This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

C-337, Judicial Accountability through Sexual Assault Law Training Bill — Second Reading

 

On the Order:

Resuming debate on the motion of the Honourable Senator Andreychuk, seconded by the Honourable Senator Seidman, for the second reading of Bill C-337, An Act to amend the Judges Act and the Criminal Code (sexual assault).

Hon. Serge Joyal: Honourable senators, I committed last Thursday to take part in this debate today. I'm pleased to be in a position to do that tonight.

I would also like to mention that I had an opportunity earlier today to speak to the sponsor of the bill in the other place, the Honourable Rona Ambrose, and I have absolutely no doubt about the objectives that Ms. Ambrose is pursuing in relation to the bill. I would also like to commend Senator Andreychuk for the way she presented the bill, because I think she outlined the objective of the bill very well.

I have, however, a certain number of preoccupations I want to share with you tonight in relation to this bill. This bill received close attention from the Canadian Judicial Council of Canada, the Canadian Bar and the Barreau du Québec. Those briefs tabled in the other place, on April 19 and 20, raised important questions, and I want to offer my thinking in relation to those three briefs.

The bill has two objectives. The first objective, as is stated in the summary of the bill, is to make sure that each candidate in appointment to a judicial position in the federal government, under federal government jurisdiction:

. . . have completed comprehensive education in respect of matters related to sexual assault . . .

That's the first objective, to compel comprehensive education in matters of sexual assault.

The second objective of the bill is to make sure that the Canadian Judicial Council reports on continuing education seminars to the Minister of Justice, who will table the report to Parliament.

In relation to the first objective of the bill, to ensure that there is comprehensive education, I had a number of reflections. The first one is that any candidate who is a lawyer who has been practising law for 10 years, or has been a member of the bar for 10 years, will be compelled, before being considered for an appointment, to have attended a seminar that is spelled out in clause 3 of the bill, a seminar that will be conducted to the satisfaction of the commissioner of the Judges Act.

Who is the commissioner? It is provided for in section 74 of the Judges Act. The commissioner essentially has the status of a deputy head of a department who is responsible for the administration of Part 1 of the bill and the administrative arrangements provided in the act and also by law within the responsibility of the proper functioning of the judicial system in Canada.

What we are doing, essentially, is investing a civil servant with the responsibility to ensure that those seminars are conducted specifically the way they are provided for in clause 3 of the bill, and also to make sure that only those candidates who have attended those seminars and have completed them to the satisfaction of the commissioner will be considered as an admissible candidate.

I was reflecting on that because according to the provincial law that rules the professional order, normally the training information of lawyers is provided under provincial jurisdiction. I read the responsibility of the order of the law du profession du Quebec, because I've checked, and here it is the responsibility of law du profession. To make sure that they —

[Translation]

—that they can control the competence and integrity of their members. That way, before admitting a candidate as a practising professional or issuing a licence, the order ensures that the candidate has the requisite training and skills.

The inspection committee primarily verifies the quality of the professional services. It can also recommend that the order's board of directors require a member to first attend a seminar, second, take professional development courses, and finally, have the member's right to practise limited or suspended.

[English]

It is clear, according to me, that to compel any lawyer to do a seminar to the satisfaction of a federal commissioner is an intrusion into provincial responsibility in relation to the professional order, because all those candidates are not only candidates for a Superior Court position or an appointment that will deal with sexual assault but with any cases that pertain to a Federal Court judge, an appellate Federal Court judge, a member of the Admiralty Court, the Tax Court and a Superior Court, and because of his or her professional training in the matter, for instance, of labour law or commercial law or civil law, will never hear a case related to sexual assault.

In other words, it is a pervasive obligation that will be monitored and determined by a federal civil servant. In relation to this, honourable senators, I think the bill in that way, in my opinion, is an intrusion into the responsibility of the province to rule the profession of lawyer. I don't question the intent of the bill. I subscribe totally to the general objective of the bill, which is to make sure that judges who hear sexual assault cases get the proper training, as the bill says, in the social context and in all that relates to:

. . . sexual assault law that . . . includes instruction in evidentiary prohibitions, principles of consent and the conduct of sexual assault proceedings, as well as education regarding myths and stereotypes associated with sexual assault complainants.

