This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Bill S-3 to amend the National Defence Act, the Criminal Code, the Sex Offender Information Registration Act and the Criminal Records Act -Second Reading

Hon. Serge Joyal:

At the time, we heard about a statement by then Conservative critic Gordon O'Connor, who is now Minister of National Defence. I quickly reread the bill before us today. If there is no objection, I would like to repeat the statements made by the critic at the time. This is an article from the National Post dated October 11, 2005, when the Senate was considering the previous bill.

[English]

But Conservative defence critic Gordon O'Connor said offenders convicted of all but the most minor sexual offences should be ejected from the ranks as a matter of course. "Military people who are found guilty of this...are out, and I don't care if it's war or peace," argued the retired brigadier-general who spent 32 years in the Canadian Forces.

Mr. O'Connor does not accept the rationale that the professional skills or expertise of some sex offenders might be so indispensable that they should be retained.

"I can tell you right now there isn't a skill in the entire armed forces that is that key that we have to have sex offenders," he said. "Nobody is that valuable. The military is set up so that...everyone can be replaced in every operation."

[Translation]

Does this bill include provisions to the effect that, depending on the seriousness of an offence that he or she confesses to or is found guilty of, a member can be ejected from the ranks immediately — to borrow the expression used by the Minister of Defence when he was opposition critic for the issue of sexual offences in the army?

[…]

 Senator Joyal

[English]

Suspension of time limits, Proceedings and obligations

[Translation]

That is the title. One of our concerns was as follows: the clause specifically states that it is at the sole discretion of the chief of the defence staff to decide whether or not a member of the military convicted of a serious sexual offence will be included in the registry. There was not, in Bill S-39, what we currently call civilian oversight. In other words, the matter remains within the army. Because we are dealing with serious criminal offences, common law offences, when the then minister, his representatives, legal counsel and the chief of the defence staff appeared before us, we specifically questioned this shortcoming. In our opinion — at least in my opinion — when the chief of the defence staff suspends the application of the Criminal Code, the minister responsible should be informed and there must be a means of striking some balance with a decision that may be taken for important strategic reasons. The bill stipulates the circumstances under which the suspension may be made, regardless of what the minister at the time believed. Beyond this particular situation, there is not a balance between civilian control and the prerogative accorded to the chief of the defence staff to suspend the application of the Criminal Code. We considered the possibility of amending the bill in order to re-establish the authority of the minister over that of the chief of the defence staff so that, one way or another, the public would know that there is some sort of system, as you said yourself, an extraordinary one outside of common law.

Did the honourable senator consider the possibility that the Senate could amend this bill to address the concerns we had last fall about this provision?

[…]

 Senator Joyal:

(1530)

This is intended to ensure Parliament retains control over exemptions to the common law and, specifically, to the provisions of the Criminal Code, which are so essential to the law and order of a society. Would the honourable senator be prepared to consider that this manner of making the decision more public would not give the greater guarantees sought with this bill?

[…] 

Senator Joyal:

I agree with this aspect. I do not share the view of the minister, when he was critic, that an individual convicted of a sexual offence should be automatically ejected from the army. I am satisfied with the response of the honourable senator. Nevertheless, the information can be made public. It should be noted that it can have a dissuasive effect on other personnel as well, even if the name and the circumstances do not need to appear making it impossible to find out who within the military was convicted of a sexual offence and thus put operational security at risk.

