This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Bill C-6, An Act to amend the Citizenship Act and to make consequential amendments to another Act.(Motion in Amendment—Debate)

 

Citizenship Act

Bill to Amend—Third Reading—Motion in Amendment—Debate

On the Order:

Resuming debate on the motion of the Honourable Senator Omidvar, seconded by the Honourable Senator Gagné, for the third reading of Bill C-6, An Act to amend the Citizenship Act and to make consequential amendments to another Act.

Hon. Serge Joyal: Honourable senators, I don't want to nitpick this afternoon. I often address you in English, but I want to tell you that I also read the French version of bills.

I would like to draw the attention of the sponsor of the amendment, Senator McCoy, to the French version. At page 4 of the Order Paper, under paragraph 4, 5.1 in the French version:

[Translation]

In the French version it says:

(5.1) L'avis visé au paragraphe (3) ou la décision visée au paragraphe (5) est signifié à personne.

[English]

It means in French that notice is given to no one. That's what it means, because the article "la" is not there.

You are the author of the amendments, so if you want to seek concurrence to add the article "la" before the word "personne" in French, that would make the meaning equal to the other one. I will leave it there before I make my general comments.

(...)

The Hon. the Speaker: On debate, Senator Joyal.

Senator Joyal: This is the last suggestion regarding corrections. I thank honourable senators for their concurrence in that.

I will be brief this afternoon, but I want to draw the attention of honourable senators in relation to this amendment proposed by Senator McCoy that the revocation of citizenship is a very serious decision.

In fact, if you read the Charter of Rights and Freedoms, there are two sections in the Charter that recognize rights only to citizens. Generally, the rights are to a person, but there are two kinds of rights in the Charter that are recognized only for citizens. If you lose your legal condition of citizen, you cannot claim those rights. That's my first point, and I'm going to recite to you which of those two rights are very well stated in the Charter.

The second one is that section 24 of the Charter has a very specific clause that imposes upon us the requirement to manage a remedial legal system for anybody who feels that his or her rights are aggrieved or removed. That is section 24. Let me read section 24(1) of the Charter:

Anyone whose rights or freedoms, as guaranteed by this Charter, have been infringed or denied may apply to a court of competent jurisdiction to obtain such remedy as the court considers appropriate and just in the circumstances.

So any of those rights in the Charter are subject to enforcement in court if anyone feels aggrieved.

I come back to my first proposal to you, which is: Which of the rights do we enjoy specifically because we are Canadian citizens, in our condition as citizens? Section 3 states:

"Democratic rights of citizens"

Every citizen of Canada —

And I insist not every person of Canada —

Every citizen of Canada has the right to vote in an election of members of the House of Commons or of a legislative assembly and to be qualified for membership therein.

The Supreme Court has interpreted that right very widely. It is the right to run in an election. It is the right to a certain division of ridings in Canada, as you know. It is the principle of effective representation. The Supreme Court has drawn a lot of conclusions in relation to that right: the right to vote with all the ensuing privileges that are entitlements of the right to vote.

Another group of rights that are reserved only to the citizens, and those are, in a way, more telling for an individual person, if I can use that tautology:

Section 6 is entitled "Mobility of citizens." I read:

(1) Every citizen of Canada has the right to enter, remain in and leave Canada.

(2) Every citizen of Canada and every person who has the status of a permanent resident of Canada has the right

(a) to move to and take up residence in any province; and

(b) to pursue the gaining of a livelihood in any province.

As you will understand, honourable senators, when we remove the condition of citizenship from a person, from a citizen, we cannot, at the same time, deny them the right to go to court. That's section 24. If we were to curtail freedom of expression in Canada, under section 2(a) of the Charter, that person could go to the courts and challenge such a piece of legislation.

We had a debate in this chamber around this a while ago. It is the same for the protection of a person who has the title of citizen. If there is a decision to remove citizenship, that person, according to the Charter, has the right to go to court because it is a very serious right. You are removing the democratic rights and the mobility rights of a person when you remove the citizenship.

