This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Tributes - The Honourable Claudette Tardif

Hon. Serge Joyal: Honourable senators, I have two specific reasons for feeling such sadness on the occasion of Senator Claudette Tardif’s departure.

The first is that she has earned our unconditional admiration for the authenticity and tenacity of her determination to put her heart and soul into perpetually defending the rights of Alberta’s francophone community and linguistic minorities across the country. Her determination, her commitment and her passion for maintaining the visibility of measures that must constantly be supported to ensure their existence and their future serve as a lesson for us all.

Many of us come to this chamber with a particular cause in mind, either because it was rooted in a previous profession or function, or because it relates to a deeply personal conviction. We might choose to champion women in the prison system, for example, or victims of crime, indigenous people who are trying to assert their dignity and rediscover their identity, people who are struggling with literacy issues, people who are poor or homeless, people with disabilities, or victims of racial discrimination and exclusion.

Many of us use the platform that we are given as senators to promote the values of equality and dignity that make Canadian society a model of civilisation. This is a credit to the Senate of Canada.

Throughout her years in this chamber, Senator Tardif showed us that every day is an opportunity to do something, to say something, to exemplify this commitment to humanity, to tolerance, for that is what really makes a difference. It is also what makes us proud to be Canadian. Her profound commitment is outdone only by her tremendous charm, to say nothing of her kindness, her gentleness and her irresistible smile.

The second reason is that, yes, there is joy in fighting for one’s ideals. I have witnessed this, having had the privilege to share this desk — this Siamese desk, I should say — with her. Sitting shoulder to shoulder with her, I had daily opportunities to share her cause, to admire her unceasingly and to remind her that there are still many senators in this House who, like Jean-Robert Gauthier, Gerald Comeau, Maria Chaput, and Senators Maltais, McIntyre, Jaffer, Mockler, Cormier, Gagné, and Poirier, will continue to speak loudly on behalf of minority communities, communities that can always count on our fellowship and the pride of our enthusiastic convictions.

To my dear colleague and friend, I say thank you for all you have done to keep the flame alive. Your example will ensure that it passes on to future generations.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Hommages - L’honorable Claudette Tardif

L’honorable Serge Joyal : Honorables sénateurs, c’est avec beaucoup de regret que je vois partir la sénatrice Claudette Tardif, et ce, pour deux raisons bien précises.

La première est qu’elle force notre admiration inconditionnelle pour l’authenticité et la générosité de ses convictions à s’investir corps et âme dans la défense, sans faille, des droits de la communauté francophone de l’Alberta et des minorités partout au pays. Sa détermination, son engagement, sa passion en vue de maintenir haut et fort la visibilité des mesures qui doivent être constamment soutenues pour assurer leur existence et leur avenir sont une leçon pour nous tous.

Plusieurs d’entre nous viennent au Sénat avec une cause particulière, soit enracinée dans l’exercice d’une profession ou d’une responsabilité antérieure, soit par conviction personnelle intime. Ce peut être, par exemple, la voix des femmes aux prises avec le système pénitentiaire, celle des victimes de crimes, la voix des peuples autochtones engagés dans le redressement de leur dignité et de leur identité, la voix de ceux qui sont aux prises avec l’analphabétisme, ou celle des plus pauvres, des sans-abri ou encore des handicapés, des victimes de l’intolérance raciale et de l’exclusion.

Plusieurs d’entre nous mettent à profit la plateforme qu’offre le Sénat pour promouvoir ces valeurs d’égalité et de dignité qui font de la société canadienne un idéal de civilisation. La réputation du Sénat ne s’en trouve que mieux servie.

La sénatrice Tardif nous a bien démontré, tout au long de ces années passées dans cette Chambre, qu’il n’y a pas une journée où nous ne pouvons poser un geste, prendre la parole et incarner cet engagement d’humanité et de tolérance qui fait la différence et la fierté de ce que nous sommes comme Canadiens ou Canadiennes. Cet engagement profond s’est toujours maintenu enveloppé dans le charme fou de sa personnalité, tout en gentillesse, en douceur, accompagnée d’un sourire irrésistible.

La deuxième raison est que, oui, il y a du bonheur dans la lutte pour les idéaux que l’on se donne. J’ai pu en être témoin car j'ai eu le privilège de partager le pupitre jumelé — je dirai siamois — qui a été nôtre. Notre coude-à-coude m’a fourni l’occasion quotidienne de partager sa cause, de l’admirer sans relâche et de lui rappeler qu’il y a encore plusieurs sénateurs en cette Chambre qui, comme les Jean-Robert Gauthier, Gerald Comeau, Maria Chaput, et les Maltais, McIntyre, Jaffer, Mockler, Cormier, Gagné et Poirier, maintiendront haut et fort les voix de toutes ces communautés minoritaires qui retentissent toujours fortement en ces murs, minorités qui peuvent constamment compter sur notre fraternité et sur la fierté de nos convictions enthousiastes.

Chère collègue, chère amie, merci d’avoir tenu le flambeau, haut et fort! Votre exemple assurera la relève.