This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Bill C-36, An Act to amend the Criminal Code in response to the Supreme Court of Canada decision in Attorney General of Canada v. Bedford and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.—Third Reading

 

Senator Joyal: Honourable senators, this is a very emotional issue because each one of us has a personal position in relation to the morality or immorality of prostitution, about the legality or non-legality of the prostitution. Prostitution, which has existed since time immemorial, is something that has been there and will continue to be there, but we certainly hope not in the context that we often see it represented or reported in the media with exploitation of persons under the age of 18, persons coerced to offer their sexual services because they are drug addicted or under the control of pimps or johns, or because they have been trafficked by a street gang, mafia or other criminal network. We all have a personal reaction to that, and it is certainly one of those issues whereby you have to pause and think about the implications it has for society as a whole.

My first comment would be to underline for those of you who didn't have the benefit to participate in the pre-study and the study of Bill C-36 that the way that the committee was conducted, under the chairmanship of Senator Runciman, in my opinion was exemplary. In support of that conclusion, I want to read to you an email that I received from one of the witnesses who testified, a former prostitute. I think I should read it because it speaks to the level of seriousness and professional responsibility that senators have expressed all through the difficult study of that bill. It says:

Dear Senator Joyal, I want to take a moment to thank you for your very thoughtful question that you posed to me when I testified before the Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs about Bill C-36 this week.

I underline this:

I had a very negative experience when I testified before the Justice Committee (House of Commons) in July and wrote about it when I returned home. On a personal note, I wish to tell you that my father was a decorated veteran of World War II and he taught me to love this country and its institutions. My parents were older when I came along, and while my father knew that I was troubled and struggled with addiction, he never knew that I was a sex worker, as I did not want to hurt him. While I continue to have a deep love for this country and the democracy that my father fought for, I feel very disillusioned by the treatment of those advocating against Bill C-36 and for the decriminalization of sex work by the representatives of the Harper government, so it meant a great deal to me to be treated with dignity and respect by you and the other Liberal senators. My father passed away early in my recovery from addiction, but I know that he would be proud of the activist I have become. He taught me to stand up for what is right and to fight for what you believe in, and I will continue to fight for justice for sex workers.

Again, my deepest thanks to you, sir.

I want to add on a personal note that the negative comment did not apply to the government senators sitting on the Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs. I certainly am a witness to that. The negative comments were addressed to the experience that witness had in the House of Commons. It is signed by Ms. Kerry Porth, Pivot Legal Society, former sex worker.

That being said, honourable senators, I want to add my personal comment to Bill C-36. In my own personal conviction, I think Bill C-36 is flawed on three grounds. The first is because the bill is premised on the assumption that any sex work is exploitative, any offer of sexual services is exploitative. It's an assumption. It's not demonstrated. It's taken for granted. It's an assumption based on which grounds? It could be a variety of grounds. One could think, as I mentioned in my opening remarks, on morality.

Another one could be seen as being exploitative of the human body, be it female or male. It exists. The vast majority of sex work is not exploitative, per se. A large number of prostitutes, again male or female, do it wilfully. We have heard testimony on that. Of course we have also heard other stories. There's no doubt about it. It's not an easy activity. It's a dangerous activity, on all accounts. The Supreme Court has recognized this in its decision, but to base the whole philosophy of the bill on the principle that all sexual service is exploitative would not stand the test of reality in the Supreme Court. As a matter of fact, the three women who were petitioners in the Supreme Court were in these sexual activities wilfully, and the Supreme Court accepted that. Nobody questioned that.

The other aspect of the presumption of the bill which in my opinion would not meet the test of reality is based on the assumption that all persons who offer sexual services are deemed criminal. It makes the sexual activities criminal, as my colleague Senator Baker has stated. However, at the same time, because the bill recognizes that sexual activity is exploitative, the corollary is that all persons who are involved in sexual activities are victims; they are victimized. It is not knowingly, but they are victimized. They are presumed to be victims.

