This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

S-229 - An Act for the advancement of the aboriginal languages of Canada and to recognize and respect aboriginal language rights

 

SUMMARY

This enactment recognizes the right of the aboriginal peoples of Canada to use, preserve, revitalize and promote their languages and expresses the Government of Canada’s commitment to preserve, revitalize and promote aboriginal languages in Canada by protecting them and using them where appropriate.
It requires the designated Minister to take measures to implement that commitment, including measures to recognize and support the right of aboriginal governments to use and promote aboriginal languages; to encourage and support provincial and territorial governments and municipal, local and educational authorities to support aboriginal languages; to increase opportunities for aboriginal persons to learn and become more proficient in using their languages; to increase the number of circumstances in which aboriginal languages are used and supported; and to foster a positive attitude among all Canadians toward aboriginal languages.
 
BILL S-229
An Act for the advancement of the aboriginal languages of Canada and to recognize and respect aboriginal language rights
 
Preamble
Whereas the historical existence and continued presence of aboriginal peoples in Canada is one of its fundamental characteristics and the varied and diverse voices of the aboriginal peoples of Canada have echoed across this land since time immemorial;
Whereas language is an integral part of culture and an essential tool of identification, cohesion, communication and creative expression;
Whereas, following their discussions, exchanges, studies and reports, several aboriginal groups have recommended that formal legislative recognition be given to aboriginal languages;
Whereas it is desirable to support aboriginal peoples and persons in Canada in preserving and revitalizing their languages as living languages and to ensure that aboriginal language speakers have equal opportunities to obtain education and employment and to participate in their governance and otherwise meaningfully engage in society at every level;
And whereas the Parliament of Canada is committed to assisting the aboriginal peoples of Canada to preserve and revitalize their languages by protecting and promoting them and by recognizing and respecting aboriginal language rights, a commitment consistent with the policies of the Government of Canada regarding aboriginal self-government and supportive of the individual rights and freedoms of aboriginal persons and the collective rights and freedoms of aboriginal peoples in Canada;
Now, therefore, Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate and House of Commons of Canada, enacts as follows:
SHORT TITLE
 
Short title
1. This Act may be cited as the Aboriginal Languages of Canada Act.
INTERPRETATION
 
Definitions
2. The following definitions apply in this Act.
“aboriginal languages”
« langues autochtones »
“aboriginal languages” means the historical and traditional languages spoken by the aboriginal peoples of Canada.
“aboriginal peoples of Canada”
« peuples autochtones du Canada »
“aboriginal peoples of Canada” means the Indian, Inuit and Métis peoples of Canada.
“Minister”
« ministre »
“Minister” means the member of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada designated by the Governor in Council as the Minister for the purposes of this Act.
English- and French-language education
3. For greater certainty, nothing in this Act shall be construed so as to limit or preclude the funding of English or French language education or training programs for aboriginal persons.
ABORIGINAL AND TREATY RIGHTS
 
Non-derogation
4. For greater certainty, nothing in this Act shall be construed so as to abrogate or derogate from any existing aboriginal or treaty rights of the aboriginal peoples of Canada under section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.
ADVANCEMENT OF ABORIGINAL LANGUAGES OF CANADA
 
