This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

S-236, Recognition of Charlottetown as the Birthplace of Confederation Bill - Third Reading

On the Order:

Resuming debate on the motion of the Honourable Senator Griffin, seconded by the Honourable Senator Dean, for the third reading of Bill S-236, An Act to recognize Charlottetown as the birthplace of Confederation, as amended.

Senator Joyal: I will be brief, honourable senators, because I want to put on the record a certain number of facts that I think are important to understand the substance of this bill.

First of all, I want to mention — and I think that Senator McIntyre can confirm this — that Charlottetown was chosen as the place of meeting of the three Maritime provinces on the initiative of the Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick because the Lieutenant-Governor of Prince Edward Island would not have participated in the meeting had it not taken place in Charlottetown.

Unless Senator McIntyre, from New Brunswick, wants to contradict this point or this historical information, that's what the historians have informed us about the selection of Charlottetown as the meeting place of the three Maritime provinces to unite under the initiative or push by the Colonial Office in London. In those years, you will remember that there was the Civil War in the United States, a war that left more than 800,000 dead on the battlefield, and it was a push among the northern army. Once they had finished with the south, they would move across the border and would try for the third time to make Canada part of the United States.

So there was pressure from London on the Maritime provinces to try to unite and form a government. In fact, Nova Scotia participated in the conference because they had as an objective to make Halifax the capital of the three united Maritime provinces. In other words, each of them had a specific agenda in meeting in Charlottetown, but they thought that they would invite, as observers, the representative of the United Province of Canada — Ontario and Quebec, reunited, as you know, since 1840, in the United Province of Canada.

The delegates from the United Province, George Brown and John A. Macdonald, were invited as observers. They were not to take part in the negotiations, because the very objective of the meeting was to unite the three provinces, not to unite the three provinces with the United Province of Canada.

In the course of the discussion and the schmoozing that takes place in any kind of political gathering that, finally, Brown and Macdonald proposed that the union be enlarged, that it could include the United Province of Canada, as well as the need to go to a second conference in Quebec some months later to continue the discussion.

That is an important element to understand the process. When we read a bill and say, "Charlottetown is the birthplace of Confederation," we are tempted to conclude that it happened with inspiration from somebody above, whereby all those people met and saw the light that Canada would be a big country.

The Charlottetown meeting was essentially a process that finally was resolved three years later, but the strange thing is that three years later, Prince Edward Island was not of the founding provinces of Canada. The four provinces that were at the origin of Canada were Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Ontario and Quebec. Prince Edward Island was not part of Canada. Prince Edward Island became part of Canada only in 1875, after Manitoba — I am looking at Senator Plett — was created as a province in 1870 and after British Columbia joined the federation in 1871. That opened the opportunity or prospect that Canada would extend from coast to coast, from the Atlantic to the Pacific. Then, in 1875, because Prince Edward Island's financial situation was in dire condition, the Government of Canada offered to buy out the debt of Prince Edward Island. Prince Edward Island was solicited by American delegates to try to join Canada. In other words, more or less, Canada bought out Prince Edward Island to join Canada. It was only in 1875 that finally Prince Edward Island became the seventh province of Canada.

One has to take that into account when we say that Charlottetown is the birthplace or the cradle of Confederation. It's a mono-parental cradle, because there is somebody missing in the birthplace, which is one of the parents of Confederation.

When we look into this bill and try to understand how Canada was built, it was not built at the beginning in a grand design; it was built, first and foremost, to try to alleviate the financial and economic conditions, to address the problems of the threat that the United States represented to the individual British colonies, and to try to build on the best of the railroad linking all of those provinces together so there would be a permanent link of communication.

I want to put that on the record, honourable senators, in following up from Senator McIntyre, because it is important to understand that what happened in Charlottetown is a process. The process was initiated, but it was definitely not the final process, because as you all know, the first proposal was a legislative union, not a division of power between the provinces and the central or national government. It was supposed to be only one legislative union.

It's only in Quebec, when George-Étienne Cartier looked into what would happen, that francophones would be drawn into a large number of English-speaking citizens, that they sought to say, "Let's divide the power so that there will be a better balance and protection of regional identities for the Maritime provinces, and of cultural and religious identity for French Canadians," as they were called in those days.

In other words, it is very important to understand the dynamics that took place. Otherwise, we create the false impression that it is an easy initiative, and it all happened because we saw the light in Charlottetown and everybody was happy.

As a matter of fact, one year after Confederation, Nova Scotia sought to leave Confederation. There was an election, and the result was 38-36, a majority to leave Confederation a year after. That didn't happen because everybody was happy. July 1, 1867, a year later, there was an initiate to try to part from Confederation. Joseph Howe, who was at the head of the separation movement, was finally included in the discussions with the federal government. He joined the government and was appointed a minister. Finally, his position melted down.