The bill, in relation to that conclusion, makes some exceptions to that situation, as Senator Baker and Senator Jaffer have been eloquently explaining. The bill makes exceptions. In other words, if you practice the activity of offering your sexual services by yourself in your own apartment — with a bodyguard that you hired, with somebody who takes the calls, with somebody who will go and get the customers — on your own, with only you as an individual, it's allowed.

We learned even at the conclusion of our report, in the last testimony that we heard, as I stated and questioned Senator Baker on, if you operate under a cooperative form of organization, it would also be allowed under Bill C-36, under the new sections of the Criminal Code. The assumption that you are exploited and a victim is negated by a form of organization, either on a cooperative basis or on your own. There is something illogical there.

Another aspect that is illogical is the fact that if you offer your sexual services with a group of persons, and you are found guilty by the police of offering sexual services, you will have a criminal record. Having a criminal record will make it much more difficult for you to be rehabilitated, in other words to leave that kind of activity to try to assume another kind of responsibility or job in the normal course of life.

I raised that question to some of the witnesses, and here is the answer or comment that I received when I raised that question. It is from one of the witnesses who sent me an email last week:

During my testimony, I was very pleased that you focused a line of your questioning on the idea of expunging records for those who have been charged with prostitution offences. You correctly identify this as "the law of unintended consequences," whereby, in trying to criminalize sex sellers, you might, in fact, stigmatize them in a deeper way. This, of course, is a serious problem for both women who have been sex trafficked and charged with prostitution offences and those who are victims of prostitution and have been charged criminally.

In other words, we are presuming that every activity in relation to selling sexual services is deemed exploitative. We make the person who does that activity a victim, but, at the same time, we charge that person with a criminal record and expect that that person will finally come back into the normal course of life.

We all know that having a criminal record will bar you from all work in the civil service or public service and from many jobs, even the lowest-paid jobs in large, multinational companies. I won't name one, but many come to mind. It will prevent you from travelling because, in your passport, that will be part of your criminal record. For all kinds of objectives, which I'm not disputing today, we have made much more difficult the deletion of criminal records in the past years because we have changed the rules that allow a person to have a criminal record deleted.

I'm not disputing the objective that some prostitutes are victims, that some prostitutes are exploited and so forth. We all know those details and horror stories. Again, I'm not trying to diminish them, but by making the criminal record of those alleged victims more difficult to get rid of, we are victimizing the prostitute a second time. So there is some illogical element in the bill. I'm sure that the court, when they have to review the overall system that the bill implements, will have to look into, as I say, the unintended consequences.

It is the same with a second aspect of the bill that is very questionable, the fact of criminalizing the customer. We all recognize that by criminalizing the customer instead of putting all of the emphasis on the prostitute as, again, being male or female, we are trying to reduce the demand. It's what I call the simple market law. You have reduced the demand, so the offer will diminish. Let me make a simple parallel. If nobody asks for apples, fewer apples trees will be grown and maintained because nobody wants the crop. Nobody wants the apple. It seems to me that it is very illogical, that by criminalizing the customer and letting a person offer his or her sexual services, we are, in fact, putting ourselves in a dear situation.

Let me make a parallel. Suppose you are allowed to offer your services as a painter. You are allowed to buy the paint, the paintbrush. You are allowed to hire the ladders and the scaffolding and all you need. You are allowed to rent a van to move your stuff. But anyone who will be in contact with you to buy your services as a painter will be deemed to be a criminal. There's something illogical there. Either the activity is legitimate or it is not. It might be legitimate in some cases, if you are operating alone, but it will be illegitimate if you are operating with a group. There is something there that is very illogical at face value.

The other, more important element in that situation is that by criminalizing the customer, what do you do? What will you provoke in the system of offering sexual services? It's simple. You will drive it underground. Why? Because of course a person who wants to buy sexual services from another person will not be in a position to do that in the open. It will push offering sexual services underground, push the prostitute more into the dark alley, not allow the prostitute to negotiate.

