This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

QUESTION - Quebec—Bill 62 - Honourable Jody Wilson-Raybould, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada

Hon. Serge Joyal: Welcome, minister. Last week on October 18, the National Assembly in Quebec adopted Bill 62: An Act to foster adherence to State religious neutrality and, in particular, to provide a framework for requests for accommodations on religious grounds in certain bodies. This is the title of the act.

The next day, the Prime Minister stated that the federal government will take its responsibility will take its responsibility and defend the rights of Canadians wherever they are.

My question is twofold. Has the Prime Minister asked you to study the bill to conclude how that bill is in breach of the Charter? Second, are you ready to recommend to the Prime Minister that the executive council refers the constitutionality of Bill 62 to the Supreme Court for adjudication, avoiding placing the burden on a targeted Canadian to fight his or her way through the court for many years with a cost that will be astronomical?

Hon. Jody Wilson-Raybould, P.C., M.P., Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada: Thank you to the honourable senator. With respect to Bill 62, that was recently passed in the National Assembly in Quebec. I have had the opportunity to speak with many members. I have had the opportunity to speak with the Prime Minister. I will at this time echo the Prime Minister’s comments with respect to Bill 62 in that it is not for any government to say what an individual man or woman should wear and that we, as a government, under the leadership of the Prime Minister, will ensure that the Charter of Rights and Freedoms and our Constitution are upheld in all matters. The diversity that exists in Canada is our greatest strength.

Through conversations with members and certainly through conversations with the Prime Minister and in his words, we will continue to monitor the law in Quebec, its application and potential realities as it proceeds through the process, through the development of guidelines, through the development of regulations. But the Government of Canada will always defend an individual’s rights, as articulated in the Charter of Rights and Freedoms

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

QUESTION - Le Québec—La Loi 62 - L’honorable Jody Wilson-Raybould, ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada

L’honorable Serge Joyal : Soyez la bienvenue, madame la ministre. La semaine dernière, le 18 octobre pour être plus précis, l’Assemblée nationale du Québec a adopté le projet de loi no 62, Loi favorisant le respect de la neutralité religieuse de l’État et visant notamment à encadrer les demandes d’accommodements pour un motif religieux dans certains organismes. C'est le titre du projet de loi.

Le lendemain, le premier ministre Trudeau déclarait que le gouvernement entend prendre ses responsabilités et qu’il a la responsabilité de s’assurer que les droits de tous les Canadiens sont respectés.

J’ai deux questions pour vous. En premier lieu, le premier ministre vous a-t-il demandé de vérifier dans quelle mesure ce projet de loi contrevient à la Charte? Deuxièmement, seriez-vous disposée à recommander au premier ministre que le conseil exécutif demande à la Cour suprême d’évaluer la constitutionnalité du projet de loi no 62 au lieu d’attendre qu’un Canadien qui en subirait les effets doive se battre devant les tribunaux pendant des années, avec les coûts astronomiques que cela suppose?

L’honorable Jody Wilson-Raybould, C.P., députée, ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada : Je remercie l’honorable sénateur. J’ai eu l’occasion de discuter avec de nombreux députés du projet de loi no 62 qui a été adopté il y a peu par l’Assemblée nationale du Québec. J’en ai aussi discuté avec le premier ministre. Pour le moment, je reprendrai ses propos à mon compte et dirai moi aussi, d’une part, que ce n’est pas au gouvernement, quel qu’il soit, de dicter aux hommes et aux femmes du pays ce qu’ils peuvent porter ou pas et, d’autre part, que le gouvernement, sous la direction du premier ministre, fera le nécessaire pour que la Charte des droits et libertés et la Constitution soient appliquées intégralement. La diversité qui caractérise le Canada est notre plus grande force.

Grâce à des conversations avec les députés et certainement avec le premier ministre, nous continuerons, comme il le dit, de surveiller la loi au Québec, ainsi que son application et ses effets possibles, tandis que la province complète le processus, élabore les lignes directrices et rédige les règlements. Cela dit, le gouvernement du Canada défendra toujours les droits des personnes tels qu’énoncés dans la Charte des droits et libertés.