I have always been supportive of initiatives that aim to re-establish some kind of process. Senator Martin is right; there are not thousands and thousands of cases of revocation of citizenship. We are not in the refugees domain of activities here. You're totally right; a person who claims that his or her right has been revoked or will be terminated certainly has the right to be heard in court in an efficient and reasonable time period. You are totally right. That is what the Supreme Court confirmed last summer, as you know, in relation to in how many months you can expect a decision in a provincial court — 18 months — and 30 months in a superior court. The reasonable delay is an important point, and you have raised it, in my opinion, with a lot of justification.

However, we are not facing the refugee problem here that we know the refugee boards have to address. The revocation of citizenship happens. There are a couple of hundred cases, but it is not the flood of issues. I think you are totally right in relation to that.

I am very strongly supportive of those amendments because they re-establish enforceability of rights contained in the Charter. That doesn't mean that the person has to appeal to the Federal Court. The government could think of a system of appeal that would be fair. That is essentially what we aim for here. It could be the Federal Court, a superior court, an administrative court, but at least there will be a review process to make sure that the decision has been fairly taken and that the person has had an opportunity to state his or her case. That's what we call due process; a fair hearing.

I strongly support this amendment because, especially in this chamber— I am looking at Senator Bellemare — we question how we want to make sure that each bill is in sync with the Charter. I think this bill needed to be in sync with the Charter, and I am happy that the initiative was taken at the committee to highlight that point and that today we will be able, I hope, to vote on those amendments that, in my opinion, will bring the legislation into conformity with the rights of Canadians.

Hon. Daniel Lang: Will the honourable senator take a question?

Senator Joyal: With pleasure, Senator Lang.

Senator Lang: I don't think anybody argues with the premise that due process should be in place for any Canadian or permanent resident who has, perhaps, put themselves into this situation and that an appeal procedure would perhaps meet some of the areas of concern that have been expressed.

I guess the question that I have, in view of your comments at the outset, is: You referred to the Constitution and the rights of every Canadian and the right for an appeal. What I'm going to ask you is this: If we go with an appeal procedure, does that not still leave the right for an individual to appeal that decision of the review process? If it's put in place and they do not agree with the decision that's taken, do they still have the right, then, to go to the Federal Court for another appeal?

The question that I have is — and you have said this yourself in reference to Senator Martin — the question of those who play and game the system. They know that, if they appeal and they appeal and they appeal, they can spend the next 10 years here because of the backlog in the court, the problems that they have for the purposes of utilizing, going through the system.

I just read about a situation where Minister Goodale is being told by the court that he has to make a decision with respect to individuals who, for one reason or another, have had to appeal to him for the right to stay in this country in view of activities that they have been involved in. But those individuals have been appealing for 15 years.

If, like any other Canadian, you have the right to go to court if you feel, as a citizen, that your rights have been intruded upon, why don't we just leave it the way it is because that right is already there?

Senator Joyal: I think the honourable senator has raised a question that can be addressed in various ways.

First, the government, the Minister of Justice or the Minister of Immigration, in the process of appeal that can be put into place, could determine the length and the period of time for which you have to signify your intention to appeal to limit the extension to which a person would want to avail himself or herself of that right. Then, as I mentioned, there could be a way to establish an administrative tribunal and determine the reasons for appeal. You can specifically determine the reasons why the appeal could be allowed. Canadian courts have already —

I would need to have five more minutes.

The Hon. the Speaker: Is leave granted, honourable senators?

Hon. Senators: Agreed.

Senator Joyal: You could determine a certain route, in other words, or a basis of appeal that could also be vindicated by the court because there are examples in our administrative tribunal whereby the review is limited to a certain number of checks within the system. In other words, it's not arguing the case again from one level to the other.

In the case of the revocation of citizenship, there are possibilities to put together a system of appeal that would meet the test of fair hearing in the administrative context that would give the person who feels aggrieved the capacity to appeal from the decision.