May I have another five minutes, honourable senators?

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: Five more minutes is granted to Senator Joyal?

Hon. Senators: Agreed.

Senator Joyal: What you will do, in fact, is put the prostitute more at risk in negotiating the condition of the offering of the services. The Supreme Court recognized that clearly in Bedford. The negotiation aspect is essential for the safety and the security of the prostitute. The court has been very clear. Only one prostitute need be put at risk to make the section unconstitutional against section 7 of the Charter, which is the protection of the security of the person.

By criminalizing the customer, which is, as I said, essentially with the objective of reducing the demand, that is, reducing the offer of services and pushing prostitutes out of the activity, we are, in fact, endangering the safety and security of the prostitute. I'm not the only one contending that. The British Medical Journal came forward in June with a long study evaluating what impact criminalizing customers would have. I will read the title. I won't read the study, of course, but I will read the title of the study by the British Medical Journal. If you don't know what it is, the British Medical Journal is a very serious, reliable, scientific publication. What is the title? "Criminalisation of clients: reproducing vulnerabilities for violence and poor health among street-based sex workers in Canada—a qualitative study."

We have heard that from the Vancouver Police, which has adopted the model of criminalizing the customer. We have also heard it from the municipal police of Montreal, which has adopted that approach. In fact, that section of Bill C-36 will certainly be challenged because it will have that unintended consequence of making the offer of services more dangerous by unbalancing the equal footing on which a person who offers his or her sexual services should be able to negotiate with the person who accepts that offer on the basis of maintaining the safety of the person, the health of the person and the ability of the person to refuse to perform some forms of sexual activities. If you criminalize the customer to make it more pressing for a person who offers his or her services to accept any kind of conditions, it makes that person more vulnerable to safety and health conditions. This section of the bill, in my opinion, will be challenged because it is contrary to the very conclusion that the Supreme Court drew from the former sections of the Criminal Code in relation to that.

What were the three elements of the Bedford case? There were three elements that the Supreme Court decided on, against the sections of the Criminal Code. The first one is that keeping a common bawdy house was struck down. Bill C-36 recognizes that. Bill C-36 removes from the Criminal Code the definition of "common bawdy house" in relation to prostitution. They maintained "common bawdy house" only in relation to indecent acts and removed it from prostitution.

The second element they struck down in the Bedford case was the section of the Criminal Code dealing with living off the avails of prostitution. The third element was communicating in public for the purpose of engaging in prostitution, which is the whole section that our colleague Senator Baker mentioned about communication. As I stated, the court mentioned repeatedly in the Bedford case that communication is essential to the security, safety and maintenance of health of the prostitute.

The section of Bill C-36 that limits communication certainly will be challenged in court again, honourable senators, on the presumption of exploitation and victimization, which were not recognized in the Bedford case. The three people who challenged the criminal records before the Supreme Court were there on the basis of consenting adults — not coerced or under the age of 18. They knew perfectly well the activities they were engaged in. The court repeatedly recognized that it is a dangerous activity, but nowhere did the court say that because it is dangerous it should be prohibited. In other words, when something is dangerous, you have to take the proper means to frame it in the context of maintaining the security and health of the person.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Projet de loi C-36, Loi modifiant le Code criminel pour donner suite à la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada dans l'affaire Procureur général du Canada c. Bedford et apportant des modifications à d'autres lois en conséquence—Troisième lecture

 

Le sénateur Joyal : Honorables sénateurs, c'est une question assez délicate, parce que chacun de nous a un point de vue personnel sur la moralité ou l'immoralité de la prostitution ou sur son caractère légal ou illégal. La prostitution, qui existe depuis des temps immémoriaux, est un phénomène qui continuera de se manifester, mais nous espérons que ce ne sera pas dans le contexte présenté dans les médias, c'est-à-dire des cas d'exploitation de personnes âgées de moins de 18 ans ou de personnes forcées à offrir des services sexuels à cause d'une toxicomanie ou de l'influence exercée par un proxénète, ou encore dans le cadre d'un trafic organisé par des bandes de rues, par la mafia ou par un autre réseau criminel. Nous réagissons tous à ces situations, qui nous amènent à réfléchir aux incidences de ce phénomène sur l'ensemble de la société.

