This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Metis in Canada - Statement


Hon. Serge Joyal: Honourable senators, last Friday, September 19, will remain a landmark day in the history of Aboriginal peoples of Canada. The Supreme Court, in a unanimous decision of nine judges, recognized that the Metis people are a distinct Aboriginal nation with the constitutional right to hunt for food.

For the first time, 21 years after the proclamation of the new Constitution in 1982, the 250 Metis communities that exist in Ontario, the Prairies, British Columbia and the Northwest Territories, representing approximately 300,000 Metis, were recognized as being on par with the other Aboriginal people. In other words, there is no hierarchy of Aboriginal rights. Native Indian people, Metis people, and Inuit people stand together at par.

While the judgment recognized specifically the Metis constitutional hunting rights for food near Sault Ste. Marie, the unanimous court decision does not impose any limits on future rights Metis can claim, be it on lands, natural resources or self- government.

This is a major breakthrough that will change Canadian history. Indeed, the court established three criteria to define who has the right to claim to be recognized as a Metis.

[Translation]

Relegated so long to historical limbo, and seen as neither wholly Aboriginal nor wholly European in ancestry, the Metis were in a way the pariahs of our founding peoples.

Rejected by both groups, and condemned to cultural anonymity, their rebellion against the government in the 19th century, under Louis Riel, in order to obtain recognition of their right to land on which to live and to hunt, could not be resolved by an appeal to ancestral rights or by sheer force.

[English]

Today, Metis people, those descendents of mixed blood — Indians and French explorers or Scottish fur traders or others — are full, distinctive, rights-bearing people. Their integral practices are entitled to constitutional protection. When we included the Metis in 1982 in the Constitution as a distinctive Aboriginal people, we were looking to set the framework for bringing back to them their identity and pride and the opportunity to play a significant role in the diverse Canadian society.

Let us hail Mr. Steve Powley, a Metis from Sault Ste. Marie, who fought in court for 10 years for the rights of his people against the Governments of Canada, Ontario, Quebec, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia, and Newfoundland and Labrador. All these governments intervened in the Supreme Court case to deny the Metis their full constitutional protection, even though section 35 of the Constitution gave them full recognition as Aboriginal people.

This decision opens a new chapter in Canadian history — a positive one — that should be characterized, let us hope, by negotiation in good faith, resolution of legitimate claims and the full exercise by the federal government of its fiduciary role of the constitutional rights of the Metis in Canada.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Déclaration au Sénat sur les Métis


L'honorable Serge Joyal: Honorables sénateurs, le vendredi 19 septembre dernier a marqué une date importante dans l'histoire des peuples autochtones au Canada. Dans un jugement unanime, les neuf juges de la Cour suprême ont reconnu que le peuple métis était une nation autochtone distincte à qui la Constitution reconnaît le droit de chasser pour se nourrir.

Pour la première fois, 21 ans après la proclamation de la nouvelle Constitution en 1982, les 250 communautés métisses de l'Ontario, des Prairies, de la Colombie-Britannique et des Territoires du Nord- Ouest, qui comptent environ 300 000 personnes, ont été reconnues comme un peuple autochtone à part entière. Autrement dit, il n'existe pas de hiérarchie dans les droits autochtones. Les Indiens, les Métis et les Inuits sont tous sur un pied d'égalité.

Bien que le jugement reconnaisse expressément aux Métis le droit, garanti par la Constitution, de pratiquer la chasse pour se nourrir près de Sault Ste. Marie, la décision unanime du tribunal n'impose aucune restriction aux droits que les Métis pourront revendiquer dans l'avenir à l'égard des terres et des ressources naturelles ou en matière d'autonomie politique.

Cette percée majeure vient de changer l'histoire canadienne. En effet, la cour a établi trois critères pour définir qui a le droit de réclamer le statut de Métis.

[Français]

Longtemps relégués dans les limbes de l'histoire, vu comme ni tout à fait Autochtones, ni tout à fait de descendance européenne, les Métis étaient en quelque sorte les parias des peuples fondateurs.

Repoussés par les uns et les autres, condamnés à l'anonymat culturel, leur rébellion contre le gouvernement au 19e siècle, conduite par Louis Riel, pour se voir reconnaître des terres où s'établir et chasser, ne semblait trouver racine ni dans des droits ancestraux ni dans la puissance du vainqueur.

[Traduction]

Aujourd'hui, les Métis, descendants des Indiens, des explorateurs français, des négociants écossais de fourrures ou d'autres possèdent à part entière un statut distinct et les droits qui s'y rattachent. Les pratiques qui leur sont propres sont protégées par la Constitution. En reconnaissant les Métis comme un peuple autochtone distinct dans la Constitution, en 1982, nous avons mis en place le cadre qui allait leur permettre de retrouver leur identité, leur fierté et la possibilité de jouer un rôle important dans la société canadienne diversifiée.

Saluons M. Steve Powley, un Métis de Sault Ste. Marie, qui a livré pendant dix ans une bataille judiciaire contre les gouvernements du Canada, de l'Ontario, du Québec, du Manitoba, de la Saskatchewan, de l'Alberta, de la Colombie-Britannique et de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador, pour faire reconnaître les droits de son peuple. Tous ces gouvernements ont nié aux Métis, devant la Cour suprême, le droit à une protection intégrale de la Constitution, en dépit du fait que l'article 35 de la Constitution les reconnaît pleinement comme un peuple autochtone.

Ce jugement ouvre un nouveau chapitre de l'histoire canadienne, un chapitre positif qui devrait être caractérisé, du moins espérons-le, par la négociation de bonne foi, le règlement des revendications légitimes et le plein exercice, par le gouvernement fédéral, de son rôle de fiduciaire à l'égard des droits constitutionnels des Métis du Canada.