTrust Holdings, Bahamas, $549,000; Supreme Cannabis Corporation, $130,000, Bahamas. And there are five others invested also in those companies; I’m just naming the major ones. Cannabis Wheaton Income, Cayman Islands, $20.5 million; Hydropothecary — which was mentioned in the Senate yesterday — Cayman Islands, $15 million, and Bahamas, $751,500. DelShen Therapeutics, $3 million; Cronos Group, $225,000; Newstrike Resources, $70,000 from Singapore; Emblem Cannabis, $8.3 million, and more than seven fiscal paradises have invested in that company. Golden Leaf Holdings, Bahamas, $308,000, and $5.7 million from Cayman Islands; Invictus MD, Seychelles, $765,000; Maricann Group, $9.76 million; the Green Organic Dutchman, $100,000 from Barbados, $115,500 from Bermuda, $553,000 from Cayman Islands, and from the United Arab Emirates, Dominican Republic, Luxembourg, Switzerland, Aruba, Panama, Malta, Virgin Islands, Belize, Marshall Islands — if you want the amount of money listed with these names. Harvest One Cannabis, $600,000 from Luxembourg and four other fiscal paradises. WeedMD, Cayman Islands, $2 million; Delta 9 Biotech, $300,000 from Singapore — and so on, honourable senators.

From the Cayman Islands, more than $250 million has been invested in Canadian companies that have received a permit. This is not an imagined or fabricated story; those are the real figures.

So when I heard Chief Harel, on behalf of the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police, asking us what I quoted earlier —

We also ask the Federal Government to enact strict security clearance requirements that would safeguard against criminal organizations becoming licensed growers as has been observed in the medical marijuana regime.

— I really paid attention, because the facts aren’t quite clear. At least half of the companies that received a permit have received hundreds of millions of dollars of fiscal paradise investments from people whose identities we don’t know at all. No one knows their identities, unless we accept the amendments proposed by Senator Carignan that their identities will be made public. It will be for any Canadian to look into the registry and know the identity of who is selling the product, who is benefiting from its profits and who is reinvesting or sending the profits outside Canada and avoiding taxes.

(1440)

One of the key features of the regime that the government proposed is to make sure that the benefits are shared with the provinces at 75 per cent, with the Aboriginal people receiving part of it, so that everybody will be in a position to assume the additional social costs that the regime will, of course, trigger once it is implemented.

If we allow almost half of the companies that will get the permits to shift the benefits out of the country and pay minimal taxes of 1 or 2 per cent, it means that the overall aggregate of money available to share with the provinces will be diminished by as much.

It seems to me that there is an element of public good to have the capacity, as is proposed in the amendment of Senator Carignan, to know who those people are who benefit from the regime. There is nothing secret about this.

If we are to establish a regime that will fight organized crime to leave the market and promote legal cannabis, I think it should be legal from the top down, not only from the people who go to the store and buy and pay over the counter, but from all those who will shift the profit somewhere else.

It seems to me that we have to give a lot of credit and weight to the testimony we heard from the RCMP and the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police to know the identity. We were told that knowing the identity is the key factor in controlling the illicit production of cannabis.

So, honourable senators, I support —

The Hon. the Speaker: I’m sorry, senator, but your time has expired.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

C-45, Projet de loi sur le cannabis - Projet de loi modificatif—Troisième lecture—Suite du débat

L’ordre du jour appelle :

Reprise du débat sur la motion de l’honorable sénateur Dean, appuyée par l’honorable sénatrice Dupuis, tendant à la troisième lecture du projet de loi C-45, Loi concernant le cannabis et modifiant la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances, le Code criminel et d’autres lois, tel que modifié.

