This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II - Congratulations on Sixty-fifth Anniversary of Ascension to the Throne

 

Hon. Serge Joyal: Honourable senators, I will not continue in the same vein as Senator McIntyre. It would be too easy for me.

Instead, I would like to draw your attention to another renowned historical figure. Honourable senators, I would like to remind you that Monday, February 6, marked the Sapphire Jubilee of Her Majesty the Queen of Canada.

Queen Elizabeth II has been our nation's sovereign for 65 years. This is unprecedented in the history of the British Crown.

What is remarkable is that, during the Queen's long reign, Canada continued to develop its institutions, laws, customs and practices, making it a model and an inspiration for countries of the free world.

Canada is fundamentally a country that adheres to the rule of law developed by a Parliament that renews itself regularly. This rule is tempered by a Charter of Rights and Freedoms based on the dignity of every individual, and this Charter is interpreted by a judicial system that is completely independent and respected.

Those are the three pillars of our constitutional democracy to which we have pledged our allegiance in the oath that we took as members of the Senate.

This stability in our system of government is perhaps best reflected in the Queen herself, who is a stellar example of dignity, dedication and service to her people, as she is always mindful of their needs and challenges.

Her Majesty has a special bond with the indigenous people of this country, who, in return, revere her fondly.

Her Majesty speaks impeccably in Canada's two official languages, thereby demonstrating her appreciation of Canadian duality.

Her Majesty loves Canada. She has often declared that she felt herself Canadian during each of her 22 visits.

We are certainly privileged to be able to cultivate such a link with our long history, one that our sovereign cares very much about. This jubilee gives us an opportunity to reflect on the unique character of our country.

It also gives us an opportunity to express the gratitude we owe to our Majesty as our head of state. May I express the wish that our Speaker would extend to Her Majesty our sincere congratulations for her sapphire jubilee.

Please also convey our profound appreciation for her tireless dedication and constant attention to Canada's good governance.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II - Félicitations à l'occasion du soixante-cinquième anniversaire de son règne

 

L'honorable Serge Joyal : Honorables sénateurs, je ne poursuivrai pas sur la lancée que le sénateur McIntyre m'a ouverte. Ce serait trop facile pour moi.

Je voudrais plutôt attirer votre attention sur un autre personnage historique de très grande renommée. Honorables sénateurs, j'aimerais vous rappeler que le lundi 6 février dernier marquait le jubilé de saphir de Sa Majesté la reine du Canada.

La reine Elizabeth II est la souveraine de notre nation depuis 65 ans. C'est un règne sans précédent dans l'histoire de la Couronne britannique.

Ce qui est remarquable sous son long règne, c'est que le Canada ait continué de développer ses institutions, ses lois, ses coutumes et ses pratiques qui en font aujourd'hui un exemple, une inspiration parmi les pays du monde libre.

Le Canada se définit d'abord par la règle de droit élaborée par un Parlement qui se renouvelle régulièrement. Cette règle est tempérée par une Charte des droits et libertés fondée sur la dignité de chaque personne, et cette Charte est interprétée par un système judiciaire tout à fait indépendant et respecté.

Ce sont là les trois piliers de notre démocratie constitutionnelle auxquels nous avons fait promesse d'allégeance dans le serment que nous avons prêté comme sénateurs.

C'est peut-être la reine qui incarne le mieux cette stabilité dans notre système de gouvernement, puisqu'elle est elle-même un excellent exemple de dignité, de dévouement et de service pour son peuple, dont elle se soucie toujours des besoins et des difficultés.

Sa Majesté a un attachement particulier à l'endroit des Autochtones du Canada — qui, de leur côté, ont un sentiment de vénération envers elle.

Sa Majesté s'exprime impeccablement dans les deux langues officielles du pays. Elle témoigne ainsi de son appréciation de la dualité canadienne.

Sa Majesté aime beaucoup le Canada. À chacune de ses 22 visites au Canada, elle a souvent déclaré qu'elle se sentait elle-même canadienne.

Nous sommes certainement privilégiés de pouvoir cultiver un tel lien avec notre longue histoire, à laquelle notre souveraine demeure si sensible. Ce jubilé nous offre l'occasion de réfléchir sur la nature singulière de notre pays.

Il nous donne aussi l'occasion d'exprimer la gratitude que nous devons à Sa Majesté, notre chef d'État. Puis-je prier le Président d'exprimer à Sa Majesté nos sincères félicitations à l'occasion de son jubilé de saphir?

Veuillez également lui transmettre l'assurance de notre profonde reconnaissance pour son inlassable dévouement et son attention continue à la bonne gouvernance du Canada.