That's my first preoccupation in relation to clause 3 of the bill.

I have a second group of preoccupations in relation to clause 3 of the bill that pertains to once a judge has been appointed, he or she will be compelled to attend a seminar in relation to the matter of sexual assault, and that that seminar will have to be provided in consultation with sexual assault survivors, as well as with groups and organizations that support them.

The problem I have is with section 11(d) of the Charter. Section 11(d) of the Charter provides the following:

Any person charged with an offence has the right . . . to be presumed innocent until proven guilty according to law in a fair and public hearing by an independent and impartial tribunal . . .

So the question is: What is an independent and impartial tribunal? The Canadian courts, especially the Supreme Court of Canada, have had an opportunity in the last 30 years to delve into section 11(d) to determine what we understand in the Canadian law about impartiality and independence. In three cases, especially, in the Valente case in 1985, in the Beauregard case in 1986 and in a more recent case, the reference in relation to remuneration of judges that was introduced by Prince Edward Island in 1997.

In those three cases, the Supreme Court has had an opportunity to establish how much the independence principle of the judiciary is fundamental to the Canadian structural order. In fact, there are three powers in our system of government. There is the judicial system, or governance; there is the executive, that is, the government; and the legislative. Each one is balanced in a way that the judicial system has to remain totally independent from the executive and from the legislative power. The courts have been very clear on that. They have repeatedly, through those three cases, mentioned that not only does the independence have to be respected, but it has to appear independent.

So not only does the law have to provide for independence, as section 99 of the Constitution states, which provides for security of tenure, and section 100, for financial autonomy of the justices, but the overall system has to ensure that judges are immune from legislative pressure, from the pressure of the parties to the litigation, and more from the pressure of the public.

What the impact of the bill will realize, in my opinion, is the fact that you will have those statistics about judges who have attended seminars and judges who will have heard sexual assault cases. People will put the two together and use that as pressure on the judicial system to provide for a different way of approaching sexual assault cases.

Judges have to be impartial. It is an essential element of section 11(d) of the Charter, as I mentioned, that the hearing has to be by an independent and impartial tribunal. What is an independent and impartial tribunal? An impartial tribunal, to quote Justice Le Dain in the first case I mentioned, the Valente case of 1988, means an "objective state of mind, which is fostered by reliance on law to resolve disputes."

In other words, the justice has to be in a state of mind that puts him totally in an objective position to hear the parties that are in front of him: the victim and the accused. Not more the victim and less the accused. Our system of criminal law is based on the assumption of the presumption of innocence, and the Crown has to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the accused person, of course, benefits from that presumption.

As Professor Greene has written in an article that I referred to you, which is The Doctrine of Judicial Independence Developed by the Supreme Court of Canada, Professor Greene from York University, at page 191, writes the following:

It is central to the adjudicative process that judges decide disputes, as much as possible, without any preconceived notions of favouritism or animosity toward any of the litigants, that is with impartiality. One method of promoting impartiality is to attempt to ensure that the judge is free from outside interference by the litigants or other interested parties, interference which is intended to bias the judge.

The way I read the bill — and that's my humble submission to you — the bill, of course, puts the essential emphasis on, "sexual assault survivors, as well as with groups and organizations that support them."

In other words, there's only one part of the trial that has to be the focus of the attention, which is the sexual assault survivors and the group and organizations that support them. So it's quite clear that we are here outside the boundaries of a victim and an accused. We are in the context of the social networks that exist in our society to promote, to improve the conditions of sexual assault victims. If we are to do that, it has to be in a balanced way, otherwise, there will be the perception that when the judge is on the bench, he or she has to put the weight of his attention to the victim at the expense of the overall impartial objective hearing. That's the perception that's created by the bill. I don't mean it will happen, but the perception is that when you read the bill, this is the intent of the bill.

So as much as I support the training of justices in —

May I have five more minutes?

