This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Bill C-24, An Act to amend the Citizenship Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts - Second Reading

 

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: Continuing debate, Senator Joyal.

Hon. Serge Joyal: Thank you, Mr. Speaker.

I would like to thank the Honourable Senator Eaton for her presentation of the bill and Senator Eggleton for his analysis of it.

I didn't participate in the pre-study of this bill. I listened carefully, though, to both interventions. I have a conceptual apprehension about the way the right to revoke citizenship is framed in the bill.

There are two sets of rights defined in the Charter of Rights and Freedoms. I will draw the attention of my colleague Senator Baker in relation to this. They are the rights that pertain to everyone or every person.

For instance, the Charter states that everyone has the following fundamental freedoms: freedom of conscience and religion, freedom of thought and freedom of association. There are other rights, for instance the right to life and security of person. Everyone has the right to life, or everyone has the right to be secure.

Section 11 relates to any person charged with an offence, so there are the groups of rights that pertain to everyone and every person.

Then there is another group of rights in the Charter, especially section 3, that specifically mentions citizens. In other words, to have those rights you have to be a citizen.

In section 3, every citizen of Canada has the right to vote in an election of members of the House of Commons. Or section 6, the mobility rights; every citizen of Canada has the right to enter, remain in and leave Canada. Those two sets of rights are intertwined in our legislation.

Canada signed the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, section 15 of which states quite clearly that anyone is entitled to a nationality. In other words, once you are born on a land, on a territory, you immediately enjoy the protection of that state. This is a very old concept. It's a concept that dates back to the Romans.

Anyone who has learned the antiquity history of Greece or Italy will remember that you could be a citizen of Sparta or Athens or Rome, but those who were not within the precincts of those cities could not enjoy the rights that were granted to those citizens.

There have been two classes almost since time immemorial, and the Charter, in a way, recognized that there are two sets of rights; but I am puzzled in relation to this bill. I was born in Canada and my ancestors came to Canada in 1659, almost at the same time as Senator Eaton's. I could be stripped of my citizenship if I took arms against Canada or I had — let me state what the bill says — membership in an armed force against Canada, or I was a spy or was convicted of treason.

Well, in my humble opinion, if my citizenship could be revoked, it should be revoked under limits that are reasonable in a free and democratic society, section 1. If we affect section 6 of the Charter — that is, "Every citizen of Canada has the right to enter, remain in and leave Canada" — then Parliament can legislate but only with the limits provided in section 1, which is subject to "such reasonable limits prescribed by law as can be demonstrably justified in a free and democratic society."

So if that limit exists in relation to citizenship, it will be viewed by the court according to the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, section 15, plus the Convention on the Reduction of Statelessness of 1961 because Canada is part of those two conventions.

In other words, I'm not convinced of this approach. I have not studied it in depth, and I apologize for that, honourable senators, but again, if this approach is right, it means that I can lose my Charter rights as protected by the Constitution of Canada without the full protection of due process. I draw the attention of my colleague Senator Baker to what section 12 of the Charter says. It's easy; I'll read it: "Everyone has the right not to be subjected to any cruel and unusual treatment or punishment."

There would be no doubt that seeing my citizenship revoked could be seen as unusual and cruel punishment. If I am subjected to that, I have the full protection of the other sections of the Charter in terms of due process. So if it is due process, it's certainly not what the Honourable Senator Eggleton has been describing to us in terms of what is natural justice and what somebody can expect, like me as a Canadian citizen, to enjoy under the Constitution if I do something wrong, like taking arms against Canada. If I take arms against Canada, I expect that my process and my punishment, which could be at the end, in theory, revocation of my citizenship, will be done fully in accordance with the spirit and the letter of the Charter.

Honourable senators, I draw your attention to this because I tried to understand the conceptual framework of this bill and how we can reconcile the substance of the bill with the fundamental principles that are enshrined in the Charter and in the Constitution and the international obligations that Canada subscribes to.

I put my notes together listening carefully to Senator Eaton and Senator Eggleton, but I hope that the committee will have an opportunity to look into those issues further because certainly someone somewhere will raise those issues and it will find its way into court. I think in this chamber, the chamber of sober second thought, it is expected that those issues should be canvassed and aired and a proper interpretation found so that the bill meets the test of the court on the basis of the principles that are enshrined in the law of the land.

