This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

STATEMENT - First World War - Joint Parliamentary Symposia in Canada and France

 

Hon. Serge Joyal: Honourable senators, you will find on your desk today a special leaflet, in both official languages, about a very unique initiative that will take place in this chamber next week, on November 11 and 12, under the presidency of our distinguished Speaker Senator Kinsella and His Excellency the Ambassador of France to Canada, Mr. Philippe Zeller.

This initiative is special in that, among all the parliaments of the allied countries that took part in the First World War, Canada's parliament is the only parliament that will organize with our friendly parliamentarians from France a joint seminar on the theme of Canada and France during the First World War, 1914-1915, zeroing in on the transformative impacts that the war had on Canada and on France. Among the transformative impacts that that war had was the one on the Parliament of Canada. The Parliament of Canada came out of the war transformed.

Twenty historians will be invited, drawn from Canada and France, 10 of them Canadian and 10 of them French, and each will be invited to address one specific aspect of the transformation that Canada underwent through the war.

Fortunately, we will also have a symposium in Paris, France, at the National Assembly next spring in 2015, with a complementary approach to the one that will take place here next week.

Honourable senators, you are all invited to attend the public opening that will take place next Tuesday afternoon, November 11.

The seminar will have a special significance because it will be accompanied by the publication of a book next spring that will put together all the contributions with the perspective of a complementary approach to our way of seeing the war 100 years later. That seminar will take place under the auspices of the Canada-France Interparliamentary Association and the Association interparlementaire France-Canada.

[Translation]

The Minister of Veterans Affairs supports this initiative.

[English]

The Honourable Julian Fantino will be addressing the opening of the seminar next week. As I mentioned, in France, it will be under the auspices of the President of the National Assembly, Mr. Claude Bartolone and the Ambassador of Canada to France, Mr. Lawrence Cannon, who was in Parliament yesterday.

I am very indebted to the Honourable Speaker for having included that initiative in his presentation and thanks expressed to the President of France yesterday, because it highlights that this seminar has been recognized by the French government as being an official commemorative initiative, subsidized by the French government, for the French part of it, and as an official initiative of the joint parliaments.

Let me remind you, honourable senators, that the British, the Americans, the Australians and the New Zealanders, with whom we fought during the war, have not taken the initiative to join the French and Canadian parliaments to look together at how that war has impacted our way of living. As I mentioned, it impacted even our way of conducting business in Parliament.

I'm sure that honourable senators will want to read that presentation once it has been made public and available in printed form. I think it is one of our characteristics in this chamber that we like to bring sober second thought on issues. After 100 years, to have that sober second thought — especially after having listened to Senator Marshall about the impact that the war had on women — there is a specific theme to this.

As honourable senators know, and I don't want to go through all the details of it, women in Canada got the right to vote during the war. That was an immediate change that changed, in fact, the electorate and the participation of the Canadian electorate in the war. Politicians had to adjust their speeches and their preoccupations to women's preoccupations to be able to address that segment of the electorate.

There are all kinds of aspects that will be raised in that seminar and, again, honourable senators, if you are not in Ottawa, you could send your assistants or members of your entourage. It's open to the public, of course, with the usual measures of security that you all know. It would be better to register and there is a place to register mentioned in the leaflet.

Again, honourable senators, I thank you for your attention, and I am most indebted to our Speaker because he was the first one to accept this initiative. I think that with his endorsement, we were able to rally all the other ones. I want to underline that because, without the Speaker's concurrence, this outstanding initiative would not take place. Thank you, Mr. Speaker.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

DÉCLARATION La Première Guerre mondiale - Les colloques Canada-France

 

 L'honorable Serge Joyal : Honorables sénateurs, vous trouverez sur votre pupitre une brochure bien spéciale, dans les deux langues officielles, sur une initiative unique en son genre qui aura lieu ici, au Sénat, les 11 et 12 novembre prochains, sous la présidence de notre distingué Président, le sénateur Kinsella, et de Son Excellence l'ambassadeur de France au Canada, M. Philippe Zeller.