Honourable senators, I simply want to draw to the attention of the honourable senator the fact that, when the committee examined the bill, in a November 21, 2005, document it had before it the decisions of court martials from 2001 to 2004 involving sexual offences. In the documentation given us, we had detailed information on sentencing in sexual offences in court martials: date, rank, offence and details of the offence. It is possible to have public information. This document was public. It was given to us by the Office of the Judge Advocate General at National Defence Headquarters. It was not a document in plain brown wrapping the committee considered, but a public one. Accordingly, there is a way to make the information public without creating a security risk. Honourable senators, on the issue of notifying the minister, one of the recommendations we were considering at the time — obviously, the committee had to stop its work — was to formally list cases where determinations of the type referred to in clause 227.15 were made in the annual report of the Minister of National Defence, so that Parliament would know that an exemption from the Criminal Code had been granted and not only the minister but Parliament would be notified of the determination that had been made.: My second question is as follows: When we studied the bill last fall — and as I have mentioned several times, the committee held more than six sessions on the predecessor to this bill — one of the most important questions concerned former clause 203.14 of Bill S-39, which is now clause 227.15. On page 14 of Bill S-3, it is clause 227.15 at the top of the page 14. Honourable senators, I would like to ask the Honourable Senator Nolin a question. Along with several colleagues, I participated in six meetings of the Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs, which studied the previous Bill S-39, the forerunner of the bill we are considering today.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Projet de loi S-3: Loi modifiant la Loi sur la défense nationale, le Code criminel, la Loi sur l'enregistrement de renseignements sur les délinquants sexuels et la Loi sur le casier judiciaire -Deuxième Lecture


L'honorable Serge Joyal :

À l'époque, nous avions pris connaissance d'une déclaration du critique conservateur de l'époque, M. Gordon O'Connor, qui est l'actuel ministre de la Défense nationale, et je relisais rapidement le projet de loi dont nous sommes saisis aujourd'hui. Je voudrais rapporter les propos du critique de l'époque, si vous me le permettez. C'est un article du National Post du 11 octobre 2005, à l'époque où le Sénat était saisi du projet de loi précédent.

[Traduction]

Or, le porte-parole du Parti conservateur en matière de défense, Gordon O'Connor, a dit que les délinquants reconnus coupables de n'importe quelle infraction sexuelle, sauf les plus mineures, devraient automatiquement être expulsés des forces. « Les militaires qui sont reconnus coupables de telles infractions seront foutus à la porte, peu importe que nous soyons en temps de guerre ou de paix », a déclaré le brigadier général à la retraite, qui a passé 32 ans au sein des Forces canadiennes.

M. O'Connor n'accepte pas l'idée que les compétences professionnelles ou l'expérience de certains délinquants sexuels soient si indispensables qu'ils ne puissent être expulsés.

« Je peux vous dire qu'il n'existe aucun talent qui soit assez indispensable aux Forces canadiennes pour que nous devions employer des délinquants sexuels », a dit M. O'Connor. « Personne n'est à ce point indispensable. Les forces armées sont conçues de manière à ce que chacun de ses membres puisse être remplacé dans chaque opération. »

[Français]

Est-ce qu'il y a, dans le projet de loi, des dispositions selon lesquelles, selon la gravité de l'offense dont un militaire se serait reconnu coupable ou aurait été reconnu coupable, il soit immédiatement éjecté de l'armée — pour utiliser l'expression du ministre de la Défense à l'époque où il était critique de l'opposition sur cette question des offenses sexuelles dans l'armée?

[…]

 Le sénateur Joyal :

[Traduction]

Suspension de délais, d'instances et d'obligations

[Français]

C'est le titre. L'une des préoccupations que nous avions était la suivante : l'article dit très bien que le chef d'état-major a la discrétion absolue de décider lui-même si un militaire qui a été reconnu coupable d'une offense sexuelle grave verra son nom dans le registre ou non. Il n'y avait pas, dans le projet de loi S-39, ce qu'on appelle en termes courants « civilian oversight ». En d'autres mots, l'affaire reste à l'interne dans l'armée. Comme il s'agit d'offenses criminelles graves, d'offenses de droit commun, nous avons, lorsque le ministre à l'époque, ses représentants, ses conseillers juridiques et le chef d'état-major avaient comparu devant nous, soulevé clairement la question de cette faiblesse, à notre avis — à tout le moins à mon avis personnel —, que lorsque le chef de l'état-major suspend l'application du Code pénal, l'autorité supérieure de l'armée doit être informée et qu'on doit avoir le moyen d'exercer un équilibre entre la décision qui peut être prise pour des raisons stratégiques importantes. Le projet de loi exprime les circonstances à l'intérieur desquelles la suspension peut être accordée, indépendamment de ce que pensait le ministre à l'époque. Au-delà de cette situation, il reste qu'il n'y a pas d'équilibre entre le contrôle civil et la prérogative donnée au chef d'état-major de suspendre l'application du Code pénal. Nous avions considéré la possibilité d'amender le projet de loi de façon à ce que l'on rétablisse l'autorité du ministre sur celle du chef d'état-major afin que, d'une manière ou d'une autre, le public soit informé qu'il y a eu un système, comme vous l'avez dit vous-même, extraordinaire, exorbitant du droit commun.