Hon. Jane Cordy: Senator Joyal, would you be willing to take a question?

Senator Joyal: Yes, if I have enough time.

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: Yes.

Senator Cordy: Thank you very much. It's always so helpful to have a constitutional expert in our midst because you certainly are able to zero in. You said you didn't know the bill very well, but you've certainly been able to zero in quickly on what I believe are the main concerns and issues with the bill. Those would be the intent to reside aspect of it and revoking citizenship, about which you spoke at great length and very knowledgably; and with respect to the rights of Canadian citizens and that we shouldn't have two classes of Canadian citizens.

First, I don't believe that we should be revoking Canadian citizenship, and I don't believe that we should have two classes of citizens, and that's what this bill will give us, two classes of citizens.

You talked about the definition of a terrorist and being charged, and I have great faith in the justice system of Canada, but I'm greatly concerned about the justice system in some other countries around the world. We know the case of Nelson Mandela. He was considered by many of us to be a freedom fighter, but in his country he was considered to be a terrorist, and he was jailed. We have given Nelson Mandela honorary Canadian citizenship, so we could, I guess, say that he has dual citizenship. Somebody like Nelson Mandela, who was found guilty in his country, although we felt he was a freedom fighter, could in fact have his citizenship revoked because he was found guilty in his country.

I'm wondering if you find it difficult to believe that these decisions could be made based on what would happen in another country. First of all, I think that if you're a Canadian citizen, you're a Canadian citizen, you're a Canadian citizen, and if you break Canadian laws, then you should face consequences as any Canadian citizen, be put in jail or whatever the consequences happen to be, but I'm concerned that we will be basing some of these judgments on what happens in other countries.

Senator Joyal: Very quickly, Your Honour, I think the honourable senator has raised the fundamental elements in relation to the criminal justice system. As a Canadian citizen, if I take up arms or spy against my country, I would face, as we say in French, the rigueur of the law, the weight of the law, because it's a criminal act, and it's well spelled out in the Criminal Code. I have no quarrel at all that if I do that I will have to face the court system, the justice system, and I could be punished. But if I'm punished, I want to be punished within the framework of the Criminal Code with the protection of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms and with my right of full defence and on the representation of sentences under section 12, unusual or cruel punishment. That's what I expect as an individual, that as a citizen I will be protected. That is why I strongly believe in the Constitution of Canada, because the Constitution of Canada is the guardian of my rights, whatever I do, legal or illegal. That's the nature of the system. That's why we believe in the rule of law. That's where we are protected.

When I see that a punishment as dear as the revocation of citizenship is done through a process that is not managed within the confines of the Constitution of Canada but through an administrative process of the minister, I feel that there is something there that hurts the rationale of the system the way we have devised it in the Constitution in relation to criminal justice.

In my opinion, to revoke citizenship because somebody has spied, or has committed treason, or has — again that wording — participated in the membership of an armed force against the country, if those are crimes, they have to be sanctioned as crimes. It is not the minister or a minister who, through his own administrative needs, could come to those conclusions and decide to impose a sanction on a Canadian citizen. To me, there's something wrong there. There is something that hurts the principles of the system.

That's why, as I say again, I confess that I might not have gone through the understanding of the bill. Again, I hope the committee will do that once it receives this mandate from the house. Those principles are so fundamental that before we do that, we should really be satisfied that this is in sync with what we expect the Constitution means.

Senator Eaton: Senator Joyal, I'm not the constitutional expert you are. I understood from the bill that if I'm a dual citizen — let's say I'm Canadian and American — and I'm caught spying against Canada or using arms against the Canadian Army, then I would be tried in a Canadian court, found guilty and sentenced, and it is only then that the minister would consider a revocation of my Canadian citizenship, which would now make me an American. That is obvious, if I'm going to spy against my country, Canada, or take up arms against it and I am a dual citizen. Do you have a problem if the person is tried in a Canadian court?

[Translation]

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: Senator Joyal, before you answer the question, would you like to ask for five more minutes?

