This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Charter35: Senators share stories on contributing to Canada’s Constitution. Senator Serge Joyal: 35 years later, a new country

 

https://sencanada.ca/en/sencaplus/opinion/charter35

 

The Charter of Rights and Freedoms was a foundational moment for Canada in the 20th century. It redefined the basis of Canadian society, affirming that human rights and freedoms are at the core of what it means to be Canadian.

In 1982, Canada ushered in a new era. From that point on, laws adopted by Parliament and the provincial legislatures would be assessed based on whether human rights and freedoms were respected. It was no longer enough for laws to be adopted by a parliamentary majority—to be legal, they would also have to respect individual rights and freedoms.

The courts were given the responsibility of ruling on alleged violations of rights and freedoms. Canadians have taken the protections granted under the Charter very seriously.

Between 1984—the first year in which the courts made a decision on Charter rights—and 2017, Canadian courts at all levels have made 22,203 decisions that are in some way related to the provisions of the Charter.

In addition, a financial support program for legal challenges was established in 1984, which gave citizens whose rights were affected by a decision the financial support they needed to champion their rights before the court and obtain a remedial order.

Indigenous peoples, people with disabilities, women, visible minorities, sexual minorities and language minority groups have greatly benefited from this support. Several hundred cases have been funded and have led to the rule of law being re-established, reaffirming that each person, no matter what their identity, deserves to be respected and recognized as such.

Citizens themselves drive this ongoing evolution. This innovative approach, the only one of its kind in the world, helps give Canadian citizenship a unique quality: social integration happens fluidly, and Canada can easily adapt to new circumstances in a world that is constantly evolving.

The Charter has truly helped shape a new country where equal rights and the guarantee of freedoms for each person enhances our sense of identity as Canadians.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

35e anniversaire de la Charte : les sénateurs racontent leurs contributions à la Constitution du Canada.Sénateur Serge Joyal : Les 35 ans de la charte, un nouveau pays

 

https://sencanada.ca/fr/sencaplus/opinion/charte35/

 

La Charte des droits et libertés est un moment fondateur du Canada au XXe siècle. Elle a redéfini la base de la société canadienne en plaçant les droits et libertés de la personne au centre de la définition de ce que signifie être canadien.

En 1982, le Canada entrait dans une nouvelle ère. Les lois qui seraient dorénavant adoptées par le Parlement et les législatures des provinces seraient évaluées à l’aune du respect des droits et libertés de chacun des citoyens. Il ne suffisait plus que les lois soient adoptées par des majorités parlementaires pour être valides ; il faudrait aussi qu’elles respectent les droits et libertés de chacun.

Les tribunaux étaient alors investis de la responsabilité de juger des violations présumées des droits et libertés. Les Canadiens ont vraiment pris au sérieux cette protection que la Charte leur accordait.

Depuis 1984, année de la première décision des cours pour faire respecter la Charte, jusqu’en 2017, les tribunaux canadiens, tous niveaux confondus, ont rendu 22 203 décisions où les droits de la Charte étaient en cause sous un angle ou sous l’autre.

De plus, un programme de soutien financier aux contestations judiciaires a été établi dès 1984, qui permettait à un citoyen dont les droits étaient affectés par une décision d’obtenir un soutien financier pour aller devant les tribunaux réclamer ses droits et obtenir une ordonnance corrective.

Les autochtones, les handicapés, les femmes, les minorités visibles, les minorités sexuelles, les minorités linguistiques ont largement bénéficié de ce soutien. Plusieurs centaines de causes ont pu aboutir et ainsi rétablir la règle de droit et redonner confiance que chacun, quel que soit son identité ou sa qualité, pouvait être respecté et reconnu comme tel.

Le citoyen lui-même est le moteur de cette évolution permanente. Cette approche novatrice, unique au monde, a contribué à donner à la citoyenneté canadienne un contenu tout à fait particulier dans un contexte d’intégration sociale dynamique, capable d’adaptation aux conditions nouvelles d’un monde en perpétuelle évolution.

La charte a réellement contribué à façonner un nouveau pays où l’égalité des droits et la garantie de la liberté de chacun nous raffermissent dans notre attachement au Canada.