Je voudrais tout d'abord souligner, pour les sénateurs qui n'ont participé ni à l'étude préliminaire ni à l'examen du projet de loi C- 36, que les audiences du comité se sont déroulées d'une manière vraiment exemplaire sous la présidence du sénateur Runciman. À l'appui de cette conclusion, je voudrais vous lire un courriel que j'ai reçu de l'une des personnes qui ont comparu, une ancienne prostituée. Je crois que je devrais vous lire ce message parce qu'il témoigne du sérieux et de la responsabilité dont les sénateurs ont fait preuve au cours de cette étude complexe. Voici le texte du courriel :

Voici ce qu'on peut lire dans ce courriel :

Cher sénateur Joyal, je veux prendre un instant pour vous remercier de la question fort pertinente que vous m'avez posée quand j'ai comparu cette semaine devant le Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles pour parler du projet de loi C-36.

Je souligne ce qui suit :

En juillet, j'ai eu une très mauvaise expérience quand j'ai comparu devant le Comité de la justice de la Chambre des communes. J'ai écrit à ce sujet quand je suis retournée chez moi. Sur une note personnelle, je tiens à vous dire que mon père est un ancien combattant de la Seconde Guerre mondiale qui a été décoré pour ses services et qui m'a appris à aimer ce pays et ses institutions. Mes parents étaient âgés quand ils m'ont eue et, même si mon père savait que j'avais des problèmes et que j'étais toxicomane, il n'a jamais su que j'étais une travailleuse du sexe, car je ne voulais pas lui faire de peine. Bien que je continue à avoir un profond attachement envers ce pays et la démocratie pour laquelle mon père s'est battu, je suis très déçue par la façon dont les représentants du gouvernement Harper traitent ceux qui s'opposent au projet de loi C-36 et qui militent en faveur de la décriminalisation du travail du sexe. Cela a donc signifié beaucoup pour moi d'être traitée avec dignité et respect par vous, ainsi que par les autres sénateurs libéraux. Mon père est mort peu de temps après que j'ai réussi à me défaire de ma dépendance, mais je sais qu'il serait fier de la militante que je suis devenue. Il m'a appris à défendre ce qui est juste et à me battre pour ce que je crois, et je vais continuer ma lutte pour que les travailleurs du sexe soient traités équitablement.

Je vous remercie sincèrement encore une fois, Monsieur.

Pour ma part, je tiens à signaler que les commentaires négatifs ne s'appliquaient pas aux sénateurs ministériels siégeant au Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles. Je peux certainement en témoigner. Ces commentaires se rapportaient à l'expérience vécue par ce témoin à la Chambre des communes. Ce courriel est signé par Mme Kerry Porth, représentante de la Pivot Legal Society et ancienne travailleuse du sexe.

Cela dit, honorables sénateurs, je tiens à apporter mon point de vue personnel sur le projet de loi C-36. J'ai la conviction personnelle que le projet de loi est entaché de trois imperfections. D'abord, il repose sur l'idée préconçue que tout travail du sexe, toute offre de services sexuels se caractérise par l'exploitation. C'est là une hypothèse. Elle n'a pas été vérifiée. On la tient pour acquise. Sur quelles bases repose-t-elle? Il peut y avoir divers motifs. Comme je l'ai dit dans mes premières observations, l'un d'eux pourrait être la moralité.