However, there is something outrageous about the fact that the person is not heard, sends his or her argument in writing only and receives an answer, as Senator McCoy has said, with a number. When you read that you have the impression of being in a Soviet-era administration. The person has the right to be heard and the person has the right to argue. It's not the same to argue in writing as arguing in person with fair assistance or with no assistance a case in which you feel personally very much involved.

There is certainly a way to establish a more efficient system that will take into account the need to have reasonableness in terms of delay, and at the same time the maintenance of the right of the person to have his or her case heard by a Court of Justice, be it an administrative tribunal or the Federal Court.

Senator Lang: Your Honour, I would like to follow up because one of my questions wasn't asked.

At the end of this appeal procedure, and if he or she does not agree with the tribunal decision that has been set down, he or she does, then, have the right to appeal to the court again for the purpose of a hearing of his or her case under certain conditions; is that not correct?

Senator Joyal: Yes, senator, you are totally right. The superior court or the Federal Court has a general responsibility of review of due process. That's part of section 11 of the Charter. In other words, that has to be maintained at the same level as in any other case where the rights of a person are at stake. There has to be a capacity for the superior court or the Federal Court to review to make sure that due process has been observed in coming to terms with that request.

Senator Martin: I move the adjournment of the debate.

Some Hon. Senators: No.

The Hon. the Speaker: It was moved by the Honourable Senator Martin, seconded by the Honourable Senator Carignan, that further debate be adjourned until the next sitting of the Senate.

Is it your pleasure, honourable senators, to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Senators: Agreed.

Some Hon. Senators: No.

The Hon. the Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say "yea."

Some Hon. Senators: Yea.

The Hon. the Speaker: All those opposed to the motion will please say "nay."

Some Hon. Senators: Nay.

The Hon. the Speaker: In my opinion, the "nays" have it.

And two honourable senators having risen:

The Hon. the Speaker: Do we have an agreement on the bell?

An Hon. Senator: One hour.

The Hon. the Speaker: The vote will take place at 4:04 p.m. Call in the senators.

(1600)

Motion to adjourn debate negatived on the following division:

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Projet de loi C-6, Loi modifiant la Loi sur la citoyenneté et une autre loi en conséquence. (Motion d'amendement)

 

La Loi sur la citoyenneté

Projet de loi modificatif—Troisième lecture—Motion d'amendement—Suite du débat

L'ordre du jour appelle :

Reprise du débat sur la motion de l'honorable sénatrice Omidvar, appuyée par l'honorable sénatrice Gagné, tendant à la troisième lecture du projet de loi C-6, Loi modifiant la Loi sur la citoyenneté et une autre loi en conséquence.

L'honorable Serge Joyal : Honorables sénateurs, je ne veux pas chercher la petite bête, cet après-midi, mais j'aimerais attirer l'attention de la sénatrice McCoy, qui a proposé l'amendement, sur la version française de cet amendement. En effet, même si je m'adresse souvent à vous en anglais, sachez que je lis également la version française des projets de loi.

J'attire votre attention sur la page 4 du Feuilleton, au paragraphe 4, 5.1.

[Français]

Dans la version française, on peut lire ce qui suit :

(5.1) L'avis visé au paragraphe (3) ou la décision visée au paragraphe (5) est signifié à personne. [...]

[Traduction]

En français, cela signifie que nul n'est avisé. Ceci est attribuable à l'omission de l'article « la ».

Vous êtes l'auteure de l'amendement. Ainsi, si vous voulez bien demander le consentement pour ajouter l'article « la » devant le mot « personne » en français, cela rendrait le sens équivalent à celui de la version anglaise. Je vais m'en tenir à cela pour le moment, puis j'entamerai mes observations générales.

(...)

Son Honneur le Président : Le sénateur Joyal a la parole.

Le sénateur Joyal : C'est ma dernière suggestion au sujet des corrections. Je remercie les sénateurs de leur approbation.

Je serai bref, cet après-midi, mais je tiens à attirer l'attention des sénateurs sur l'amendement proposé par la sénatrice McCoy. La révocation de la citoyenneté est une décision très importante.

