This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Tributes - The Honourable Joan Fraser

Hon. Serge Joyal: Honourable senators, if I had my wish, Senator Fraser would serve out her term and continue to sit until the October 2019 election. She has always carried out her duties faithfully and shown herself to be scrupulously professional and unfailingly approachable. I should add that she has always been very independent-minded in fulfilling her duties.

[English]

She is her own master, and when she reaches a conclusion, it is always after thorough analysis and review of every argument, as she had always done as an editor of the Montreal Gazette.

After 19 years of dedicated service in this chamber, she leaves with a stellar example of institutional integrity as her legacy. Never having been a member of a provincial or federal party before being recommended to the Senate in 1998, she then became a member of the Liberal group and joined the Liberal Party of Canada. However, she never let partisan interests take over the wider service of the public good.

She is a living example that one can be a member of a political group without being intellectually dominated by it. In fact, she is of the opinion that political parties are essentially institutions for the mediation of persons of different backgrounds, experiences and individual thoughts to converge and to achieve consensus on a certain set of initiatives responding to specific objectives or problems in society.

[Translation]

In Senator Fraser’s opinion, a political caucus in the Senate is not an organization designed to flatten out contrasting visions and take away their originality by assimilating them into the group. Rather, she sees caucuses as structures that enable individuals with distinct experiences and personalities to establish common goals and propose compromises for ultimately achieving practical results while remaining free to vote as they see fit.

Senator Fraser never lost her critical skills, her independence, or her unique perspective on Quebec and Canada just because she was a member of the Liberal caucus. Her take on the status and unique position of the English-speaking community in Quebec is clear, and she expressed it every chance she got. I think this is the greatest contribution she made in all her years in the Senate: cultivating independent thinking while taking part in this process of mediation to foster debate and reflection in order to come up with specific responses to specific problems.

Senator Fraser always respected differences of opinion and was generous with her time and herself. She would not leave the Senate until the sitting was over, and she was always prepared to take on ungrudgingly the work of this chamber. She truly epitomized the requirements associated with the duty and responsibility of the royal commission under which each of us was called to serve and was sworn in.

[English]

Senator Fraser, you have contributed to establishing ethical standards that have helped the Senate to improve its work while fully respecting the different viewpoints that enrich the intellectual capacity of this chamber.

We will remain deeply thankful for that legacy.

Hon. Senators: Hear, hear!

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Hommages - L’honorable Joan Fraser

L’honorable Serge Joyal : Honorables sénateurs, j’aurais beaucoup aimé que la sénatrice Fraser termine son mandat, ce qui l’aurait amenée à siéger jusqu’à l’élection d’octobre 2019, d’autant que, dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, elle a toujours démontré une fidélité, une rigueur professionnelle ainsi qu’une disponibilité sans faille. Il faut aussi reconnaître que, dans l’exercice de son mandat, elle a toujours fait preuve d’une grande indépendance d’esprit.

[Traduction]

Femme à l’esprit indépendant, elle n’arrive à une conclusion qu’après avoir examiné et analysé soigneusement chaque argument, comme elle le faisait toujours lorsqu’elle était rédactrice en chef du quotidien Montreal Gazette.

Après 19 ans de dévouement au Sénat, elle nous laisse en héritage un superbe exemple d’intégrité institutionnelle. Alors qu’elle n’avait jamais été membre d’un parti provincial ou fédéral avant d’être pressentie pour devenir sénatrice en 1998, elle est ensuite devenue membre du groupe libéral au Sénat et du Parti libéral du Canada. Malgré cette affiliation, elle ne laisse jamais des intérêts partisans l’emporter sur l’intérêt public.

Elle montre, par son exemple, qu’on peut très bien faire partie d’un groupe politique tout en conservant sa liberté intellectuelle. En fait, elle voit les partis politiques essentiellement comme des institutions qui permettent à des personnes au parcours, aux idées et aux expériences différentes de se regrouper et d’en arriver à un consensus à propos d’une série d’initiatives inspirées par des objectifs ou des problèmes de société précis.

[Français]

Selon la sénatrice Fraser, un caucus politique au Sénat n’est pas un regroupement destiné à niveler des visions distinctes qui perdraient leur originalité en se fondant dans le groupe. Les caucus sont plutôt des structures qui amènent des personnes ayant des expériences et des personnalités propres à définir des objectifs communs et à proposer des compromis afin d’en arriver, à la fin, à des résultats pratiques tout en demeurant libres de leur vote.

La sénatrice Fraser n’a jamais perdu son sens critique, son indépendance ou sa perception particulière du Québec et du Canada parce qu’elle était membre du caucus libéral. Sa conception du statut et de la place unique qu’occupe la communauté anglophone au Québec est claire, et elle a su l’exprimer chaque fois qu’elle en a eu l’occasion. Voici, je crois, ce qui a été sa plus grande contribution au cours de ses années de service au Sénat : cultiver une grande indépendance d’esprit tout en participant à cet exercice de médiation pour soutenir des débats et des réflexions qui visent à apporter des réponses précises à des problèmes particuliers.

Toujours respectueuse des divergences d’opinions et généreuse de son temps et de sa personne, la sénatrice Fraser ne quittait le Sénat qu’à la fin des séances et n’écourtait jamais sa disponibilité dans le cadre des travaux de la Chambre. Elle a incarné au mieux les exigences rattachées au devoir et à la responsabilité de la commission royale en vertu de laquelle chacun d’entre nous a été appelé à servir et a été assermenté.

[Traduction]

Madame la sénatrice Fraser, vous avez participé à l’établissement de normes éthiques qui ont permis au Sénat d’améliorer son travail tout en respectant pleinement la diversité des points de vue qui font sa richesse intellectuelle.

Nous vous serons toujours reconnaissants de cet héritage.

Des voix : Bravo!