Again, as I have illustrated, among the four founding provinces, one wanted to leave the year after, and one of the provinces that did attend in Charlottetown didn't join the federation until seven years later.

One has to understand those details to see how far we've come since 1864, when the first meeting took place.

I say that to Senator Griffin, because I'm sure that doesn't reduce in any way the symbolism of this bill. It is important to understand how all those things happened to better realize that Canada is not a country that has been built easily.

Canada doesn't maintain its unity easily, either. I don't need to tell you how many referendums we had to maintain the unity of this country in 1897. The only province that joined the federation through the will of its population directly is Newfoundland and Labrador. It was called Newfoundland in those days, as Your Honour will know. It was only 1949. And Nunavut became a territory only in 1999.

Canada is a work-in-progress. Our unity has to be strengthened. We have to be mindful and understand very well the difficulties and challenges we face as a nation to make sure that we remain together and maintain that level of freedom, prosperity and pride in who we are and how we have achieved this great country.

It is those reflections that I wanted to share, especially with the sponsor of the bill, Senator Griffin, and I espouse to you, honourable senators.

Challenges lie ahead for our country. When I look at Senator Brazeau, we still know that our unity is not complete as long as we will not have recognized properly the contribution of Aboriginal peoples to who we are and how the challenges we have ahead have to be met with all the obligations and responsibility that objective entails.

Thank you, honourable senators.

Hon. Carolyn Stewart Olsen: Would Senator Joyal take a question, please?

Senator Joyal: Yes.

Senator Stewart Olsen: Thank you for the history lesson. It's a little different lesson than the history I learned. Being from the Maritimes, I did not hear that Sir John A. and cohort were invited, but that rather they crashed the meeting.

The total history of the wonderfulness was not really supported in real life. In New Brunswick, there came a time when they realized they had been scuppered by the upper Canadians, and that they stood to lose a great deal.

So I think that has to be factored in. I get the nuance that you provided there, but I think we have to look at the real facts. Buying out your debt and infiltrating with your politics in the provinces was a really — they were brilliant politicians but it began the considerable downfall of the rest of Atlantic Canada. So I just want to put that on there because it was not all roses.

Senator Joyal: Very quickly, Mr. Speaker, thank you. I think you know there are people who crash parties without bringing booze with them. I will call him John A. MacDonald with all the respect I owe to the first Prime Minister of Canada, but I think in relation to that, at that time, John A. Macdonald and George Brown, as you know, heard that there was a meeting taking place, or that was to take place, in Charlottetown, and in order to schmooze and better create the ambience of easiness with which champagne normally provides the mind, they came down with their load of support to make sure that they would be heard and that they would be seen as bringing something to the table. But if I may say so, they left the party with doggy bags because, in fact, when they went back to Quebec, they were able to convince the Maritime representative and delegates to continue the discussion on a wider basis.

As a matter of fact, I think what you say just confirms that it was a work-in-progress, or a dinner in progress, as I should say.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

S-236, Projet de loi reconnaissant Charlottetown comme le berceau de la Confédération - Troisième lecture

 L'ordre du jour appelle :

Reprise du débat sur la motion de l'honorable sénatrice Griffin, appuyée par l'honorable sénateur Dean, tendant à la troisième lecture du projet de loi S-236, Loi visant à reconnaître Charlottetown comme le berceau de la Confédération, tel que modifié.

Le sénateur Joyal : Je serai bref, honorables sénateurs, parce que je tiens à consigner un certain nombre de faits qui, selon moi, sont importants pour bien comprendre l'essence de ce projet de loi.

Tout d'abord, je tiens à mentionner, et je crois que le sénateur McIntyre pourra le confirmer, que Charlottetown a été choisie comme lieu de réunion des trois provinces maritimes à l'initiative du lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick, parce que le lieutenant-gouverneur de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard n'aurait pas participé à la réunion si elle n'avait pas eu lieu à Charlottetown.

À moins que le sénateur McIntyre, du Nouveau-Brunswick, ne veuille contredire ce point ou ce fait historique, c'est ce que les historiens nous ont enseigné au sujet du choix de Charlottetown comme lieu de réunion des trois provinces maritimes invitées à s'unir à l'initiative ou sous l'impulsion du ministère des Colonies à Londres. Comme vous le savez, la guerre civile faisait rage aux États-Unis à cette époque, et plus de 800 000 soldats y ont trouvé la mort sur le champ de bataille. L'armée unioniste, une fois qu'elle en aurait fini avec les sudistes, prévoyait traverser la frontière afin d'essayer pour la troisième fois d'annexer le Canada aux États-Unis.