[English]

Senator Joyal: Yes. On the contrary, I think the whole process should take place in court. If the minister wants to go to court and represent that the ultimate sanction should be the revocation of citizenship, this is for the court to hear. This is for the judge or the sentencing judge, if you want. As my colleague Senator Baker would explain, it is for the sentencing judge to be seized with that request or intervention from the Minister of Immigration and seek revocation of citizenship as punishment because I would have been found guilty if I had dual citizenship. I have been listening carefully, and this is only in the context of dual citizenship, but there could be a lot of discussion about valid dual citizenship; however, I close the parentheses.

It's only in those cases where I feel that the procedure of revocation of citizenship should take place, and not in an administrative context. As you properly said, the full court system of Canada has the steps for sentencing and for being found guilty of one of the crimes that you mentioned in your presentation.

That's where I feel the bill might be defective because, when the judge comes to the conclusion that I should be revoked of my citizenship, I will defend myself under section 12 of the Charter and then it will be for the court to decide whether this is cruel and unusual punishment in the overall context of the case.

I'm not against the principle of revoking citizenship. I understand it could happen in an ultimate case, but there are many parameters before we arrive there and those parameters have to be checked by the court. Canada has international obligations, as I mentioned, and in those cases, the Supreme Court of Canada — I could quote at least three cases where before deciding on extradition, they looked into what the obligations of Canada are in relation to that third country. You may know some of the details of those cases.

That's why I feel that it is much more proper to live within that legal court system than the administrative court system when you're imposing, as I said, the ultimate sanction, which is in fact equivalent to the medieval sanction of exile. What we would be doing is, in fact, exiling somebody. As I mentioned, this is a penalty that disappeared from the books a long time ago.

I am concerned about this, and you are right to say that the court system is the best wall against administrative discretion when you implement the toughest penalty on someone, which is, as I say, equivalent to exile.

[Translation]

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

C-24, Loi modifiant la Loi sur la citoyenneté et d'autres lois en conséquence - Deuxième lecture

 

Son Honneur le Président intérimaire : Nous poursuivons le débat. Le sénateur Joyal a la parole.

L'honorable Serge Joyal : Merci, monsieur le Président.

J'aimerais remercier la sénatrice Eaton de sa présentation sur le projet de loi et le sénateur Eggleton de l'analyse qu'il a faite de cette mesure législative.

Je n'ai pas participé à l'étude préalable du projet de loi. Toutefois, j'ai écouté attentivement les deux interventions. J'ai une appréhension conceptuelle de la façon dont le droit de révoquer la citoyenneté est encadré dans le projet de loi.

La Charte des droits et libertés définit deux ensembles de droits. Je vais attirer l'attention du sénateur Baker sur ce point. Il s'agit des droits qui appartiennent à tous, à chaque personne.

Par exemple, la Charte dit que chacun a les libertés fondamentales suivantes : liberté de conscience et de religion; liberté de pensée et liberté d'association. La Charte renferme aussi d'autres droits tels que le droit à la vie et à la sécurité de la personne. Chacun a droit à la vie et à la protection.

L'article 11 porte sur tout inculpé. Ce sont là les groupes de droits qui s'appliquent à chaque personne.

Par ailleurs, la Charte renferme un autre groupe de droit, notamment à l'article 3, qui s'applique expressément aux citoyens. Autrement dit, il faut être un citoyen canadien pour jouir de ces droits.

L'article 3 dit que tout citoyen canadien a le droit de vote aux élections fédérales. L'article 6 porte sur la liberté de circulation et d'établissement. Il dit que tout citoyen canadien a le droit de demeurer au Canada, d'y entrer ou d'en sortir. Ces deux ensembles de droits sont étroitement liés dans nos lois.

Le Canada est un signataire de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme, dont l'article 15 stipule clairement que tout individu a droit à une nationalité. Autrement dit, une fois que vous êtes né dans un territoire, vous jouissez immédiatement de la protection de cet État. C'est un concept très ancien qui date de l'époque des Romains.

Quiconque a étudié l'histoire gréco-romaine se souviendra qu'on pouvait être citoyen de Sparte, d'Athènes ou de Rome, mais que ceux qui ne vivaient pas à l'intérieur des murs de ces villes ne pouvaient pas jouir des droits conférés à leurs citoyens.