L’honorable Serge Joyal : Honorables sénateurs, j’attire votre attention sur les préoccupations que j’ai soulevées au Comité des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles relativement à la question mentionnée par le sénateur Carignan au sujet de la protection du marché licite et légal du cannabis contre le crime organisé. Vous vous rappelez évidemment les deux objectifs du gouvernement. L’un d’eux est de promouvoir la santé des Canadiens, surtout des jeunes, et le second est d’exclure les organisations criminelles, qui contrôlent, selon les témoignages entendus au comité, plus de 50 p. 100 du marché du cannabis au Canada.

Toutefois, ce que nous avons entendu et qui est très préoccupant, c’est que le marché du cannabis médical ou thérapeutique est déjà envahi par le crime organisé. En d’autres termes, le cannabis qu’on peut acheter dans un magasin, qui est essentiellement du cannabis offert pour remplir des ordonnances — et même le cannabis vendu légalement dans la rue — passent parfois par le crime organisé. Ce n’est pas moi qui le dis, mais le président de l’Association canadienne des chefs de police, Mario Harel, qui a témoigné devant notre comité le 29 mars 2018. Je vous lis ce que le chef de police Harel a dit :

Nous demandons également au gouvernement fédéral d’adopter des exigences rigoureuses et de solides mesures de réglementation en matière d’attestation de sécurité de sorte que les organisations criminelles ne soient pas en mesure d’obtenir des permis de production, tel que nous l’avons observé dans le secteur du cannabis thérapeutique.

Je répète : « […] en mesure d’obtenir des permis de production, tel que nous l’avons observé dans le secteur du cannabis thérapeutique. »

L’ACCP demeure préoccupée par l’inclusion des organisations criminelles à titre de producteurs ou de distributeurs licenciés dans le cadre du nouveau régime pour le cannabis, puisque ces groupes criminels sont déjà parvenus à s’infiltrer dans l’industrie du cannabis thérapeutique. Il s’agit d’un enjeu important pour nous.

Voilà ce que le président de l’Association canadienne des chefs de police a déclaré au comité il y a deux mois.

Je cite également les propos du surintendant Yves Goupil, de la GRC, qui est directeur des opérations criminelles de la police fédérale. Voici ce qu’il a déclaré :

[…] il y a des groupes du crime organisé qui vont certainement utiliser les paradis fiscaux ou même ce qu’on appelle le « beneficial ownership », où ils se cachent derrière le secret corporatif pour investir et aller chercher des licences afin de produire du cannabis.

Autrement dit, la GRC et les divers corps policiers du Canada savent que le marché légal du cannabis à des fins thérapeutiques est déjà infiltré par le crime organisé. Qui plus est, de sérieux motifs portent à croire que le nouveau marché qui verra le jour pour la consommation générale de cannabis sera également infiltré par le crime organisé.

Dans un article publié en janvier, Le Journal de Montréal présente une liste de 35 des 86 producteurs autorisés à produire du cannabis. J’ai la liste en main et je vais vous en fournir un exemplaire pour vous donner une idée de la quantité d’argent investi dans les diverses entreprises canadiennes par ces fonds cachés dans des paradis fiscaux : AbCann Global, aux îles Caïmans, 12,4 millions de dollars; Aurora Cannabis, aux îles Caïmans, 32,5 millions de dollars; CannTrust Holdings, aux Bahamas, 549 000 $; Supreme Cannabis Corporation, aux Bahamas, 130 000 $. Cinq autres fonds cachés ont investi dans ces compagnies; je ne nomme que les principaux. Je continue : Cannabis Wheaton Income, aux îles Caïmans, 20,5 millions de dollars; Hydropothecary — mentionnée au Sénat hier — aux îles Caïmans, 15 millions de dollars, et aux Bahamas, 751 500 $; DelShen Therapeutics, 3 millions de dollars; Cronos Group, 225 000 $; Newstrike Resources, 70 000 $, Singapour; Emblem Cannabis, 8,3 millions de dollars ? je précise que sept autres fonds provenant de paradis fiscaux ont investi dans cette compagnie; Golden Leaf Holdings, 308 000 $ des Bahamas et 5,7 millions de dollars des îles Caïmans; Invictus MD, aux Seychelles, 765 000 $; Maricann Group, 9,76 millions de dollars; The Green Organic Dutchman, 100 000 $ de la Barbade, 115 500 $ des Bermudes et 553 000 $ des îles Caïmans. D’autres investissements proviennent des Émirats arabes unis, de la République dominicaine, du Luxembourg, de la Suisse, d’Aruba, du Panama, de Malte, des îles Vierges, du Belize, des îles Marshall, au cas où vous souhaiteriez connaître le montant d’argent versé dans chaque cas. Harvest One Cannabis, 600 000 $ du Luxembourg et de quatre autres paradis fiscaux. WeedMD, aux îles Caïmans, 2 millions de dollars; Delta 9 Biotech, 300 000 $ de Singapour, et ainsi de suite, honorables sénateurs.