On pourrait dire aussi qu'il s'agit d'une exploitation du corps humain, qu'il s'agisse d'une femme ou d'un homme. Mais cela existe. Dans la vaste majorité des cas, le travail du sexe n'est pas en soi de l'exploitation. Un grand nombre de prostitués, hommes ou femmes, se livrent à cette activité volontairement. Nous en avons entendu des témoignages. Bien entendu, nous avons entendu aussi d'autres points de vue. Cela ne fait aucun doute. Ce n'est pas une activité facile. C'est une activité dangereuse sous tous rapports. La Cour suprême l'a reconnu dans sa décision, mais faire reposer tout le principe du projet de loi sur l'idée que tous les services sexuels sont de l'exploitation, voilà qui ne pourrait satisfaire au critère de réalité devant la Cour suprême. En fait, les trois femmes qui se sont adressées à la Cour suprême se livraient à ces activités sexuelles de leur plein gré, et la Cour suprême l'a reconnu. Personne ne l'a contesté.

L'autre aspect de la présomption qui est à la base du projet de loi et qui ne satisferait pas aux critères de réalité est que toutes les personnes qui offrent des services sexuels sont considérées comme criminelles. Voilà qui rend les activités sexuelles criminelles, comme mon collègue, le sénateur Baker, l'a dit. Par ailleurs, comme le projet de loi reconnaît que l'activité sexuelle est une forme d'exploitation, il s'ensuit que toutes les personnes qui se livrent à des activités sexuelles sont des victimes; elles sont victimisées. On présume qu'elles sont des victimes.

Par rapport à cette conclusion, le projet de loi prévoit certaines exceptions, comme l'ont expliqué le sénateur Baker et la sénatrice Jaffer avec beaucoup d'éloquence. Oui, il y a des exceptions. Autrement dit, si une personne offre elle-même des services sexuels dans son propre appartement, elle ne commet pas d'infraction même si elle a engagé un garde du corps ou une personne chargée de prendre ses appels ou d'aller chercher les clients. Tant que les services sont offerts à titre individuel, ils sont autorisés.

Au terme de notre étude, nous avons même appris en écoutant le dernier témoin qui a comparu — comme je le disais dans ma question au sénateur Baker — que, si les services sont offerts dans le cadre d'une forme de coopérative, ils seraient autorisés en vertu du projet de loi C-36 et des nouvelles dispositions du Code criminel. L'hypothèse selon laquelle les personnes en cause sont exploitées et victimisées ne tient plus si les services sont offerts dans le cadre d'un certain type d'organisation, qu'il s'agisse d'une coopérative ou de services offerts sur une base individuelle. Je trouve qu'il y a là quelque chose d'irrationnel.

Il y a un autre aspect qui manque de logique : si on offre des services sexuels en compagnie d'un groupe de personnes et qu'on est jugé coupable par la police, on aura un casier judiciaire. En ayant un casier judiciaire, une personne aura beaucoup plus de difficulté à réaliser sa réinsertion sociale, autrement dit à quitter ce genre d'activité pour essayer d'occuper un emploi ou d'assumer des responsabilités, dans le cadre d'une vie normale.

J'ai demandé à certains témoins ce qu'ils en pensaient, et voici la réponse ou les observations que j'ai reçues à ce sujet. Voici un extrait d'un courriel que l'un des témoins m'a envoyé la semaine dernière :

Au cours de mon témoignage, j'étais contente de vous entendre poser des questions ayant trait à la suppression des casiers judiciaires des personnes accusées de prostitution. Vous avez correctement qualifié ce problème de « loi des conséquences imprévues ». En essayant de criminaliser la prostitution, on risque de stigmatiser davantage les travailleurs du sexe. Évidemment, cela pose un problème sérieux aux femmes qui ont été exploitées comme marchandise sexuelle, puis accusées de prostitution ainsi qu'à celles qui ont été victimes de la prostitution et néanmoins accusées d'une infraction criminelle.