En effet, si vous lisez la Charte des droits et libertés, vous remarquerez qu'il y a deux articles de la Charte qui ne reconnaissent des droits qu'aux citoyens. En général, on parle de droits de la personne, mais, dans la Charte, il y a deux droits qui sont seulement consentis aux citoyens. Si vous perdez le statut juridique de citoyen, vous ne pouvez pas revendiquer ces droits-là. Voilà la première chose que j'avais à dire, et je vais bientôt citer les deux droits en question, qui sont d'ailleurs très clairement énoncés dans la Charte.

Je tenais également à souligner que l'article 24 de la Charte contient une disposition très précise qui exige que nous mettions une instance judiciaire compétente à la disposition de quiconque se sentirait lésé ou exclu. C'est ce que dit l'article 24 de la Charte, que je vais maintenant vous lire :

Toute personne, victime de violation ou de négation des droits ou libertés qui lui sont garantis par la présente charte, peut s'adresser à un tribunal compétent pour obtenir la réparation que le tribunal estime convenable et juste eu égard aux circonstances.

Ainsi, tous les droits inscrits dans la Charte peuvent être revendiqués devant les tribunaux si une personne se sent lésée.

Pour revenir à mon premier point, à savoir les droits dont nous jouissons en raison de notre citoyenneté même, du fait que nous avons ce statut-là, l'article 3 stipule ce qui suit :

« Droits démocratiques des citoyens »

Tout citoyen canadien...

— j'insiste sur le fait qu'il ne s'agit pas de toute personne au Canada —

... a le droit de vote et est éligible aux élections législatives fédérales ou provinciales.

La Cour suprême a donné une interprétation très large à ce droit, qui permet de se présenter à des élections. Comme vous le savez, il s'agit du droit à une certaine division des circonscriptions au Canada. C'est le principe de la représentation effective. La Cour suprême a tiré beaucoup de conclusions se rapportant au droit de vote et à tous les privilèges qui en découlent.

Il existe un autre groupe de droits qui sont uniquement réservés aux citoyens et ceux-ci sont, dans un sens, plus révélateurs pour un individu, si je puis m'exprimer ainsi.

L'article 6 est intitulé « Liberté de circulation » et on y lire ceci :

(1) Tout citoyen canadien a le droit de demeurer au Canada, d'y entrer ou d'en sortir.

(2) Tout citoyen canadien et toute personne ayant le statut de résident permanent au Canada ont le droit :

a) de se déplacer dans tout le pays et d'établir leur résidence dans toute province;

b) de gagner leur vie dans toute province.

Honorables sénateurs, vous comprendrez que, lorsque nous révoquons la citoyenneté d'une personne, nous ne pouvons pas aussi lui refuser le droit de s'adresser aux tribunaux. Ce droit est prévu à l'article 24. Si nous décidions de restreindre la liberté d'expression d'une personne au Canada, celle-ci peut s'adresser à un tribunal et contester la mesure législative en vertu de l'alinéa 2a) de la Charte.

Il y a quelque temps, nous avons tenu un débat au Sénat sur ce sujet. C'est la même chose pour la protection d'une personne qui porte le titre de citoyen. Selon la Charte, si on décide de révoquer la citoyenneté d'une personne, cette dernière a le droit de s'adresser aux tribunaux parce qu'il s'agit d'un droit très important. Vous enlevez à une personne ses droits démocratiques et sa liberté de circulation lorsque vous lui révoquez sa citoyenneté.

J'ai toujours été pour les initiatives qui visent à rétablir un processus quelconque. La sénatrice Martin a raison : il n'y a pas des milliers de cas de révocation de la citoyenneté. On n'est pas ici dans le domaine des demandes d'asile. Vous avez tout à fait raison : une personne qui soutient que son droit a été révoqué ou qu'il sera retiré a certainement le droit de se faire entendre par un tribunal, de façon efficace et dans un délai raisonnable. Vous avez tout à fait raison. C'est ce que la Cour suprême a confirmé l'été dernier, comme vous le savez, relativement au nombre de mois qu'une cour provinciale peut prendre pour rendre une décision, soit 18 mois, ou 30 mois pour les cours supérieures. Le délai raisonnable est un aspect important et, à mon avis, vous l'avez soulevé en fournissant amplement de justifications.