Plus de 250 millions de dollars provenant des îles Caïmans ont été investis dans des compagnies canadiennes qui ont obtenu un permis. Ce n’est pas une histoire imaginée ou inventée; il s’agit de chiffres véritables.

Ainsi, quand j’ai entendu le chef Harel, au nom de l’Association canadienne des chefs de police, nous demander ce que j’ai cité plus tôt, c’est-à-dire ce qui suit :

Nous demandons également au gouvernement fédéral d’adopter des exigences rigoureuses et de solides mesures de réglementation en matière d’attestation de sécurité de sorte que les organisations criminelles ne soient pas en mesure d’obtenir des permis de production, tel que nous l’avons observé dans le secteur du cannabis thérapeutique.

— j’ai bien porté attention, car les faits ne sont pas tout à fait clairs. Au moins la moitié des entreprises qui ont obtenu un permis ont reçu des investissements de centaines de millions de dollars provenant de paradis fiscaux et de personnes dont l’identité nous est complètement inconnue. Personne ne connaîtra leur identité à moins que nous n’adoptions les amendements proposés par le sénateur Carignan afin que leur identité soit rendue publique. Ainsi, tous les Canadiens pourront consulter le registre et savoir qui vend le produit, qui reçoit les bénéfices, et qui réinvestit ou transfère ces bénéfices à l’extérieur du Canada afin d’éviter le fisc.

(1440)

L’un des principaux éléments du régime proposé par le gouvernement, c’est qu’on verra à ce que les provinces reçoivent 75 p. 100 des bénéfices et que les peuples autochtones en reçoivent une partie, afin que tout le monde soit en mesure d’assumer les coûts sociaux supplémentaires qui découleront, évidemment, de la mise en œuvre du régime.

Si nous permettons à près de la moitié des entreprises dotées d’un permis d’envoyer leurs bénéfices à l’extérieur du pays et de ne payer qu’un impôt minimal de 1 ou 2 p. 100, la somme totale qu’il sera possible de partager avec les provinces diminuera d’autant.

Je crois qu’il est dans l’intérêt public d’avoir la possibilité de savoir à qui profite le régime, comme le propose l’amendement du sénateur Carignan. Il n’y a rien de secret là-dedans.

Pour que le nouveau régime soit à même de promouvoir le cannabis légal et de pousser le crime organisé à délaisser le marché illégal du cannabis, il doit être légal à tous les niveaux. Cette exigence ne touche pas seulement les gens qui se rendront dans les boutiques et feront des achats au comptoir, mais aussi ceux qui transféreront les bénéfices ailleurs.

Selon moi, il faut accorder beaucoup de poids aux témoignages de la GRC et de l’Association canadienne des chefs de police, qui prônent l’identification de tous ceux qui investissent dans une licence. On nous a dit qu’il s’agit d’un facteur déterminant pour le contrôle de la production illicite de cannabis.

Par conséquent, honorables sénateurs, j’appuie…

Son Honneur le Président : Je suis désolé, sénateur, mais votre temps de parole est écoulé.