This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Comments on the Nomination of Joyal to the Senate by Hon. John Lynch-Staunton, Leader of the Opposition - Senate Debates


Hon. John Lynch-Staunton (Leader of the Opposition): Honourable senators, it is always a pleasure to welcome a new colleague, even though I would prefer he be elsewhere than opposite me. And when one of the two new senators is a long-time acquaintance, the task is all the easier and more pleasant.

Senator Joyal's reputation was established primarily through his many political activities as a member of the other House. He is particularly perceptive, a talent that left no one indifferent, to say the least.

In addition, he is actively involved in cultural events. I know whereof I speak, because he got a member of my family involved in a project dear to his heart and one that succeeded due in large measure to his determination and tenacity, qualities that will serve him well in this house.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Commentaires sur la nomination de Joyal au sénat par Hon. John Lynch-Staunton, leader de l'opposition - Débats du sénat


L'honorable John Lynch-Staunton (leader de l'opposition): Honorables sénateurs, souhaiter la bienvenue à un nouveau collègue est toujours un plaisir, même si je préférerais l'avoir ailleurs que devant moi. Et, lorsque l'un des deux nouveaux sénateurs est une connaissance de longue date, la tâche est d'autant plus facile et agréable.

Le sénateur Joyal s'est surtout fait connaître par ses nombreuses activités politiques alors qu'il était membre de l'autre Chambre. Il est doué d'une grande perspicacité qui, c'est le moins que l'on puisse dire, ne laissait personne indifférent.

De plus, il participe activement à de nombreuses activités sur la scène culturelle. J'en parle en toute connaissance de cause, parce qu'il a su, il y a quelques années, obtenir la participation d'un membre de ma famille à un projet qui lui était cher, projet qui a pu être mené à bonne fin, en grande partie grâce à la détermination et à la ténacité de sénateur Joyal; des qualités qui lui serviront bien en cette enceinte.