Autrement dit, nous présumons que toute activité liée à la vente de services sexuels repose nécessairement sur l'exploitation des personnes. Nous considérons les personnes qui se prostituent comme des victimes, mais, du même souffle, nous les accablons d'un casier judiciaire tout en leur demandant de mener une vie normale.

Nous savons tous qu'une personne qui a un casier judiciaire ne peut pas travailler dans la fonction publique et se voit aussi interdire de nombreux emplois, même des emplois mal rémunérés dans de grandes multinationales. Je ne les nommerai pas, mais j'en ai beaucoup d'exemples à l'esprit. La personne est empêchée de voyager parce qu'avec son passeport, on peut retracer son casier judiciaire. Pour toutes sortes de motifs que je ne conteste pas aujourd'hui, nous avons, au cours des dernières années, rendu plus difficile la suppression d'un casier judiciaire. Nous avons changé les règles autorisant une personne à demander la suppression de son casier judiciaire.

Je ne conteste pas le fait que certaines prostituées sont des victimes, que d'autres sont exploitées et ainsi de suite. Nous connaissons tous des histoires d'horreur à ce sujet. Encore une fois, je ne cherche pas à minimiser les objectifs recherchés, mais j'estime que, en prenant des mesures pour rendre plus difficile la radiation d'un casier judiciaire, on victimise une deuxième fois la prostituée. Bref, le projet de loi comporte des éléments irrationnels. Je suis sûr qu'en examinant le système général mis en place par ce projet de loi, la cour devra, comme je l'ai dit, s'occuper des effets pervers.

Il en est de même pour un second aspect du projet de loi qui est aussi fort contestable : la criminalisation du client. Nous reconnaissons tous qu'en criminalisant le client au lieu de placer toute la responsabilité sur la femme ou l'homme qui se prostitue, nous cherchons à réduire la demande. C'est ce que j'appelle une simple loi du marché. En réduisant la demande, on réduit l'offre. Je vais vous présenter une petite analogie. Si personne ne veut acheter des pommes, on fera pousser moins de pommiers parce que la récolte ne trouve pas preneur. Encore une fois, cela me semble très irrationnel : en criminalisant le client et en permettant à une personne d'offrir des services sexuels, nous nous plaçons en fait dans une drôle de situation.

Voici une autre analogie. Supposons que vous soyez autorisé à offrir vos services comme peintre en bâtiment. Vous avez le droit d'acheter de la peinture et des pinceaux. Vous pouvez vous procurer les échelles et les échafaudages dont vous avez besoin. Vous avez la possibilité de louer une camionnette pour transporter vos affaires. Toutefois, si quelqu'un vous aborde pour acheter vos services comme peintre, on estimera qu'il commet un acte criminel. Il y a là quelque chose qui manque de logique. Une activité est légitime ou ne l'est pas. Elle peut être légitime dans certains cas si vous travaillez tout seul, mais elle ne le sera pas si vous travaillez en groupe. À première vue, c'est très irrationnel.

Il y a un autre aspect important dans cette situation. Que fait-on en criminalisant le client? Quels effets cela aura-t-il sur l'offre de services sexuels? C'est très simple. Elle passera dans la clandestinité. Pourquoi? Parce qu'une personne qui veut acheter des services sexuels d'une autre personne ne voudra pas le faire en public. L'offre de services deviendra donc clandestine. Les prostituées devront se tenir dans des ruelles sombres. Autrement, elles ne pourront pas négocier.

Honorables sénateurs, puis-je avoir cinq minutes de plus?

Son Honneur le Président intérimaire : Les sénateurs accordent-ils cinq minutes de plus au sénateur Joyal?

Des voix : D'accord.