De temps immémorial, il y a toujours eu deux classes de citoyens. D'une certaine façon, la Charte reconnaît l'existence de deux ensembles de droits. Toutefois, ce projet de loi me laisse perplexe. Je suis né au Canada. Mes ancêtres sont arrivés au Canada en 1659, presque en même temps que ceux de la sénatrice Eaton. Je pourrais être privé de ma citoyenneté si je prenais les armes contre le Canada ou si j'étais — comme on le dit dans le projet de loi — membre d'une force armée d'un pays engagé dans un conflit armé avec le Canada, ou encore si j'étais espion ou si j'étais condamné pour trahison.

À mon humble avis, si ma citoyenneté peut être révoquée, elle devrait l'être dans des limites qui soient raisonnables et dont la justification puisse se démontrer dans le cadre d'une société libre et démocratique, comme le prévoit l'article 1er. Si nous touchons à l'article 6 de la Charte — selon lequel « tout citoyen canadien a le droit de demeurer au Canada, d'y entrer ou d'en sortir » —, le Parlement peut légiférer, mais seulement dans les limites prévues à l'article 1er, c'est-à-dire « dans des limites qui soient raisonnables et dont la justification puisse se démontrer dans le cadre d'une société libre et démocratique ».

Par conséquent, si ces limites existent dans le contexte de la citoyenneté, elles seront évaluées par un tribunal en fonction de l'article 15 de la Déclaration universelle des droits des droits de l'homme et de la Convention de 1961 sur la réduction des cas d'apatridie, dont le Canada est signataire.

Autrement dit, cette approche ne me convainc pas. Je n'ai pas fait une étude approfondie du projet de loi, et je m'en excuse, honorables sénateurs. Toutefois, si cette approche est bonne, elle signifie que je peux perdre mes droits en vertu de la Charte, qui sont garantis par la Constitution du Canada, et ce, sans bénéficier de la pleine protection de l'application régulière de la loi. J'attire l'attention de mon collègue, le sénateur Baker, sur l'article 12 de la Charte, selon lequel : « Chacun a droit à la protection contre tous traitements ou peines cruels et inusités. »

Il n'y a pas de doute que la révocation de ma citoyenneté peut être considérée comme une peine cruelle et inusitée. Si j'y suis soumis, je profite de la pleine protection de toutes les autres dispositions de la Charte touchant l'application régulière de la loi. Par conséquent, s'il s'agit d'application régulière de la loi, ce qui n'est certainement pas ce que l'honorable sénateur Eggleton nous a décrit en parlant de justice naturelle et de ce peut attendre, en vertu de la Constitution, quelqu'un qui, comme moi, à titre de citoyen canadien, commettrait un acte illégal tel que prendre les armes contre le Canada. Si je le faisais, je m'attendrais à ce que ma punition, qui pourrait en définitive consister en la révocation de ma citoyenneté, serait prononcée en conformité avec l'esprit et la lettre de la Charte.

Honorables sénateurs, j'attire votre attention sur cet aspect parce que j'ai essayé de comprendre le cadre conceptuel du projet de loi et la façon dont nous pourrions concilier la substance de cette mesure législative avec les principes fondamentaux inscrits dans la Charte, dans la Constitution et dans les traités internationaux dont le Canada est signataire.

J'ai pris des notes en écoutant attentivement la sénatrice Eaton et le sénateur Eggleton, mais j'espère que le comité aura l'occasion de mieux examiner ces questions parce qu'il est évident que quelqu'un, quelque part, les soulèvera et s'adressera aux tribunaux. Je crois que, en cette Chambre de second examen objectif, nous devrions étudier ces questions et leur trouver une interprétation adéquate pour que le projet de loi puisse résister à des contestations judiciaires fondées sur les principes inscrits dans notre Constitution.

L'honorable Jane Cordy : Sénateur Joyal, acceptez-vous de répondre à une question?

Le sénateur Joyal : Oui, s'il me reste assez de temps.

Son Honneur le Président intérimaire : Oui.