Par contre, nous ne sommes pas aux prises ici avec le problème des réfugiés que doivent traiter les commissions du statut de réfugié. La révocation de la citoyenneté existe. Il y en a peut-être quelques centaines de cas, mais cela ne représente pas la majorité des dossiers. Je crois que vous avez tout à fait raison à cet égard.

Je suis extrêmement favorable à ce genre d'amendements, parce qu'ils rétablissent le caractère exécutoire des droits contenus dans la Charte. Cela ne veut pas dire que la personne doive faire appel devant la Cour fédérale. Le gouvernement pourrait concevoir un système d'appel qui soit équitable. Voilà ce que nous visons essentiellement ici. Il peut s'agir de la Cour fédérale, d'une cour supérieure ou d'une cour administrative, mais il y aura au moins un processus d'examen pour assurer que la décision a été prise de façon équitable et que la personne a eu l'occasion de défendre sa cause. C'est ce qu'on appelle une procédure équitable; c'est offrir une audience juste.

J'appuie fortement cet amendement parce que, surtout dans cette Chambre — je songe à la sénatrice Bellemare —, nous nous demandons comment assurer que chaque projet de loi respecte la Charte. Je crois que ce projet de loi avait besoin d'être aligné avec la Charte, et je suis heureux que le comité ait pris l'initiative de souligner ce besoin pour qu'aujourd'hui nous puissions, je l'espère bien, voter sur les amendements qui, d'après moi, rendront cette mesure conforme aux droits des Canadiens.

L'honorable Daniel Lang : L'honorable sénateur accepterait-il de répondre à une question?

Le sénateur Joyal : Avec plaisir, sénateur Lang.

Le sénateur Lang : Personne ne contestera la prémisse selon laquelle tout Canadien ou résident permanent susceptible de se trouver dans cette situation a droit à une procédure équitable, et selon laquelle un mécanisme d'appel pourrait apaiser certaines des inquiétudes qui ont été exprimées.

Je me pose une question par rapport aux remarques que vous avez faites d'entrée de jeu. Vous avez fait allusion à la Constitution et aux droits de tous les Canadiens, dont le droit d'appel. Cependant, le fait d'adopter la procédure d'appel ne laisse-t-il pas à quelqu'un le droit de contester la décision rendue à la suite d'un processus d'examen? Si le droit d'appel est adopté et que l'on n'est pas d'accord avec la décision qui a été prise, a-t-on alors le droit de saisir la Cour fédérale pour interjeter un autre appel?

La question que je me pose — et vous vous l'êtes posée vous- même à propos de la remarque de la sénatrice Martin — concerne ceux qui abusent du système. Ceux-ci savent en effet que, en attendant d'épuiser tous les appels, ils peuvent rester ici pendant 10 ans en raison des retards et des autres problèmes dans le système judiciaire. Ils peuvent abuser du système.

Je viens justement de prendre connaissance de la situation dans laquelle se trouve le ministre Goodale, auquel la cour demande de prendre une décision au sujet de gens qui, pour une raison ou pour une autre, ont dû, à cause de leurs activités, faire appel à lui pour avoir le droit de rester dans ce pays. Or, ces gens-là font appel depuis 15 ans.

Si, comme tout autre Canadien, vous avez le droit de faire appel aux tribunaux lorsque vous avez le sentiment d'être lésé, pourquoi ne pas laisser la loi telle quelle, puisqu'elle contient déjà ce droit?

Le sénateur Joyal : L'honorable sénateur pose une question à laquelle on peut répondre de diverses façons.