The Hon. the Speaker: Five more minutes, colleagues?

Hon. Senators: Agreed.

Senator Joyal: As much as I support the training of justices or judges who will hear sexual assault cases, I think that to put that in legislation is a precedent that compels me with sober second thought. If we do that for the sexual assault victim, why don't we do it for the Aboriginal people? The Aboriginal people are in a dire situation in relation to justice. I read Recommendations 27 and 28 of our colleague Senator Sinclair in relation to Aboriginal people in the justice system.

The Truth and Reconciliation report states:

27. We call upon the Federation of Law Societies of Canada to ensure that lawyers receive appropriate cultural competency training, which includes the history and legacy of residential schools, the United Nations Declaration on Rights of Indigenous Peoples, Treaties and Aboriginal rights, Indigenous law, and Aboriginal-Crown relations. This will require skills-based training in intercultural competency, conflict resolution, human rights, and anti-racism.

Then paragraph 28:

We Call upon law schools in Canada to require all law students to take a course in Aboriginal people and the law, . . . This will require skills-based training in intercultural competency, conflict resolution, human rights, and anti-racism

In other words, I think our colleague Senator Sinclair has put it properly: It's for the Federation of Law Societies and the law schools to train the lawyers. Once those lawyers have been appointed judges or act in cases in relation to Aboriginal peoples as much as with sexual assault cases, they will have the proper training. But if we amend the Judges Act to do this, my contention to you is that we should do it for the Aboriginal people because we know that 23 per cent of prisoners in Canada are Aboriginal people. In the province of our esteemed colleague Senator Andreychuk, Saskatchewan, 48 per cent of inmates are Aboriginal people. We can conclude that there are systemic problems with the Aboriginal people in the justice system, as much as there might be systemic problems with sexual assault victims. My humble conclusion in relation to those is that if we do that in the same way that the bill proposes, we should do it or we should be called to it for another group of peoples who bear the weight of the justice system in a systemic, discriminatory way.

Before we accept the principles that are put forward Bill C-337, I humbly submit to you, honourable senators, that we need to bring sober second thought to that bill — not because I'm opposed to it. With regard to its objective, I subscribe to it 100 per cent. The government in the other place introduced Bill C-51 last week, which reviewed the level of proof and the protection of the victim in relation to the Criminal Code. I read the bill. At first sight, I think it's totally constitutional. However, this bill raises constitutional issues that have been well identified by the Canadian Judicial Council.

Who is the Canadian Judicial Council, honourable senators? It's found at section 59 of the Judges Act. The Canadian Judicial Council consists — listen to this — of the Chief Justice of Canada, who will be the chair, and:

b) the chief justice and any senior associate chief justice and associate chief justice of each superior court or branch or division thereof;

(c) the senior judges . . . of the Supreme Court of Yukon, the Supreme Court of the Northwest Territories and the Nunavut Court of Justice; and

(d) the Chief Justice of the Court Martial Appeal Court of Canada.

Thirty-nine of the highest judges in Canada came forward with a brief in the other place, two months ago, with this conclusion at paragraph 28:

. . . We are of the view that such a requirement would infringe on the judiciary's independence to maintain control over judicial education and judicial discipline matters.

The Canadian Bar Association, as I mentioned, came with a similar brief which stated:

While we appreciate that the Bill is not intended to challenge the judiciary in this manner, any such effect may be found constitutionally unacceptable.

The Quebec bar came to a similar conclusion.

The Hon. the Speaker: I am sorry to interrupt, but I must advise that the honourable senator's time has expired.

Senator Joyal: Honourable senators, I am finished.

I suggest, honourable senators, that we think seriously about the constitutional impact of this bill and I thank you for your hearing in relation to that.

(On motion of Senator Fraser, debate adjourned.).

[Translation]

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

C-337, Projet de loi sur la responsabilité judiciaire par la formation en matière de droit relatif aux agressions sexuelles—Deuxième lecture

 

L'ordre du jour appelle :

Reprise du débat sur la motion de l'honorable sénatrice Andreychuk, appuyée par l'honorable sénatrice Seidman, tendant à la deuxième lecture du projet de loi C-337, Loi modifiant la Loi sur les juges et le Code criminel (agression sexuelle).