Recognition of rights
5. It is hereby recognized that the aboriginal peoples of Canada have the right to use, preserve, revitalize and promote their aboriginal languages and the freedom to share their cultural heritage through the use of those languages.
Government policy
6. The Government of Canada is committed to
(a) recognizing and respecting the right of aboriginal peoples and persons to use, preserve, revitalize and promote the languages of the aboriginal peoples of Canada, and their freedom to share their cultural heritage through the use of their aboriginal languages;
(b) preserving, revitalizing and promoting aboriginal languages in Canada by pro-tecting them and using them where appropriate;
(c) encouraging and promoting respect and appreciation for aboriginal languages; and
(d) making use, where appropriate, of the language skills and cultural understanding of aboriginal persons.
Specific mandate of Minister
7. The Minister shall take the measures that the Minister considers appropriate to implement the commitments set out in section 6 and otherwise give effect to and carry out the objectives of this Act and, without restricting the generality of the foregoing, the Minister may take measures to
(a) recognize and support the right of aboriginal governments to take action on using and giving official status to aboriginal languages for the purposes of conducting local governance activities;
(b) recognize and support the right of aboriginal governments to use aboriginal languages as the medium of instruction in all schools that are operated on reserve, or under tuition agreements for aboriginal students, and funded by the Government of Canada;
(c) encourage and support provincial and territorial governments to encourage and support the certification of aboriginal language teachers and instructors, linguists, interpreters and translators, and the use of aboriginal languages as a medium of instruction;
(d) encourage and support provincial, territorial, municipal and local authorities in working with aboriginal partners to implement programs for the purposes of carrying out and giving effect to this Act;
(e) encourage and support institutions of elementary, secondary and higher education to include the study or use of aboriginal languages in their curriculum and to grant full academic credit for proficiency in an aboriginal language equal to that granted for proficiency in either of the official languages of Canada;
(f) encourage and support programs that increase the opportunities for aboriginal persons to learn their languages;
(g) encourage and support an increase in the proficiency levels of aboriginal persons speaking, listening to, reading and writing in aboriginal languages through the development of culturally appropriate curricula and materials;
(h) increase the number of circumstances, situations and activities in which aboriginal languages are used and supported, including their use in broadcasting, telecommunications and other media; and
(i) foster and support among aboriginal and non-aboriginal peoples a positive attitude towards aboriginal languages as a source of pride in Canadian society.
Agreements
8. The Minister, or any other minister of the Crown, may enter into an agreement or arrangement with any province, territory or government of an aboriginal people in Canada the purpose of which is to implement the commitments set out in section 6 or otherwise give effect to or carry out the objectives of this Act.
 
Consultation
 
9. The Minster shall take such measures as the Minister considers appropriate to ensure consultation with the leaders and governing bodies of aboriginal peoples in Canada in the design, development and implementation of policies and programs under this Act.
REGULATIONS
 
Regulations
10. The Governor in Council may make regulations to give effect to and carry out the objectives of this Act.
ANNUAL REPORT
 
Report
11. (1) The Minister shall, as soon as possible after the end of each fiscal year, prepare and cause to be laid before each House of Parliament a report on the operation of this Act for that year.
 
Contents
(2) The Minister shall include in the annual report
(a) a description of the measures taken to give effect to and carry out the objectives of this Act;
(b) an evaluation of the impact those measures have had and of the progress made in achieving the objectives of this Act;
(c) a description of the consultations undertaken by the Minister respecting the design, development and implementation of policies and programs under this Act;
(d) an evaluation regarding compliance with the provisions of this Act;
(e) recommendations the Minister may have for better achieving the objectives of this Act; and
(f) a statement of plans for giving effect to this Act, according to its spirit and intent, in the next year.
COMING INTO FORCE
 
Coming into force
12. This Act comes into force on a day, not later than two years after the day on which it receives royal assent, to be fixed by the Governor in Council.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

S-229 - Loi visant la promotion des langues autochtones du Canada ainsi que la reconnaissance et le respect des droits linguistiques autochtones

 

SOMMAIRE

Le texte reconnaît le droit des peuples autochtones du Canada d’utiliser, de préserver, de revitaliser et de promouvoir leurs langues, et énonce l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada à préserver, à revitaliser et à promouvoir les langues autochtones dans l’ensemble du pays en les protégeant et en les utilisant lorsque cela est indiqué.
Il exige que le ministre compétent prenne des mesures en vue de l’exécution de cet engagement, notamment des mesures visant à reconnaître et à soutenir le droit des gouvernements autochtones d’utiliser et de promouvoir les langues autochtones; à encourager et à soutenir les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et les autorités municipales, locales et scolaires afin qu’ils offrent un soutien aux langues autochtones; à donner aux peuples autochtones davantage de possibilités d’apprendre leurs langues et d’en acquérir une plus grande maîtrise; à offrir plus d’occasions d’utiliser et de soutenir les langues autochtones; et à favoriser, parmi tous les Canadiens, une attitude positive envers les langues autochtones.
 