Des pressions ont été exercées en provenance de Londres pour forcer les provinces maritimes à essayer de s'unir et de former un gouvernement. En fait, la Nouvelle-Écosse a participé à la conférence parce qu'elle voulait faire d'Halifax la capitale des trois provinces maritimes unies. Autrement dit, les représentants de chaque province avaient des objectifs bien précis avant de se réunir à Charlottetown, mais ils ont pensé inviter, en qualité d'observateurs, les représentants de la Province unie du Canada, l'Ontario et le Québec, réunies depuis 1840, comme vous le savez, sous le vocable Province unie du Canada.

Les délégués de la Province unie, George Brown et John A. Macdonald, ont été invités en qualité d'observateurs. Ils ne devaient pas participer aux négociations, puisque l'objectif même de la réunion consistait à unir les trois provinces, et non à greffer les trois provinces à la Province unie du Canada.

Au milieu des échanges et du bavardage qui caractérisent les rassemblements politiques de toutes sortes, Brown et Macdonald ont proposé que l'union soit élargie, de manière à inclure la Province unie du Canada, et ils ont souligné du même souffle la nécessité de tenir une deuxième conférence à Québec quelques mois plus tard afin de poursuivre la discussion.

C'est là un élément important qui permet de comprendre le processus. Lorsque nous lisons un projet de loi où il est question de Charlottetown en tant que lieu d'origine de la Confédération, nous sommes portés à croire que l'idée est venue de l'inspiration soudaine de l'une des personnes mentionnées précédemment, qui aurait subitement réalisé en pleine réunion que le Canada serait désormais un grand pays.

La réunion de Charlottetown était essentiellement un processus qui s'est enfin conclu trois ans plus tard, mais il est étrange que, à ce moment-là, l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard n'ait pas fait partie des provinces fondatrices du Canada. Les quatre provinces à l'origine du Canada ont été la Nouvelle-Écosse, le Nouveau-Brunswick, l'Ontario et le Québec. L'Île-du-Prince-Édouard ne faisait alors pas partie du Canada. Elle n'y a adhéré qu'en 1875, après l'adhésion du Manitoba — et je vois ici le sénateur Plett — en 1870, et celle de la Colombie-Britannique en 1871. C'est ainsi qu'est née la possibilité ou la perspective que le Canada s'étende d'un océan à l'autre, de l'Atlantique au Pacifique. Puis, en 1875, au moment où la situation financière de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard était en piteux état, le gouvernement du Canada a offert à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard le remboursement de sa dette. L'Île-du-Prince-Édouard était alors sollicitée par des délégués américains, qui voulaient qu'elle adhère aux États-Unis. Autrement dit, le Canada a ni plus ni moins payé l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard pour qu'elle se joigne au Canada. C'est en 1875 seulement que l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard est enfin devenue la septième province du Canada.

Il faut en tenir compte quand nous disons que Charlottetown est le lieu de naissance ou le berceau de la Confédération. C'est un berceau monoparental, parce qu'il manque quelqu'un au lieu de naissance. Il manque un des parents de la Confédération.

Quand nous examinons ce projet de loi et que nous essayons de comprendre comment le Canada s'est construit, nous constatons qu'il ne s'est pas construit initialement avec un grand dessein. Il s'est construit, d'abord et avant tout, pour essayer de faire face aux conditions financières et économiques, pour régler les problèmes de la menace que les États-Unis représentaient pour les colonies britanniques individuelles et pour essayer de bâtir le meilleur des chemins de fer pour relier entre elles toutes ces provinces et pour qu'il y ait une liaison permanente de communication.

Je tiens à ce que cela soit clair, honorables sénateurs, en suivant l'intervention du sénateur McIntyre, parce qu'il faut comprendre que ce qui s'est passé à Charlottetown est un processus. Le processus a été lancé, mais ce n'était en aucun cas le processus final, parce que, comme vous le savez tous, la première proposition était une union législative, et non un partage des pouvoirs entre les provinces et le gouvernement central ou national. C'était censé n'être qu'une union législative.

C'est seulement à Québec, quand George-Étienne Cartier a considéré ce qui se passerait, soit que les francophones seraient au milieu d'un grand nombre de citoyens anglophones, qu'on a cherché à dire : « Répartissons les pouvoirs pour qu'il y ait un meilleur équilibre et une meilleure protection des identités régionales pour les provinces maritimes, et de l'identité culturelle et religieuse pour les Canadiens français », comme on disait à l'époque.

En d'autres termes, il est très important de comprendre la dynamique qui a prévalu. À défaut, nous donnons l'impression trompeuse que c'était une initiative facile et que cela s'est produit parce que nous avons eu une révélation à Charlottetown et que tout le monde était content.