L'honorable Serge Joyal : Honorables sénateurs, je m'étais engagé jeudi dernier à prendre part au débat. Je suis heureux de pouvoir le faire ce soir.

J'aimerais aussi vous dire que j'ai eu l'occasion de m'entretenir aujourd'hui avec l'honorable Rona Ambrose, qui parraine le projet de loi à l'autre endroit. Je n'ai absolument aucun doute sur les objectifs que vise Mme Ambrose avec ce projet de loi. Je tiens en outre à féliciter la sénatrice Andreychuk pour la façon dont elle a présenté le projet de loi, en résumant parfaitement bien son objectif.

J'aimerais toutefois vous faire part de certaines inquiétudes que j'ai par rapport au projet de loi, auquel ont d'ailleurs accordé énormément d'attention le Conseil canadien de la magistrature, le Barreau canadien et le Barreau du Québec. Les trois mémoires déposés le 19 et le 20 avril à l'autre endroit ont suscité d'importantes questions. J'aimerais donc vous faire part de ce que je pense de ces mémoires.

Le projet de loi vise deux objectifs. Comme on l'indique dans le sommaire du projet de loi, le premier vise à garantir que tous les candidats à la magistrature dans les postes qui relèvent des compétences du gouvernement fédéral aient :

[...] suivi un cours de perfectionnement complet [sur les] agressions sexuelles.

Le premier objectif consiste donc à obliger les candidats à suivre un cours de perfectionnement complet sur les agressions sexuelles.

Le deuxième objectif du projet de loi consiste à exiger du Conseil canadien de la magistrature qu'il produise un rapport sur les colloques de perfectionnement juridique à l'intention du ministre de la Justice, qui présentera le rapport au Parlement.

J'ai quelques observationsà faire au sujet du premier objectif du projet de loi, qui vise à rendre obligatoires les cours de perfectionnement complets. D'abord, avant que sa candidature soit prise en considération aux fins de nomination, tout avocat qui pratique le droit ou est un membre du Barreau depuis 10 ans sera tenu d'assister au colloque énoncé dans l'article 3 du projet de loi. Il s'agit d'un colloque qui sera mené à la satisfaction du commissaire désigné dans la Loi sur les juges.

Qui est ce commissaire? Il s'agit de celui qui est prévu à l'article 74 de la Loi sur les juges. En gros, le commissaire a le statut d'administrateur général de ministère et il est responsable de l'application de la partie 1 du projet de loi et des mesures d'ordre administratif prévues par la loi ainsi que, dans le cadre de sa compétence, de la bonne administration de la justice au Canada.

Essentiellement, nous investissons un fonctionnaire de la responsabilité de s'assurer que les colloques sont menés exactement de la façon prévue dans l'article 3 du projet de loi et que seuls les candidats qui ont suivi ces colloques à la satisfaction du commissaire soient jugés admissibles.

Je réfléchissais à cela, car, selon les lois provinciales régissant l'ordre professionnel, la prestation de la formation des avocats est habituellement de compétence provinciale. J'ai lu les responsabilités des ordres professionnels des juristes, selon la loi du Québec, que voici. Les ordres doivent s'assurer :

[Français]

[…] qu'ils peuvent contrôler la compétence et l'intégrité de leurs membres. Ainsi, avant d'admettre un candidat à l'exercice de la profession ou de délivrer un permis d'exercice, l'ordre s'assure que ce dernier possède la formation et les compétences requises.

En outre, le comité d'inspection procède principalement à la vérification de la qualité des services du professionnel. Il peut aussi recommander au conseil d'administration l'ordre d'imposer à un membre, premièrement, un stage; deuxièmement, un cours de perfectionnement; troisièmement, la limitation et la suspension de son droit d'exercice.

