This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Charter 20th anniversary

Senator Joyal: Honourable senators, 20 years ago today, Canada became a sovereign country. Twenty years ago today, Canada became a country whose basic tenet would be to recognize and guarantee the same measure of freedom for every individual, regardless of origin, race, language, differences. But this new sovereignty would first serve individuals. The winners of this initiative 20 years ago would be Canadians themselves. The birth of a new Canada would fundamentally alter the kind of society that we were going to be called upon to build in the future. This peaceful and humanist revolution did not come about by chance.

(1600)

It came about, I recall, following the Quebec referendum of May 20, 1980, and the initiative taken by Prime Minister Trudeau to patriate the Canadian Constitution, enshrining a Charter of Rights and Freedoms in it.

Canadians were right. Twenty years later, the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms has become the founding document of modern-day Canada. So much so that we wonder how we could live without the protection of rights and freedoms that are guaranteed in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. What would be of the recognition of Aboriginal peoples, the Metis in particular, if they did not have the protection of their treaty and ancestral rights granted under section 45? What would be of the equality of men and women today, were it not for the guarantee contained in section 28? And what would be the situation of the rights of anglophone and francophone minorities to live and grow in their own language, and to run their own schools? Yes, honourable senators, Canadians were right. They saw in the Charter the essential element of what it means to be Canadian. The Charter has made a difference in Canada. There is a direct link between the effectiveness of this Charter and the responsibility of the highest courts in the land to ensure that it is respected and that wrongs be righted in cases where the Charter has been violated.

Take the bold ruling by the Supreme Court in the case regarding official languages in Manitoba, a ruling that invalidated all Manitoba statutes since 1890. Canadians were right. Because of the fact that the courts have the ultimate power and responsibility to ensure that their rights are respected effectively, Canadians value the Charter and recognize its real value.

Quebecers, as much as other Canadians, have come to see the Charter and the courts as their best defence against the excesses of politicians, who are always influenced by the majority view at any given time.

[English]

The Charter, as was said earlier, is a living tree. That expression was taken from the judgment of Justice Dickson in one of the first cases interpreting the Charter, the Hunter v. Southam case in Manitoba. Justice Dickson restated essentially that which Viscount Sankey had said in 1929, when he interpreted the famous Persons Case.

What did Viscount Sankey say? He said:

The British North America Act planted in Canada a living tree capable of growth and expansion within its natural limits.

Those are the same words used by Justice Dickson in 1985, in one of the first Charter cases in Manitoba. Senator Stratton certainly remembers the famous case of Hunter vs. Southam. Justice Dickson said that our Charter is a living tree. Being a living tree, it is capable of growth and expansion within its natural limit. In other words, the Charter is essentially the expression of our own rights that live and grow in a country that fundamentally allows a culture of rights.

We as Canadians are just at the beginning of a human adventure that is unique because it is based on the respect of the dignity of every person, not because that person is a Canadian citizen. This differentiates us fundamentally from the American Bill of Rights that has been quoted here. Americans are protected because they are American, because they belong to a country. Canadians are protected not because they belong to a country but because they are human beings.

Honourable senators, this is a very fundamental difference between our two countries. That is why we are described as being a humanist society in Canada. Over and above any political distinction of nationality, our first recognition are the rights and freedoms of a person. This is the living tree that Justice Dickson described in 1985.

Honourable senators will understand that when many of us start thinking and reflecting upon the Charter and the patriation adventure, many memorable souvenirs are brought back in our memory. I remember very well Senator Arthur Tremblay and the late Senator Maurice Lamontagne, who along with Senator Austin sat for more than 300 hours for a total number of 106 meetings, always under television spotlights, listening to more than 314 witnesses. Among them were premiers of four provinces and the two territories and an array of representatives of Canadians coming from all over the country. The most compelling witnesses were representatives of the Aboriginal people of Canada.

Honourable senators, it was the first time in Canadian history that Aboriginal people were present as witnesses in front of the Canadian Parliament. It was the first time that we had received representatives of the Inuit people and from the Indian treaty groups.

For the first time, we received representatives of Indian people who had never been recognized in Canada — the Metis people. They had not been recognized as Indian or as descendants of Indo-European people either. They fell in between, into a kind ofno man's land with no rights. Today, we have among us a representative of the Metis people. We would never think that the Metis people should not be considered as full participants in thegreat adventure of defining Aboriginal rights.