 La sénatrice Cordy : Merci beaucoup. Il est toujours tellement utile d'avoir un constitutionnaliste parmi nous parce qu'il n'y a pas de doute que vous avez réussi à mettre le doigt sur le problème. Vous dites que vous ne connaissez pas très bien le projet de loi, mais vous avez certainement pu reconnaître rapidement les grandes préoccupations et difficultés qu'il peut susciter. Il y a la question de l'intention de résider au Canada, la révocation de la citoyenneté — dont vous avez parlé abondamment et de manière très compétente —, ainsi que les droits de citoyenneté et le fait qu'il ne devrait pas y avoir deux classes de citoyens.

Premièrement, je ne crois pas qu'on devrait pouvoir révoquer la citoyenneté canadienne et je ne pense pas que nous devrions avoir deux classes de citoyens. C'est pourtant ce que ce projet de loi nous donnera : deux classes de citoyens.

Vous avez parlé de la définition d'un terroriste et de la possibilité d'être accusé. Je fais confiance au système de justice canadien, mais je m'inquiète beaucoup du système de justice de certains autres pays du monde. Nous connaissons l'affaire Nelson Mandela. Beaucoup d'entre nous le voient comme un combattant pour la liberté, mais, dans son pays, il était considéré comme un terroriste et avait été jeté en prison. Nous avions accordé à Nelson Mandela la citoyenneté honoraire du Canada, de sorte qu'il avait, je suppose, une double citoyenneté. Quelqu'un comme Nelson Mandela, qui avait été jugé coupable dans son pays, même si nous avions l'impression qu'il était un combattant pour la liberté, aurait pu se voir priver de sa citoyenneté.

Je me demande si vous trouvez difficile de croire que ces décisions peuvent être prises en fonction de choses qui se sont produites dans un autre pays. Tout d'abord, je pense que si vous êtes citoyen canadien, vous l'êtes pour la vie et que, si vous violez les lois du Canada, vous devriez en subir les conséquences comme tout citoyen canadien en allant en prison ou en subissant toute autre peine au Canada. Toutefois, je suis inquiète de voir que nous porterons un jugement sur des gens sur la base de ce qui s'est passé dans d'autres pays.

Le sénateur Joyal : Je vais répondre très rapidement, Votre Honneur. Je crois que la sénatrice a mis en évidence les éléments fondamentaux concernant le système de justice pénale. Comme citoyen canadien, si je prenais les armes ou si j'espionnais mon pays, je devrais être soumis à la pleine rigueur de la loi parce que je me serais rendu coupable d'un acte criminel sanctionné par le Code criminel. Je ne conteste absolument pas le fait que je doive me soumettre au système de justice pénale et être puni si j'ai commis un tel acte. Si je suis puni, cependant, je veux l'être conformément au Code criminel et avec la protection de la Charte des droits et libertés. Je veux avoir droit à une pleine défense et, en vertu de l'article 12, être protégé contre une peine cruelle et inusitée. Voilà ce que j'attends comme individu et comme citoyen. Voilà pourquoi je crois si fort à la Constitution du Canada, car cette Constitution est la gardienne de mes droits, quoi que je fasse de légal ou d'illégal. C'est la nature de notre système. C'est pour cela que je crois à la primauté du droit. C'est ainsi que nous sommes protégés.

Quand je vois qu'une punition aussi sévère que la révocation de la citoyenneté peut être infligée dans le cadre d'un processus qui est géré non dans les limites de la Constitution du Canada, mais dans le cadre d'un processus administratif relevant du ministre, je trouve qu'il y a là quelque chose qui va à l'encontre des principes du système que nous avons établi dans la Constitution à l'égard de la justice pénale.

À mon avis, si on veut révoquer la citoyenneté d'une personne coupable d'espionnage, de trahison ou d'avoir — toujours ce libellé — servi en tant que membre d'une force armée dans un conflit avec le Canada, ces crimes, s'ils sont reconnus comme tels, doivent être sanctionnés. Pourtant, ce n'est pas un ministre qui peut, compte tenu de ses besoins administratifs, en venir à une telle conclusion et décider d'imposer une sanction à un citoyen canadien. Il y a quelque chose qui cloche ici. Il y a quelque chose qui heurte les principes du système.