[Traduction]

Il est clair, d'après moi, que le fait de forcer un avocat à suivre un séminaire à la satisfaction d'un commissaire fédéral constitue une intrusion dans une compétence provinciale relative à l'ordre professionnel, car tous les candidats ne sont pas forcément candidats à un poste à la Cour supérieure ou à une nomination où ils se pencheront sur des affaires d'agressions sexuelles. Ils peuvent aussi être nommés à la Cour fédérale, à la Cour d'appel fédérale, à la Cour d'amirauté, à la Cour de l'impôt. Il se peut aussi qu'ils accèdent à la Cour supérieure mais que, en raison de leur formation dans le domaine, par exemple, du droit du travail, du droit commercial ou du droit civil, ils n'entendent jamais d'affaires d'agression sexuelle.

Autrement dit, c'est un fonctionnaire fédéral qui surveillera cette obligation généralisée et sera appelé à trancher. Selon moi, honorables sénateurs, c'est aux provinces d'encadrer le travail des avocats, et le projet de loi empiète sur cette compétence. Je ne remets pas en cause l'objectif qu'on cherche ici à atteindre. J'y souscris au contraire, puisqu'on veut que les juges qui instruisent les causes d'agression sexuelle aient suivi un cours de perfectionnement sur, comme le dit le texte, le contexte social des agressions sexuelles et tout ce qui a trait au :

[...] droit relatif aux agressions sexuelles, cours [...] où sont abordés notamment les interdits concernant la preuve, les principes sous-tendant le consentement, la procédure à suivre lors des procès pour agression sexuelle, de même que [les] mythes et les stéréotypes associés aux plaignants dans les affaires d'agression sexuelle.

C'est ce qui résume la première réserve que suscite chez moi l'article 3 du projet de loi.

Le deuxième groupe de réserves a trait au fait que les juges qui sont déjà nommés seront tenus d'assister à un colloque sur les questions liées aux agressions sexuelles, lequel devra être offert en consultation avec des survivants d'agression sexuelle ainsi que des groupes et des organismes qui les aident.

Le problème que j'ai concerne l'alinéa 11d) de la Charte. Voici ce que dit l'alinéa 11d) :

Tout inculpé a le droit : [...] d'être présumé innocent tant qu'il n'est pas déclaré coupable, conformément à la loi, par un tribunal indépendant et impartial à l'issue d'un procès public et équitable [...]

Alors, qu'est-ce qui définit un tribunal indépendant et impartial? Depuis 30 ans, les tribunaux canadiens, et plus particulièrement la Cour suprême du Canada, ont souvent eu l'occasion d'interpréter l'alinéa 11d) de la Charte afin de déterminer ce que cette expression signifie en droit canadien. Il y a eu trois causes importantes à cet égard : l'affaire Valente, en 1985, l'affaire Beauregard, en 1986, et une autre affaire plus récente portant sur la rémunération des juges à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, en 1997.

Ces trois affaires ont donné à la Cour suprême l'occasion de faire valoir que le principe de l'indépendance des tribunaux est essentiel à la solidité structurelle du Canada. Rappelons que notre système de gouvernement est composé de trois pouvoirs : le pouvoir judiciaire, axé sur la gouvernance, le pouvoir exécutif, c'est-à-dire le gouvernement, et le pouvoir législatif. Pour maintenir l'équilibre nécessaire, le pouvoir judiciaire doit demeurer pleinement indépendant des pouvoirs exécutif et législatif. Les tribunaux l'ont souligné très clairement. Dans le contexte de ces trois causes, ils ont réitéré que non seulement l'indépendance réelle, mais aussi l'apparence d'indépendance du pouvoir judiciaire sont essentielles.

Par conséquent, en plus des dispositions législatives qui sous-tendent l'indépendance du pouvoir judiciaire — comme le font l'article 99 de la Constitution, qui porte sur la sécurité d'emploi des juges, et l'article 100, qui voit à leur autonomie financière —, l'ensemble du système doit faire en sorte que les juges soient à l'abri des pressions que pourraient exercer le pouvoir législatif, les parties d'une affaire ou la population.