En fait, un an après la Confédération, la Nouvelle-Écosse a essayé de quitter la Confédération. Il y a eu des élections et le résultat a été de 38 contre 36, avec une majorité favorable à une sortie de la Confédération un an plus tard.

Cela ne s'est pas produit parce que tout le monde était content. Le 1er juillet 1867, un an plus tard, il y a eu une tentative de quitter la Confédération. Joseph Howe, qui était à la tête du mouvement séparatiste, a finalement été associé aux discussions avec le gouvernement fédéral. Il s'est joint au gouvernement et a été nommé ministre. Finalement, sa position s'est assouplie.

Comme je l'ai montré, sur les quatre provinces fondatrices, une voulait quitter l'année suivante, et une autre, parmi les provinces qui étaient présentes à Charlottetown, ne s'est jointe à la fédération que sept ans plus tard.

Il faut comprendre ces détails pour voir le chemin parcouru depuis 1864, quand a eu lieu la première réunion.

Je le dis à la sénatrice Griffin, parce que je suis sûr que cela n'enlève rien au symbolisme de ce projet de loi. Il est important de comprendre comment les choses se sont déroulées pour se rendre compte que le Canada n'est pas un pays qui s'est construit aisément.

Le Canada ne maintient pas non plus aisément son unité. Je n'ai pas besoin de vous dire combien de référendums nous avons eus pour maintenir l'unité de ce pays en 1897. La seule province à s'être jointe à la fédération directement par la volonté de sa population est Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Elle s'appelait Terre-Neuve à l'époque, comme Son Honneur le sait. Il a fallu attendre 1949. Le Nunavut, lui, n'est devenu un territoire qu'en 1999.

Le Canada est un chantier. Notre unité doit être renforcée. Nous devons être attentifs et bien comprendre les difficultés et les défis auxquels nous sommes confrontés en tant que nation afin de rester ensemble et de conserver le même degré de liberté et de prospérité, ainsi que la même fierté à l'égard de notre identité et des moyens par lesquels nous avons bâti ce pays formidable.

Ce sont ces réflexions dont je voulais faire part en particulier à la marraine du projet de loi, la sénatrice Griffin, et que je vous soumets, honorables sénateurs.

Des défis attendent notre pays. En regardant le sénateur Brazeau, nous savons que l'unité du pays ne sera pas achevée tant que nous n'aurons pas reconnu comme il convient la contribution des peuples autochtones à notre identité et admis que les défis qui nous attendent doivent être relevés en nous acquittant de toutes les obligations et de toutes les responsabilités que cet objectif suppose.

Je vous remercie, honorables sénateurs.

L'honorable Carolyn Stewart Olsen : Le sénateur Joyal accepterait-il de répondre à une question?

Le sénateur Joyal : Oui.

La sénatrice Stewart Olsen : Je vous remercie pour cette leçon d'histoire. Elle diffère un peu de celle que j'ai apprise. Comme je viens des Maritimes, je n'ai pas appris que sir John A. et ses compagnons avaient été invités, mais qu'ils s'étaient invités à la rencontre.

Tout ce qu'il y a de merveilleux dans l'histoire n'est pas vraiment étayé dans la vraie vie. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, il y a eu un moment où on s'est rendu compte qu'on s'était fait avoir par les Haut- Canadiens et qu'on avait beaucoup à perdre.

Je pense qu'il faut en tenir compte. Je comprends la nuance que vous avez apportée, mais je pense que nous devons examiner les faits. Racheter sa dette et s'infiltrer dans les provinces avec sa politique était... C'étaient des politiciens brillants, mais cela a marqué le début de l'effondrement du reste du Canada atlantique. Je tiens à le dire parce que tout n'était pas rose.

Le sénateur Joyal : Très rapidement, monsieur le Président. Je vous remercie. Je pense que vous savez qu'il y a des gens qui s'invitent aux fêtes sans apporter d'alcool. Je l'appellerai John A. MacDonald, avec tout le respect que je dois au premier premier ministre du Canada, mais je pense à ce propos que, à l'époque, John A. Macdonald et George Brown, comme vous le savez, ont entendu qu'une rencontre se tenait, ou allait se tenir, à Charlottetown et, pour discuter et mieux créer l'ambiance de facilité que le champagne donne normalement à l'esprit, ils sont venus avec tout leur soutien pour qu'on les entende et qu'on considère qu'ils apportaient quelque chose. Cependant, si je peux me permettre, ils sont revenus en rapportant des restes après la fête parce que, de retour à Québec, ils ont pu convaincre le représentant et les délégués des Maritimes de poursuivre la discussion sur une base plus large.

En fait, je pense que ce que vous venez de dire confirme qu'il s'agissait d'une tâche en cours, ou d'un dîner en cours, devrais-je dire.