Comme je l'ai dit, c'est ce qui me fait dire que je n'ai pas bien compris la nature du projet de loi. J'espère que le comité va étudier attentivement cette mesure lorsqu'il recevra le mandat de le faire. Ces principes sont tellement fondamentaux qu'avant de nous lancer dans un tel exercice, nous devrions vraiment être convaincus que le projet de loi respecte la Constitution.

La sénatrice Eaton : Sénateur Joyal, je ne suis pas une constitutionnaliste comme vous. En lisant le projet de loi, j'ai compris que si j'ai la double citoyenneté — supposons que je suis Canadienne et Américaine — et que je me fais prendre en train d'espionner contre le Canada, ou d'utiliser des armes contre l'armée canadienne, je vais subir un procès devant un tribunal canadien, être éventuellement reconnue coupable et me voir imposer une peine. C'est uniquement à ce moment-là que le ministre peut envisager la révocation de ma citoyenneté canadienne. Je deviendrais alors une citoyenne américaine. Cela est évident si j'espionne contre le Canada ou si je prends les armes contre mon pays et que j'ai la double citoyenneté. Si la personne subit son procès devant un tribunal canadien, cela vous pose-t-il quand même un problème?

[Français]

Son Honneur le Président intérimaire : Sénateur Joyal, avant que vous répondiez à la question, demandez-vous cinq minutes de plus?

[Traduction]

Le sénateur Joyal : Oui. Au contraire, je pense que tout le processus devrait se dérouler devant un tribunal. Si le ministre veut aller en cour et faire valoir que la sanction ultime devrait être la révocation de la citoyenneté, la cour doit entendre les motifs invoqués. C'est le juge qui doit rendre une décision. Comme le sénateur Baker le dirait, c'est le juge qui doit être saisi de la demande ou de l'intervention du ministre de l'Immigration et imposer la révocation de la citoyenneté à titre de punition parce qu'un verdict de culpabilité a été rendu et que la personne a la double citoyenneté. J'ai écouté attentivement et ce processus s'applique uniquement dans le contexte de la double citoyenneté, mais on pourrait discuter longuement de la validité de la double citoyenneté. Toutefois, je vais fermer la parenthèse ici.

C'est uniquement dans ces situations que, selon moi, la révocation de la citoyenneté peut se faire. Elle ne doit pas se faire dans le cadre d'un processus administratif. Comme vous l'avez dit à juste titre, le système judiciaire canadien dispose des outils nécessaires pour imposer des peines et établir des verdicts de culpabilité relativement aux crimes auxquels vous avez fait allusion dans votre exposé.

C'est à cet égard que, selon moi, le projet de loi est peut-être déficient, parce que, lorsque le juge en viendra à la conclusion que je devrais perdre ma citoyenneté, je vais me défendre en vertu de l'article 12 de la Charte. Ensuite, la cour décidera si cette peine est un châtiment cruel et inusité dans le contexte de l'affaire.

Je ne suis pas contre la révocation de la citoyenneté comme principe. Je suis conscient que cette mesure peut être prise dans un cas extrême. Toutefois, un grand nombre de paramètres doivent être examinés par le tribunal avant d'en arriver là. Comme je l'ai dit, le Canada a des obligations internationales. La Cour suprême du Canada intervient dans ces cas et je pourrais citer au moins trois causes où, avant d'ordonner l'extradition d'une personne, elle a examiné les obligations du Canada relativement au pays tiers. Vous connaissez peut-être des détails de ces causes.

C'est pour cela que pense qu'il est beaucoup plus approprié d'être soumis à un système judiciaire plutôt qu'à un système administratif quand il s'agit de l'imposition, comme je l'ai dit, de la sanction ultime, qui est en fait l'équivalent de l'exil à l'époque médiévale. En réalité, nous condamnerions quelqu'un à l'exil. Comme je l'ai mentionné, c'est une peine qui a disparu il y a très longtemps.

Cela me préoccupe, et vous avez raison de dire que le système judiciaire est la meilleure protection qui soit contre le pouvoir discrétionnaire de l'administration lorsqu'on impose la sanction la plus sévère qui soit à quelqu'un, à savoir — comme je le dis — l'équivalent de l'exil.

[Français]

Son Honneur le Président intérimaire : Je voulais savoir si vous aviez une autre question.

La sénatrice Eaton : Merci, c'est terminé.