We received a representative of the National Action Committee on the Status Of Women, coming to plead to get the recognition that, as Senator Beaudoin said, is one of the best in the world for the recognition of the status of the equality of women.

Honourable senators, we spent 300 hours in meetings almost cloistered like Trappists in a monastery. We came out of that marathon session with 58 amendments to the original draft of the Charter, including amendments recognizing the treaty rights of the Aboriginal people and the Metis, and the equality of status of men and women over and above everything in our country. The amendments recognized fundamentally all those minorities that had been excluded in our history.

The Jewish people who had been barred from immigrating to Canada during the last world war were recognized. The descendants of the 20,000 Japanese people — 75 per cent of whom were born in Canada — who were interned in the concentration camps during the last world war, were recognized.

Those Canadians came to tell us that if we were thinking of establishing the basis of a more respectable society for rights and freedoms, think of those who have been left aside during the course of our centennial history.

(1610)

When we reflect upon that initiative, it is a living adventure for which we do not see the boundaries. The Quebec government of the day did not sign the patriation package, as we called it at the time. There is not a single Quebecer or single Canadian who does not have to question himself or herself about the outcome of that. It was not because the patriation package was devised against the province and singularly against Quebec. In fact, the package,
20 years ago, contained many provisions to address specific concerns expressed by Quebecers.

The provisions of the Constitution provided that if there were to be any constitutional amendment to education and culture — that, of course, being of specific interest to Quebec — the Quebec government would be financially compensated.

There was recognition of the full control of the provinces over natural resources. If there is a province where natural resources and, singularly, energy is of paramount importance, it is in Quebec.

There was in the same package the recognition that three Quebec judges would be appointed to the Supreme Court of Canada and would be entrenched forever, without the capacity for a federal government to amend the Supreme Court Act. The package gave to Quebec a veto on the three judges of the Supreme Court.

There was in the same package recognition of linguistic rights and the Canada clause — that is, the right of a person who has been educated in English in Canada to be educated in English and in French and the privilege given to the Quebec government to expand, when it so wishes, to other groups at the moment that the Quebec society feels secure enough to move in that direction.

There were provisions in the package to constitutionally entrench the equalization payments, the obligation that the federal government has to pay the provinces, those who do not have a comparable level of resources, to match the richest province. Certainly Quebec profited from that. Indeed,
48.5 per cent of the equalization payments are given to the Quebec government, which represented more than $5 billion last year. Many provisions in the original package were devised to address specifically the Quebec government's concerns.

History tells us that for political reasons the Quebec government and, very legitimately, some members of the National Assembly and some members of the Liberal Party of Quebec thought that the package should not have proceeded. It is always the same problem: You are damned if you do and damned if you do not.

Honourable senators, there must be a starting point whereby the legitimate request of the Quebec government, which is to maintain its capacity to protect the language and to protect the specific need that the province has in maintaining its identity, should be addressed.

Honourable senators, this is what is left on the drafting table.

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: Honourable Senator Joyal, I am sorry to interrupt, but your time has elapsed.

Is leave granted?

Hon. Senators: Agreed.

Senator Joyal: Thank you, honourable senators. I will be brief.

The second challenge deals with judicial activism, which seems to be a buzzword today. When there is a decision that is not liked by a majority of public opinion, it is seen as judicial activism. I think that politicians in Canada have a responsibility. When a decision of the court specifically raises an issue that is not popular among the majority, the government must seek redress of that wrongdoing.

Some provincial governmentsadopt remedial legislation, but they like to title the legislation "An Act to Amend Certain Statutes" as a result of the Supreme Court of Canada decision in M. v. H. In other words, governments shift the responsibility of unpopular decisions to the realm of the Supreme Court. There are situations that have to be addressed by politicians, and there is the fact that we seem still to wrestle with constitutional reform in Canada. Since we are in a position of not addressing, on a constitutional basis, the rights of the Aboriginal people, it is the court that defines, through various groups of cases, one case after the other, what is meant by self-government.

