This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

News Release - Senators Urge Creation of National Portrait Gallery

April 11, 2017
Back to Blog

Ottawa, April 11, 2017 – Senators Doug Black, Patricia Bovey, Serge Joyal, and Paul McIntyre, endorsed by a strong majority across party lines of their Senate colleagues urge Prime Minister Justin Trudeau to establish a National Portrait Gallery at the Former U.S. Embassy at 100 Wellington.

In a letter sent to the Prime Minister, Senators highlight that many countries, including England, the United States and Australia have permanent National Portrait Galleries that are very popular with young people; with over 40% of attendees being under the age of 35 in London.

The Senators believe that Canada150 marks the perfect opportunity to create a National Portrait Gallery as a lasting legacy to Canadians.

Quotes

“We were very pleased to see overwhelming support for this initiative from our fellow Senators, artists and audiences. There is a strong desire to put our extensive collection of portraits along with work from contemporary artists on display for Canadians to appreciate and enjoy.” – Senator Doug Black

“A Portrait Gallery not only tells a story, but it helps us understand who we are.” – Senator Patricia Bovey

“We have a prime location situated directly in front of Parliament, where thousands upon thousands of people already visit every month. Visitors could simply cross Wellington Street to see the many faces of aboriginals and immigrants who built Canada. There is no better history than the people's history; a Portrait Gallery is a people’s institution”. – Senator Serge Joyal

“What better gift for Canada to give Canadians “from coast-to-coast-to-coast” than to establish a National Portrait Gallery in an historic building for all to see, on its 150th Birthday!” – Senator Paul McIntyre

-30-

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Communiqué - Des sénateurs appellent à la création d’un musée du portrait du Canada

11 avril 2017
Retour au blogue

Ottawa, le 11 avril 2017 – Les sénateurs Doug Black, Patricia Bovey, Serge Joyal et Paul McIntyre, de même qu’une forte majorité de leurs collègues sénateurs, exhortent le premier ministre Justin Trudeau à établir un musée du portrait du Canada dans l’édifice qui abritait auparavant l’ambassade des États-Unis au 100, rue Wellington.

Dans une lettre au premier ministre, les sénateurs soulignent que de nombreux pays, dont l’Angleterre, les États-Unis et l’Australie, ont des musées nationaux du portrait permanents qui sont très populaires auprès des jeunes, plus de 40 % des visiteurs étant âgés de moins de 35 ans à Londres.

Les sénateurs croient que le 150e anniversaire du Canada est l’occasion idéale d’instituer un musée du portrait du Canada en tant qu’héritage durable pour les Canadiens.

Citations

« Nous avons été très heureux de constater l’appui massif à l’égard de ce projet de la part de nos collègues sénateurs, des artistes et du public. Les gens souhaitent vivement exposer notre vaste collection de portraits ainsi que les œuvres d’artistes contemporains afin que les Canadiens puissent les admirer. » – Doug Black, sénateur

« Un musée du portrait ne raconte pas seulement une histoire; il nous aide à comprendre qui nous sommes. » – Patricia Bovey, sénatrice

« Nous disposons d'un excellent site en face du Parlement, institution visitée tous les mois par des milliers de personnes. Ces visiteurs n'auraient qu'à simplement traverser la rue Wellington pour découvrir les multiples visages des autochtones et des immigrants qui ont bâti notre pays. Il n'existe aucune meilleure histoire que celle de notre peuple; un musée du portrait est une institution destinée au peuple ». – Serge Joyal, sénateur

« Quel plus beau cadeau pour le Canada que d’offrir aux Canadiens, d’un bout à l’autre du pays, un Musée national du portrait dans un édifice historique ouvert à tous, pour célébrer son 150e anniversaire! » – Paul McIntyre, sénateur

 -30-