D'abord, le gouvernement, la ministre de la Justice ou le ministre de l'Immigration, dans le cadre du processus d'appel potentiel, pourrait déterminer le délai à respecter pour indiquer son intention d'interjeter appel afin de limiter la période durant laquelle une personne pourrait se prévaloir de ce droit. Ensuite, comme je l'ai dit, il serait possible d'établir un tribunal administratif et de déterminer les motifs d'appel. Ainsi, les motifs qui autorisent un appel pourraient être établis. Les tribunaux canadiens ont déjà...

J'aurais besoin de cinq minutes de plus.

Son Honneur le Président : Le consentement est-il accordé, honorables sénateurs?

Des voix : D'accord.

Le sénateur Joyal : On pourrait déterminer une certaine orientation ou, autrement dit, établir un motif d'appel qui serait jugé acceptable par le tribunal. En effet, dans certains cas, le tribunal administratif effectue un examen limité à quelques vérifications au sein du système. Autrement dit, le cas n'est pas défendu de nouveau d'un niveau à l'autre.

Dans les cas de révocation de la citoyenneté, il est possible d'établir un mécanisme d'appel qui répondrait aux critères d'une audience équitable dans le contexte administratif et qui permettrait à une personne qui s'estime lésée d'interjeter appel de la décision.

Cela dit, il est scandaleux qu'une personne ne soit pas entendue, qu'elle doive soumettre ses arguments par écrit seulement et qu'elle reçoive une réponse, comme l'a dit la sénatrice McCoy, identifiée par un numéro. Lorsqu'on lit cela, on a l'impression d'être à l'ère soviétique. La personne a le droit d'être entendue et de plaider sa cause. Il est différent de défendre son point de vue par écrit et de le faire en personne, avec une aide équitable ou seul, lorsque vous êtes intimement lié à une cause.

Il y a sûrement moyen d'instaurer un système plus efficace qui tiendra compte du besoin de garantir des délais raisonnables tout en veillant au maintien du droit des personnes de faire entendre leur cause par une cour de justice, qu'il s'agisse d'un tribunal administratif ou de la Cour fédérale.

Le sénateur Lang : Votre Honneur, j'ai une question complémentaire que je n'avais pas posée.

À la fin de la procédure d'appel, si la personne n'est pas d'accord avec la décision du tribunal, celle-ci a le droit, à certaines conditions, d'interjeter de nouveau appel devant la cour pour faire entendre sa cause; n'est-ce pas le cas?

Le sénateur Joyal : En effet, sénateur, vous avez absolument raison. La Cour supérieure ou la Cour fédérale exerce une compétence générale en matière d'application régulière de la loi. Ce que vous dites est prévu à l'article 11 de la Charte. Autrement dit, il faut traiter ces dossiers comme n'importe quels autres où les droits d'une personne sont en jeu. La Cour supérieure ou la Cour fédérale doit avoir la capacité d'examiner le dossier pour s'assurer que le processus d'application régulière de la loi a été respecté dans celui-ci.

La sénatrice Martin : Je propose l'ajournement du débat.

Des voix : Non.

Son Honneur le Président : L'honorable sénatrice Martin, avec l'appui de l'honorable sénateur Carignan, propose que le débat soit ajourné à la prochaine séance du Sénat.

Vous plaît-il, honorables sénateurs, d'adopter la motion?

Des voix : Oui.

Des voix : Non.

Son Honneur le Président : Que les sénateurs qui sont en faveur de la motion veuillent bien dire oui.

Des voix : Oui.

Son Honneur le Président : Que les sénateurs qui sont contre la motion veuillent bien dire non.

Des voix : Non.

Son Honneur le Président : À mon avis, les non l'emportent.

Et deux honorables sénateurs s'étant levés :

Son Honneur le Président : Y a-t-il entente au sujet de la sonnerie?

Une voix : Une heure.

Son Honneur le Président : Le vote aura lieu à 16 h 4. Convoquez les sénateurs.

La motion d'ajournement du débat, mise aux voix, est rejetée.