This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

STATEMENT - Symposium on the Constitutionality of Several Senate Reform Proposals. University of Ottawa

 

Hon. Serge Joyal: Honourable senators, tomorrow, Wednesday, January 28, the law faculty of the University of Ottawa will host a special symposium - in fact, quite a unique one - on the essential elements involved in the future renewal of the Senate of Canada.

This symposium is organized at the suggestion of some senators, as was mentioned this morning by the Speaker in his address. The symposium follows the important ruling made by the Supreme Court last spring on the constitutional status of the Senate, after a reference to the court by the Canadian government and a unanimous decision of the Quebec Court of Appeal on the same issue.

The symposium will be the occasion for five leading Canadian scholars to share their analysis and reflections on the implications of the Supreme Court ruling for the understanding of the nature of the Senate as an essential institution of Parliament with a unique role in the legislative process and a composition that is well defined in the Constitution.

The Supreme Court in particular recognized the Senate as an essential component of the full legislative process. It specified that the Senate is a complementary legislative body to the House of Commons. What is more, it underscored that the Senate must exercise its responsibilities independently by expressing the point of view of the various regions of the country, including the point of view of minorities, and that the Senate therefore embodies, in its essence, the federal principle that characterizes our system of government.

The group of five noted scholars includes Professor Don Desserud from the Faculty of Political Science of the University of Prince Edward Island.

Professor Stéphane Beaulac, professor of law at the Université de Montréal.

Professor Errol Mendes, professor of law at the University of Ottawa; Professor Paul Thomas, professor emeritus of political science from the University of Manitoba; and Professor David Smith, professor emeritus of political science from the University of Saskatchewan.

This symposium, which will take place at the Gowlings Moot Court of the University of Ottawa, will offer to senators in attendance, after the presentation of the scholars, the opportunity to express their views with the scholars in the form of questions or comments. However, this symposium will be a participatory exercise of reflection that will produce a result. It will not be only a salon discussion that entertains academic views and adjourn without a result.

In fact, the objective of the symposium is first to pick up on the professional experience of seasoned Canadian scholars to get the comprehensive analysis of the implication of the ruling of the Supreme Court on the Senate, first, for a refined understanding of the nature of the institution of the Senate, and second, which aspects of the operation and composition of the chamber could be improved and enhanced by any avenues but without having to reopen the Constitution.

Once that first step of the exercise has been completed, a summary report of the various contributions should be published later, before spring, and then widely circulated among MPs, senators, MLAs and also former senators - for instance, Senators Lowell Murray, Sharon Carstairs, Noël Kinsella and Dan Hays - and of course the wider university community and even political party representatives. Once that broader consultation is completed, the refined report will be published and shared amongst senators and parliamentarians, for initiatives of renewal of the Senate to be taken after a consensus is formed among senators on the priorities to be addressed.

I cannot but stress the appropriateness of the invitation from the Faculty of Law of the University of Ottawa to all senators to attend, express their views and contribute to the renewal of the role of the Senate in addressing the needs of all Canadians in a contemporary Parliament. All senators will certainly be warmly welcomed tomorrow morning.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

DÉCLARATION - Le symposium sur la constitutionalité de certaines réformes du Sénat. Université d'Ottawa

 

L'honorable Serge Joyal : Honorables sénateurs, demain, le mercredi 28 janvier, la faculté de droit de l'Université d'Ottawa tiendra un symposium spécial - assez unique, en fait - sur les éléments essentiels d'un futur renouvellement du Sénat du Canada.

Ce symposium est organisé à la suggestion de quelques sénateurs, comme l'a mentionné le Président dans son discours de ce matin. Le symposium fait suite à l'importante décision rendue par la Cour suprême du Canada, le printemps dernier, relativement à la situation constitutionnelle du Sénat, à la suite d'un renvoi à la cour par le gouvernement canadien et d'une décision unanime de la Cour d'appel du Québec sur la même question.

Le symposium donnera l'occasion à cinq éminents universitaires canadiens de faire connaître leurs analyses et leurs réflexions au sujet des conséquences de la décision de la Cour suprême sur la compréhension de la nature du Sénat, en tant qu'institution essentielle du Parlement qui joue un rôle unique dans le processus législatif, et dont la composition est bien définie dans la Constitution.

La Cour suprême, en particulier, a reconnu le Sénat comme étant une composante essentielle du processus législatif complet. Elle a en outre précisé que le Sénat est une Chambre législative complémentaire à la Chambre des communes. De plus, elle a souligné que le Sénat doit exercer ses responsabilités de manière indépendante en exprimant le point de vue des diverses régions du pays, notamment le point de vue des minorités et, que, en cela, le Sénat incarne, dans son essence, le principe fédéral qui caractérise notre système de gouvernement.

Le groupe de cinq éminents universitaires comprend le professeur Don Desserud, de la faculté de science politique de l'Université de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Le professeur Stéphane Beaulac, professeur de droit à l'Université de Montréal.

Le professeur Errol Mendes, professeur de droit à l'Université d'Ottawa; le professeur Paul Thomas, professeur émérite en science politique à l'Université du Manitoba; et le professeur David Smith, professeur émérite en science politique à l'Université de la Saskatchewan.

Les sénateurs qui assisteront à ce symposium, qui aura lieu dans la salle du tribunal-école Gowlings de l'Université d'Ottawa, auront la possibilité, après l'exposé des universitaires, d'exprimer leurs points de vue en posant des questions ou en formulant des observations. Toutefois, ce symposium est un exercice participatif de réflexion qui vise à produire un résultat. Il ne s'agira pas seulement d'une discussion de salon où l'on examinera le point de vue du milieu universitaire sans viser de résultat.

En fait, l'objectif du symposium est de tirer parti de l'expérience professionnelle d'universitaires canadiens aguerris, afin d'analyser de manière exhaustive les répercussions de la décision de la Cour suprême sur le Sénat, premièrement pour mieux comprendre la nature de l'institution qu'est le Sénat et, deuxièmement, pour savoir quels aspects du fonctionnement et de la composition du Sénat pourraient être améliorés sans pour autant rouvrir la Constitution.

Une fois la première étape de l'exercice terminée, un rapport sommaire des diverses contributions devrait être publié plus tard, avant le printemps, et diffusé aux députés, aux sénateurs, aux députés provinciaux, à d'anciens sénateurs - comme les sénateurs Lowell Murray, Sharon Carstairs, Noël Kinsella et Dan Hays - et, bien entendu, au milieu universitaire élargi et même aux représentants des partis politiques. Une fois la consultation élargie terminée, la version peaufinée du rapport sera publiée et distribuée aux sénateurs et aux parlementaires, afin de mettre en œuvre des initiatives de renouvellement du Sénat après que les sénateurs auront convenu des priorités à régler.

Je ne puis qu'insister sur la pertinence de l'invitation que la faculté de droit de l'Université d'Ottawa a lancée à tous les sénateurs de participer, d'exprimer leur point de vue et de contribuer au renouvellement du rôle du Sénat pour répondre aux besoins de tous les Canadiens dans un Parlement contemporain. On réservera certainement un accueil chaleureux à tous les sénateurs demain matin.