PROJET DE LOI S-229
Loi visant la promotion des langues autochtones du Canada ainsi que la reconnaissance et le respect des droits linguistiques autochtones
 
Préambule
Attendu :
que l’existence séculaire et la présence permanente des peuples autochtones constituent l’une des spécificités du Canada et que les voix des peuples autochtones du Canada résonnent dans leur diversité à la grandeur du pays depuis des temps immémoriaux;
que la langue fait partie intégrante de la culture et est un outil essentiel d’identification, de cohésion, de communication et d’expression de la créativité;
qu’au terme de leurs discussions, échanges, études et rapports, plusieurs groupes autochtones ont recommandé que le législateur reconnaisse officiellement les langues autochtones;
qu’il est souhaitable de soutenir les personnes et peuples autochtones du Canada dans la préservation et la revitalisation de leurs langues en tant que langues vivantes, et de veiller à ce que les personnes d’expression autochtone aient des chances égales d’éducation, d’emploi et de participation utile à leur gouverne et à tous les échelons de la société;
que le Parlement du Canada s’engage à aider les peuples autochtones du Canada à préserver et à revitaliser leurs langues en les protégeant, en faisant la promotion de celles-ci et en reconnaissant et en respectant les droits linguistiques autochtones, lequel engagement est compatible avec les politiques du gouvernement fédéral en matière d’autonomie gouvernementale autochtone et est favorable aux droits et libertés individuels des personnes autochtones et aux droits et libertés collectifs des peuples autochtones du Canada,
 
Sa Majesté, sur l’avis et avec le consentement du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes du Canada, édicte :
TITRE ABRÉGÉ
Titre abrégé
1. Loi sur les langues autochtones du Canada.
DÉFINITIONS
 
Définitions
2. Les définitions qui suivent s’appliquent à la présente loi.
« langues autochtones »
aboriginal languages
« langues autochtones » Les langues parlées historiquement et traditionnellement par les peuples autochtones du Canada.
« ministre »
Minister
« ministre » Le membre du Conseil privé de la Reine pour le Canada chargé par le gouverneur en conseil de l’application de la présente loi.
« peuples autochtones du Canada »
aboriginal peoples of Canada
« peuples autochtones du Canada » Les Indiens, les Inuit et les Métis du Canada.
Éducation en français et en anglais
3. Il est entendu que la présente loi ne limite pas ou n’exclut pas le financement des programmes d’éducation ou de formation en français ou en anglais destinés aux personnes autochtones.
DROITS ANCESTRAUX OU ISSUS DE TRAITÉS
 
Droit des peuples autochtones
4. Il est entendu que la présente loi ne porte pas atteinte aux droits — ancestraux ou issus de traités — des peuples autochtones du Canada visés à l’article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.
PROMOTION DES LANGUES AUTOCHTONES DU CANADA
 