Selon moi, le projet de loi aura la conséquence suivante. On aura des données sur les juges qui ont participé à des séminaires et sur ceux qui ont entendu des affaires d'agression sexuelle. Les gens utiliseront ces données pour pousser le système judiciaire à aborder les affaires d'agression sexuelle autrement.

Les juges doivent être impartiaux. Comme je l'ai mentionné, l'alinéa 11d) de la Charte indique qu'une personne doit pouvoir être entendue par un tribunal indépendant et impartial; c'est essentiel. Qu'est-ce qu'un tribunal indépendant et impartial? Dans la première affaire que j'ai mentionnée, l'affaire Valente de 1985, le juge Le Dain a indiqué que l'impartialité d'un tribunal fait référence à un état d'esprit objectif, entretenu par le fait de s'appuyer sur la loi pour résoudre les différends.

Autrement dit, le juge doit être dans un état d'esprit qui le place dans une position complètement objective devant les parties qui se présentent à lui : la victime et le prévenu. Il ne doit avoir de prédisposition favorable envers aucun des deux. Le droit pénal du Canada se fonde sur la présomption d'innocence. Le prévenu jouit de cette présomption, et la Couronne doit prouver hors de tout doute raisonnable qu'il est coupable.

M. Green, qui est professeur à l'Université York, a écrit un article, dont je vous ai parlé, sur la doctrine de l'indépendance judiciaire que la Cour suprême du Canada a élaborée. Il a écrit ce qui suit à la page 191 :

Il est essentiel que les juges tranchent autant que possible les différends sans préjugés favorables ou hostiles à l'égard de l'une ou l'autre des parties en cause, c'est-à-dire avec impartialité. L'une des façons de favoriser l'impartialité consiste à veiller à ce que le juge soit à l'abri de toute ingérence extérieure des parties en cause ou des autres parties intéressées qui pourrait l'influencer.

Le projet de loi — à mon humble avis — insiste davantage sur les « survivants d'agression sexuelle ainsi que [sur les] groupes et [les] organismes qui les aident ».

Bref, on attire l'attention sur une seule partie du procès, c'est-à-dire les survivants d'agression sexuelle ainsi que les groupes et les organismes qui les aident. Il est donc évident qu'on se situe à l'extérieur du cadre de la victime et du prévenu. En fait, on se situe plutôt dans le cadre des réseaux sociaux qui défendent les droits des victimes d'agression sexuelle et qui cherchent à aider celles-ci. Il faut qu'il y ait équilibre, sans quoi on aura l'impression que le juge cherche davantage à défendre les intérêts de la victime au détriment de l'impartialité générale du procès. C'est l'impression que donne le projet de loi. Je ne dis pas que c'est ce qui produira, mais quand on lit le projet de loi, on a l'impression que c'est le but visé.

Ainsi, même si je suis favorable à l'idée que l'on forme les juges...

Puis-je avoir cinq minutes de plus?

Son Honneur le Président : Accordez-vous cinq minutes de plus, honorables collègues?

Des voix : D'accord.

Le sénateur Joyal : Même si je suis favorable à ce qu'on forme les juges chargés des affaires d'agression sexuelles, la proposition d'inscrire une telle formation dans la loi me pousse à exercer un second examen objectif. Si on fait cela pour les victimes d'agression sexuelle, pourquoi ne pas le faire également pour les Autochtones? Leur relation avec le système de justice est désastreuse. En ce qui concerne la relation des Autochtones avec le système de justice, j'aimerais citer les recommandations 27 et 28 du rapport de la commission, à laquelle le sénateur Sinclair a participé.

Le rapport de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation dit ceci :

27. Nous demandons aux écoles de droit du Canada d'exiger que tous leurs étudiants suivent un cours sur les peuples autochtones et le droit, y compris en ce qui a trait à l'histoire et aux séquelles des pensionnats, à la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones, aux traités et aux droits des Autochtones, au droit autochtone de même qu'aux relations entre l'État et les Autochtones. À cet égard, il faudra, plus particulièrement, offrir une formation axée sur les compétences pour ce qui est de l'aptitude interculturelle, du règlement de différends, des droits de la personne et de la lutte contre le racisme.

