This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Motion to Resolve into Committee of the Whole to Hear Representatives of Aboriginal Community Adopted

 

Hon. Serge Joyal, pursuant to notice of February 3, 2009, moved:

That, at 3 o'clock p.m. on Thursday, June 11, 2009, the Senate resolve itself into a Committee of the Whole in order to hear from the National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations, the National Chief of the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples, the President of the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, and the President of the Metis National Council, for the purpose of reporting on progress made on commitments endorsed by parliamentarians of both Chambers during the year following the Government's apology to former students of Indian Residential Schools.

He said: Honourable senators will remember that on June 11, 2008, this house was privileged to host the representatives of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada on the day that formal apologies were presented on behalf of the Government of Canada by the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, and we had an opportunity to listen to the testimony of the Aboriginal leaders.

At the conclusion of that hearing, we asked if they would receive favourably an invitation to appear in a year and testify again on the progress made during that year on the repair of the damages, the compensation and all the initiatives that had to be taken with respect to the damages that the Aboriginal people of Canada endured in the 100 years that the residential school system lasted. Many of those leaders expressed their concern and accepted the opportunity to come forward to testify.

This motion is an invitation extended to them. The Senate Chamber is at its brightest time when we are in Committee of the Whole because there is a free flow of questions on both sides. It is always well managed. We can even consider being televised. It is not part of the motion, but perhaps the leaders on both sides can discuss that possibility at a later date.

It speaks to the Senate's concern about ensuring that the Aboriginal leaders have the capacity to report on the progress and that we have an opportunity to question them to see where additional help can be provided to them.

That is essentially the scope of the motion. It will be done as usual and on a non-partisan basis. Senators benefit from the presence within our walls of seven learned Aboriginal senators who have had responsibility in the past to their people and who are in the best position to question and to help us to understand where we are in terms of repairing the damage inflicted, and to determine the scope that we want to have in the future.

The Hon. the Speaker: Is there continuing debate?

Hon. Gerald J. Comeau (Deputy Leader of the Government): I agree with the points raised by my honourable colleague. I especially appreciated the comment regarding the value of using the Committee of the Whole. I have been a longstanding promoter of that practice because we do not use it enough. The Committee of the Whole has great potential.

I have no problem whatsoever in supporting the honourable senator's motion. I will take him up on the concept of televising the proceedings. We will discuss it with the other side, obviously, to see if it can be arranged.

I recall last year's appearance before this chamber of these learned Aboriginal leaders and the wonderful job they did. They were able to give us and the Canadian public a great deal of information.

I look forward to that session, and, therefore, I endorse the motion.

The Hon. the Speaker: Is it your pleasure, honourable senators, to adopt the motion?

(Motion agreed to.)

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

MOTION TENDANT À AUTORISER LE SÉNAT À SE RÉUNIR EN COMITÉ PLÉNIER POUR ENTENDRE LES REPRÉSENTANTS DE LA COMMUNAUTÉ AUTOCHTONE -

 

L'honorable Serge Joyal, conformément à l'avis du 3 février 2009, propose :

Que le jeudi 11 juin 2009 à 15 heures, le Sénat se réunisse en comité plénier pour entendre le chef national de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, le chef national du Congrès des peuples autochtones, le président d'Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, et le président du Ralliement national des Métis, qui feront rapport des progrès faits relativement aux engagements pris par les parlementaires des deux Chambres au cours de l'année ayant suivi les excuses présentées par le gouvernement aux anciens élèves des pensionnats autochtones.

— Les honorables sénateurs se souviendront que, le 11 juin 2008, le Sénat a eu le privilège d'accueillir les représentants des peuples autochtones du Canada le jour où le premier ministre Stephen Harper, au nom du gouvernement du Canada, leur a présenté des excuses officielles, et nous avons eu l'occasion d'écouter les témoignages des chefs autochtones.

À la fin de cette audience, nous leur avons demandé s'ils accepteraient de venir témoigner de nouveau dans un an sur les progrès réalisés au cours de cette année relativement au redressement des torts, à l'indemnisation et à toutes les initiatives qui devaient être prises concernant les torts causés au Autochtones du Canada pendant les 100 années d'existence du système des pensionnats indiens. Bon nombre de ces chefs autochtones nous ont fait part de leur inquiétude et ont accepté de venir témoigner.

Cette motion est une invitation à leur intention. Le Sénat excelle lorsqu'il se réunit en comité plénier, parce que les questions sont échangées librement des deux côtés. Ces séances sont toujours bien gérées. Nous pourrions même envisager la possibilité de télédiffuser ces débats. Il n'en est pas question dans la motion, mais les leaders des deux côtés pourraient en discuter à une date ultérieure.

Par cette motion, le Sénat souhaite s'assurer que les chefs autochtones soient en mesure de faire état des progrès réalisés et que nous ayions la possibilité de leur poser des questions pour déterminer où de l'aide supplémentaire pourrait leur être apportée.

Voilà essentiellement la portée de la motion. Nous procéderons de la même façon que d'ordinaire et de manière non partisane. Les sénateurs peuvent compter sur la présence, dans cette enceinte, de sept éminents collègues autochtones qui, par le passé, ont assumé des responsabilités à l'égard de leur peuple et qui sont les mieux placés pour poser des questions et nous aider à comprendre les progrès réalisés en vue de réparer les torts infligés et pour déterminer la portée de notre action future.

Son Honneur le Président : Poursuivons-nous le débat?

L'honorable Gerald J. Comeau (leader adjoint du gouvernement) : Je souscris aux points soulevés par mon collègue. J'ai tout particulièrement apprécié son commentaire sur l'utilité du comité plénier. Je suis depuis longtemps un partisan de cette mesure, que nous n'utilisons pas assez souvent. Le comité plénier présente de grandes possibilités.

Je n'hésite pas à appuyer la motion du sénateur. Je donnerai suite à son idée de téléviser les délibérations. Nous en discuterons évidemment avec l'autre endroit pour voir si cela peut être fait.

Je me souviens de la comparution devant le Sénat de ces éminents chefs autochtones, l'an dernier, et du remarquable travail qu'ils y avaient fait. Ils nous avaient communiqué, à nous et à la population canadienne, une grande quantité d'information.

Je me réjouis d'avance de la tenue de cette séance et, par conséquent, j'appuie la motion.

Son Honneur le Président : Vous plaît-il, honorables sénateurs, d'adopter la motion?

(La motion est adoptée.)