Cette initiative a ceci de particulier que, parmi tous les Parlements des pays alliés qui ont pris part à la Première Guerre mondiale, celui du Canada est le seul à organiser, avec nos amis, les parlementaires de France, un colloque ayant pour thème « Le Canada et la France dans la Grande Guerre 1914-1915 ». Il y sera question des effets transformateurs que la guerre a eus sur le Canada et la France, notamment sur le Parlement du Canada. En effet, je rappelle, honorables sénateurs, que notre Parlement est sorti transformé de la guerre.

Au total, 20 historiens, dont 10 originaires du Canada et 10 originaires de la France, seront invités à aborder un aspect particulier de la transformation que le Canada a connue au cours de la guerre.

Heureusement, un colloque aura également lieu à Paris, en France, à l'Assemblée nationale, au printemps de 2015, et il empruntera une approche complémentaire à celle qui sera adoptée ici la semaine prochaine.

Honorables sénateurs, vous êtes tous invités à prendre part à l'ouverture publique du colloque qui se déroulera mardi après-midi de la semaine prochaine, soit le 11 novembre.

Le colloque revêtira une importance particulière, parce qu'il sera suivi, le printemps prochain, par la parution d'un livre qui réunira toutes les contributions, lesquelles pourraient donner lieu à une approche qui compléterait notre façon d'envisager la guerre 100 ans plus tard. Le colloque aura lieu sous l'égide de l'Association interparlementaire Canada-France et de l'Association interparlementaire France-Canada.

[Français]

L'initiative est appuyée par le ministre des Anciens Combattants.

[Traduction]

L'honorable Julian Fantino ouvrira le colloque de la semaine prochaine. Comme je l'ai mentionné, celui qui aura lieu en France se déroulera sous l'égide du Président de l'Assemblée nationale, M. Claude Bartolone, et de l'ambassadeur du Canada en France, M. Lawrence Cannon, qui était au Parlement hier.

J'ai une vraie dette envers notre honorable Président, qui a parlé de l'initiative dans son exposé et qui a remercié le président français hier, parce que cela met en relief le fait que le colloque est reconnu par le gouvernement français comme une initiative commémorative officielle qu'il organise et subventionne, du moins le volet français, et qu'il s'agit d'une initiative officielle entreprise conjointement par nos Parlements.

J'aimerais vous rappeler, honorables sénateurs, que les Britanniques, les Américains, les Australiens et les Néo-Zélandais, aux côtés desquels nous nous sommes battus durant la guerre, n'ont pas pris l'initiative de se joindre aux Parlements français et canadien pour examiner conjointement la façon dont cette guerre a modifié notre mode de vie. Comme je l'ai mentionné, elle a même modifié la façon dont nous faisons les choses au Parlement.

Je suis sûr que les honorables sénateurs voudront lire le texte du colloque quand il sera publié et disponible sous forme imprimée. Je pense que le Sénat aime procéder à un second examen objectif des questions. Nous visons un but précis en procédant au second examen objectif de cette question 100 ans après le début de la guerre, surtout après avoir écouté la sénatrice Marshall parler des conséquences que la guerre a eues pour les femmes.

Comme les honorables sénateurs le savent, et je n'aborderai pas tous les détails, les Canadiennes ont obtenu le droit de vote durant la guerre. Cela a eu des répercussions immédiates sur l'électorat et la participation de l'électorat canadien à la guerre. Les politiciens ont dû modifier leurs discours pour pouvoir s'adresser aux femmes et tenir compte des préoccupations de cette partie de l'électorat.

Toutes sortes de questions seront soulevées lors du colloque, et je tiens à rappeler de nouveau aux honorables sénateurs que, s'ils ne sont pas à Ottawa, ils pourront envoyer leurs adjoints à leur place ou des membres de leur entourage. Ce séminaire est, bien sûr, ouvert au public. Les mesures de sécurité habituelles, que vous connaissez tous, s'appliqueront. L'inscription est recommandée, et le dépliant précise où s'inscrire.

Je vous remercie de nouveau, honorable sénateurs, de votre attention, et je sais infiniment gré à notre Président d'avoir été la première personne à accepter cette initiative. Je crois que, grâce à son appui, nous avons réussi à rallier tous les autres acteurs. Je tiens à le souligner parce que, sans l'accord du Président, cette initiative remarquable n'aurait pas lieu. Merci, monsieur le Président.