Reconnaissance de droits
5. Il est reconnu que les peuples autochtones du Canada ont le droit d’utiliser, de préserver, de revitaliser et de promouvoir leurs langues autochtones et jouissent de la liberté de partager leur patrimoine culturel grâce à l’utilisation de ces langues.
Politique gouvernementale
6. Le gouvernement du Canada s’engage à :
a) reconnaître et respecter le droit des personnes et peuples autochtones d’utiliser, de préserver, de revitaliser et de promouvoir les langues des peuples autochtones du Canada, ainsi que la liberté de partager leur patrimoine culturel grâce à l’utilisation de ces langues;
b) préserver, revitaliser et promouvoir les langues autochtones au Canada en les protégeant et en les utilisant lorsque cela est indiqué;
c) favoriser et promouvoir le respect et la valorisation des langues autochtones;
d) mettre à contribution, en tant que de besoin, les compétences linguistiques et connaissances culturelles des personnes autochtones.
Mandat du ministre
7. Le ministre doit prendre les mesures qu’il estime indiquées pour l’exécution des engagements prévus à l’article 6 et, de façon plus générale, pour l’application de la présente loi et la réalisation de ses objectifs, et il peut prendre des mesures pour :
a) reconnaître et soutenir le droit des gouvernements autochtones de prendre des mesures en vue de la reconnaissance du statut officiel des langues autochtones et de l’utilisation de celles-ci pour l’exercice des activités de gouvernance locale;
b) reconnaître et soutenir le droit des gouvernements autochtones d’utiliser les langues autochtones comme langue d’enseignement dans les écoles situées sur les réserves, ou dans le cadre d’ententes portant sur les frais de scolarité des élèves ou étudiants autochtones, qui sont financées par le gouvernement du Canada;
c) encourager et soutenir les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux afin qu’ils encouragent et soutiennent l’agrément d’enseignants et de moniteurs de langues autochtones, de linguistes, d’interprètes et de traducteurs, et l’utilisation des langues autochtones comme langue d’enseignement;
d) encourager et soutenir les autorités provinciales, territoriales, municipales et locales afin qu’elles travaillent avec des partenaires autochtones pour mettre en oeuvre les programmes d’application et d’exécution de la présente loi;
e) encourager et soutenir les établissements d’enseignement primaire, secondaire et supérieur afin qu’ils intègrent l’étude ou l’utilisation des langues autochtones à leurs programmes d’études et accordent des crédits pour la compétence dans une langue autochtone qui sont équivalents à ceux accordés pour l’une ou l’autre langue officielle du Canada;
f) favoriser et soutenir les programmes qui accroissent les possibilités, pour les personnes autochtones, d’apprendre leurs langues;
g) favoriser et soutenir une plus grande maîtrise des langues autochtones chez les personnes autochtones pour parler, écouter, lire et écrire, grâce à l’élaboration de programmes d’études et de manuels adaptés aux spécificités culturelles;
h) accroître le nombre d’occasions, de situations et d’activités favorisant l’utilisation et le soutien des langues autochtones, notamment à la radio, à la télévision, dans les télécommunications et dans d’autres médias;
i) encourager et appuyer, parmi les personnes autochtones et non autochtones, une attitude positive envers les langues autochtones en tant que source de fierté pour la société canadienne.
Accords
8. Le ministre ou tout autre ministre fédéral peut conclure avec une province, un territoire ou le gouvernement d’un peuple autochtone du Canada un accord ou une entente visant l’exécution des engagements prévus à l’article 6 ou, de façon plus générale, l’application de la présente loi ou la réalisation de ses objectifs.
Consultations
9. Le ministre doit prendre les mesures qu’il estime indiquées pour assurer la consultation des chefs et des gouvernements des peuples autochtones du Canada en vue de concevoir, d’élaborer et de mettre en oeuvre des politiques et des programmes sous le régime de la présente loi.
RÈGLEMENTS
 
Règlements
10. Le gouverneur en conseil peut prendre des règlements pour l’application de la présente loi et la réalisation de ses objectifs.
RAPPORT ANNUEL
 
Rapport
11. (1) Au début de chaque exercice, le ministre établit dans les meilleurs délais un rapport sur l’application de la présente loi au cours de l’exercice précédent et le fait déposer devant chaque chambre du Parlement.
Contenu du rapport
(2) Le ministre inclut dans le rapport annuel :
a) la description des mesures prises pour l’application de la présente loi et la réalisation de ses objectifs;
b) l’évaluation des effets de ces mesures et des progrès accomplis dans la réalisation des objectifs de la présente loi;
c) la description des consultations entreprises par lui sur la conception, l’élaboration et la mise en oeuvre des politiques et des programmes sous le régime de la présente loi;
d) l’évaluation du respect des dispositions de la présente loi;
e) ses recommandations sur la façon de mieux réaliser les objectifs de la présente loi;
f) un exposé du plan d’application de la présente loi, conformément à son esprit et à l’intention du législateur, pour l’exercice qui suit.
ENTRÉE EN VIGUEUR
 
Entrée en vigueur
12. La présente loi entre en vigueur à la date fixée par décret, mais au plus tard deux ans après la date de sa sanction.