Le sénateur Joyal : On ne réussira ainsi qu'à faire courir un plus grand risque aux prostituées lors de la négociation de leurs services. La Cour suprême l'a clairement reconnu dans l'affaire Bedford. L'aspect de la négociation est essentiel pour la sécurité de la prostituée. La cour l'a dit très explicitement. Il suffit qu'une seule prostituée soit soumise à un plus grand risque pour que la disposition soit jugée inconstitutionnelle en vertu de l'article 7 de la Charte, qui garantit la sécurité de la personne.

En criminalisant le client dans le but de réduire la demande, comme je l'ai dit, c'est-à-dire en réduisant l'offre de services et en décourageant les prostituées, nous compromettons leur sécurité. Je ne suis pas le seul à avancer cet argument. Le British Medical Journal a publié en juin une longue étude qui évalue les répercussions de la criminalisation du client. Je vais vous lire le titre. Je ne lirai évidemment pas l'étude, mais je voudrais mentionner le titre de l'étude qui a paru dans le British Medical Journal. Pour ceux qui ne connaissent pas cette publication, je dirai qu'il s'agit d'une revue scientifique très sérieuse et très fiable. Quel est le titre de l'étude? « Criminalisation of clients : reproducing vulnerabilities for violence and poor health among street-based sex workers in Canada — a qualitative study », ce qui signifie « Criminalisation du client, ou comment reproduire les facteurs de vulnérabilité à la violence et aux maladies parmi les travailleuses du sexe de la rue au Canada : Une étude qualitative ».

Nous en avons entendu parler par des représentants du Service de police de Vancouver et du Service de police de la Ville de Montréal, qui ont adopté le modèle de criminalisation du client. En fait, cette disposition du projet de loi C-36 sera certainement contestée parce qu'elle aura pour conséquence imprévue de rendre plus dangereuse l'offre de services sexuels. En effet, elle créera un déséquilibre qui ne permettra plus à la personne qui offre ses services de négocier avec son client de façon à préserver sa sécurité et sa santé et à être en mesure de refuser certaines formes d'activités sexuelles. En criminalisant le client, la personne qui offre ses services se sent obligée d'accepter n'importe quelle condition et devient donc plus vulnérable au chapitre de la sécurité et de la santé. À mon avis, cette disposition du projet de loi sera contestée parce qu'elle est contraire à la conclusion à laquelle la Cour suprême avait abouti en examinant les anciennes dispositions du Code criminel à cet égard.

Quels étaient les trois éléments de l'affaire Bedford? La Cour suprême s'est fondée sur trois critères pour se prononcer contre les dispositions du Code criminel. La première disposition, relative à la tenue d'une maison de débauche, a été déclaré inconstitutionnelle. Le projet de loi C-36 en tient compte. Le projet de loi C-36 abroge la définition de « maison de débauche » dans le Code criminel en lien avec la prostitution. On a maintenu la notion de « maison de débauche » seulement pour les actions indécentes.

La section du Code criminel portant sur le fait de vivre des produits de la prostitution est le deuxième élément qui a été abrogé dans l'affaire Bedford.. Le troisième élément était la communication en public à des fins de prostitution, qui est la section que le sénateur Baker a mentionnée. Comme je l'ai dit, la cour a déclaré à plusieurs reprises dans l'affaire Bedford que la communication est essentielle pour la sécurité et la santé de la prostituée.

La section du projet de loi C-36 qui limite les communications sera certainement contestée à nouveau devant les tribunaux, honorables sénateurs, où l'on invoquera l'exploitation et la victimisation, qui n'ont pas été reconnues dans l'affaire Bedford. Les trois personnes qui ont contesté les casiers judiciaires devant la Cour suprême étaient des adultes consentants — elles n'ont pas été contraintes et n'étaient pas âgées de moins de 18 ans. Elles savaient parfaitement ce qu'elles faisaient. La cour a reconnu à plusieurs reprises qu'il s'agissait d'une activité dangereuse, mais que ce n'était pas une raison pour l'interdire. Lorsqu'on se livre à des activités dangereuses, on doit prendre les mesures voulues pour préserver sa sécurité et sa santé.