Est-ce que l'honorable sénateur a considéré la possibilité que le Sénat puisse amender ce projet de loi pour faire place aux préoccupations que nous avions l'automne dernier vis-à-vis cette disposition du projet de loi?

[…]

 Le sénateur Joyal :

(1530)

Cela permettrait d'assurer que le Parlement garde le contrôle sur les dérogations aux droits communs et, en particulier, aux dispositions du Code criminel qui sont si importantes pour l'ordre et la sécurité d'une société. L'honorable sénateur pourrait-il considérer que cette façon d'ajouter à la publicisation de la décision ne donnerait pas les plus grandes garanties que l'on cherche à obtenir dans ce projet de loi?

[…]

 Le sénateur Joyal :

Je suis d'accord avec cet aspect. Je ne partage pas le point de vue du ministre de l'époque, selon lequel on devait automatiquement exclure de l'armée un militaire qui s'était rendu coupable d'une offense de nature sexuelle. Je suis satisfait de la réponse de l'honorable sénateur. Il n'en demeure pas moins que l'information peut être rendue publique. Cela peut aussi avoir un effet dissuasif sur les autres militaires, il faut bien le reconnaître, même si le nom et les circonstances n'apparaissent pas, pour qu'on ne puisse pas retracer qui, à l'intérieur de l'armée, s'est rendu coupable d'une infraction de façon à ne pas mettre en danger la sécurité des opérations.

Honorables sénateurs, je veux simplement rappeler à l'honorable sénateur que lorsque le comité a étudié le projet de loi, dans un document du 21 novembre 2005, il a été saisi des décisions des cours martiales de 2001 à 2004, qui avaient adjugé sur des offenses à caractère sexuel. Dans la documentation qui nous a été donnée, nous avions dans le détail des informations concernant les condamnations à des infractions de nature sexuelle en cour martiale, la date, le rang, l'infraction et les détails de l'infraction. Il y a une possibilité d'avoir une information publique. Ce document est public, il nous a été donné par le bureau du cabinet du juge-avocat général du quartier général de la Défense nationale. Ce n'est pas un document dans une enveloppe brune, c'est un document public que les membres du comité avaient étudié. Par conséquent, il y a une façon de pouvoir rendre l'information publique sans mettre en cause la sécurité. Honorables sénateurs, sur cette question de la notification du ministre, l'une des recommandations que nous considérions à l'époque — évidemment, le comité a dû cesser ses activités —, était d'inclure dans le rapport annuel du ministre de la Défense nationale, de façon formelle, les cas où les décisions auraient été prises dans le sens contenu à l'article 227.15, de sorte que le Parlement soit informé qu'une dérogation au Code criminel a été accordée et que le ministre en a été non seulement notifié mais que le Parlement est également avisé de la décision qui a été prise.Ma deuxième question est la suivante : lorsque nous avons étudié le projet de loi, l'automne dernier — et comme je l'ai mentionné à plusieurs reprises, le comité a tenu plus de six séances de travail sur l'ancêtre de ce projet de loi —, l'une des questions les plus importantes avait trait à l'ancien article 203.15 du projet de loi S-39 — qui est l'actuel article 227.15, à la page 14 du projet de loi. À la page 14 du projet de loi S-3, c'est l'article 227.15, en haut de la page. Honorables sénateurs, j'aimerais poser une question à l'honorable sénateur Nolin. J'ai participé, avec plusieurs de nos collègues, aux six réunions du Comité permanent des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles qui a étudié le précédent projet de loi S-39, l'ancêtre du projet de loi dont nous sommes saisis aujourd'hui.