On peut lire ce qui suit au paragraphe 28 :

Nous demandons aux écoles de droit du Canada d'exiger que tous leurs étudiants suivent un cours sur les peuples autochtones et le droit [...] À cet égard, il faudra, plus particulièrement, offrir une formation axée sur les compétences pour ce qui est de l'aptitude interculturelle, du règlement de différends, des droits de la personne et de la lutte contre le racisme.

Je crois que notre collègue, le sénateur Sinclair, l'a bien dit. C'est à la Fédération des ordres professionnels de juristes du Canada et aux écoles de droit qu'il incombe de former les avocats. Une fois que ces avocats seront nommés juges ou qu'ils interviendront dans des affaires liées à des Autochtones, notamment dans des affaires d'agression sexuelle, ils auront déjà suivi la formation voulue. Toutefois, si nous modifions la Loi sur les juges pour y arriver, nous devons le faire pour les peuples autochtones, parce que nous savons que 23 p. 100 des prisonniers au Canada sont d'origine autochtone. En Saskatchewan, la province de notre estimée collègue, la sénatrice Andreychuk, 48 p. 100 des prisonniers sont des Autochtones. On peut en conclure que le système de justice comporte des lacunes en ce qui concerne les Autochtones, tout comme il comporte des lacunes en ce qui concerne les victimes d'agression sexuelle. Mon humble conclusion, c'est que, si nous procédons de la façon prévue dans le projet de loi, nous devons le faire pour les deux groupes de personnes qui font l'objet de discrimination dans le cadre de notre système de justice.

Honorables sénateurs, je fais humblement valoir que, avant d'accepter les principes énoncés dans le projet de loi C-337, nous devons soumettre le projet de loi à un second examen objectif — pas parce que je m'y oppose. Je souscris complètement à l'objectif du projet de loi. Le gouvernement à l'autre endroit a présenté le projet de loi C-51 la semaine dernière, qui porte sur le niveau de preuve requis au titre du Code criminel et les mesures prévues dans le Code criminel pour la protection des victimes. J'ai lu le projet de loi. À première vue, j'ai l'impression que le projet de loi est entièrement conforme à la Constitution. Cependant, il soulève quelques questions sur le plan constitutionnel qui ont été très bien définies par le Conseil canadien de la magistrature.

Qui forme le Conseil canadien de la magistrature, honorables sénateurs? La réponse se trouve à l'article 59 de la Loi sur les juges. Le Conseil canadien de la magistrature est composé — écoutez bien ceci — du juge en chef du Canada, qui en est le président, et :

b) des juges en chef, juges en chef associés et juges en chef adjoints des juridictions supérieures ou de leurs sections ou Chambres;

c) des juges principaux [...] des cours suprêmes du Yukon et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et de la Cour de justice du Nunavut;

d) du juge en chef de la Cour d'appel de la cour martiale du Canada.

Il y a deux mois, 39 des plus haut, juges du Canada ont présenté un mémoire à l'autre endroit. On peut y lire ce qui suit en conclusion, au paragraphe 28 :

[...] Nous sommes d'avis qu'une telle obligation porterait atteinte à l'indépendance de la magistrature et au maintien du contrôle qu'elle exerce sur les questions de formation et de discipline des juges.

L'Association du Barreau canadien, comme je l'ai dit, a présenté un mémoire semblable qui indiquait ceci :

Bien que nous reconnaissions que [...] le dessein [du projet de loi n'est pas de miner l'indépendance ou l'intégrité des juges], un tel effet pourrait s'avérer inacceptable sur le plan constitutionnel.

Le Barreau du Québec en est venu à une conclusion semblable.

Son Honneur le Président : Je suis désolé de vous interrompre, mais votre temps de parole est écoulé.

Le sénateur Joyal : Honorables sénateurs, j'ai terminé.

Je suggère, honorables sénateurs, que nous réfléchissions sérieusement aux répercussions constitutionnelles du projet de loi et je vous remercie de m'avoir écouté à ce sujet.