The fact is that we seem unable to assume our responsibility, to give way to the growth, to the living tree that is the Charter. In the case of the Aboriginal people, that responsibility has been left to the courts. Then, when the courts define the right, we say, "Well, that is judicial activism." I feel that judicial activism is our own responsibility when we study legislation. Honourable senators know very well that for every piece of legislation that comes in front of this house, which is the house responsible for the federal principle and for balancing minority and linguistic rights, we have a special duty to test that legislation to the scale of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms and to the scale of other rights included in the other instruments that have been mentioned during our debate today. This is one of the other challenges that we will have to address on a daily basis, especially on this day, when we celebrate the full sovereignty of Canada and the rights and freedoms of each and every Canadian.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Aniversaire de la Charte

Le sénateur Joyal: Honorables sénateurs, il y a 20 ans aujourd'hui, le Canada devenait un pays souverain. Il y a 20 ans aujourd'hui, le Canada devenait un pays dont l'assise fondamentale allait être la reconnaissance et la garantie d'une même mesure de droits et de libertés à toute personne, quelles que soient son origine, sa race, sa langue, ses différences. Mais cette souveraineté nouvelle allait d'abord s'exercer au bénéfice des individus. Les gagnants de l'initiative il y a 20 ans, ce devait être les Canadiens et les Canadiennes eux-mêmes. Cet acte de naissance d'un nouveau Canada allait modifier fondamentalement le genre de société que nous allions être appelés à construire à l'avenir. Cette révolution pacifique et humaniste n'était pas le fruit du hasard.

(1600)

Elle était survenue, je le rappelle, à la suite du référendum du 20 mai 1980 au Québec et de l'initiative prise par le premier ministre Trudeau de rapatrier la Constitution canadienne en y enchâssant une Charte des droits et libertés.

Les Canadiens ne s'y sont pas trompés. Vingt ans plus tard, la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés est devenue le document fondateur du Canada moderne. À telle enseigne qu'aujourd'hui, on se demande comment on pourrait vivre sans la protection des droits et des liberté qui nous est garantie dans la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. Où en serait la reconnaissance des droits des peuples autochtones, des Métis en particulier, s'ils ne disposaient pas de la protection que l'article 45 a donnée à leurs traités et à leurs droits ancestraux? Où en serait l'égalité du statut des hommes et des femmes d'aujourd'hui sans la garantie contenue à l'article 28? Et où en seraient les droits des minorités anglophones et francophones à vivre et à se développer dans leur langue et à gérer leurs propres écoles? Oui, honorables sénateurs, les Canadiens ne s'y sont pas trompés. Ils ont vu dans la Charte l'élément essentiel de leur qualité de Canadiens. La Charte est ce qui fait la différence au Canada. L'efficacité de cette Charte est indissociable de la responsabilité des plus hauts tribunaux du pays d'en assurer le respect et d'ordonner réparation lorsque violation en a été constatée.

Qu'on pense à la décision audacieuse de la Cour suprême dans l'affaire du statut des langues officielles au Manitoba, décision qui a invalidé toute la législation manitobaine depuis 1890. Les Canadiens y ont vu juste. C'est parce que les tribunaux ont le pouvoir et la responsabilité ultimes d'assurer le respect efficace de leurs droits qu'ils donnent et reconnaissent à la Charte une valeur réelle.

Les Québécois, tout autant que les autres, ont vu dans la Charte et les tribunaux le véritable rempart contre les excès des pouvoirs politiques toujours plus influencés par l'opinion publique majoritaire du jour.

[Traduction]

Comme quelqu'un l'a déjà dit, la Charte est un arbre vivant. Cette expression a été tirée du jugement rendu par le juge Dickson dans l'une des premières causes d'interprétation de la Charte, soit l'affaire Hunter c. Southam au Manitoba. Le juge Dickson a essentiellement repris ce que le vicomte Sankey avait dit en 1929 au moment où il avait interprété la fameuse affaire «personne».

Qu'avait dit le vicomte Sankey à ce moment-là? Il avait affirmé que:

L'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique a planté au Canada un arbre vivant capable de grandir et de s'épanouir dans ses limites naturelles.

Ce sont les mots qu'a utilisés le juge Dickson en 1985 dans l'une des premières causes basées sur la Charte au Manitoba. Le sénateur Stratton se souvient certainement de l'affaire Hunter c. Southam. Le juge Dickson a dit que notre Charte était un arbre vivant. Étant un arbre vivant, elle est capable de grandir et de s'épanouir dans ses limites naturelles. Autrement dit, la Charte constitue essentiellement l'expression de nos propres droits qui vivent et grandissent dans un pays qui permet fondamentalement une culture des droits.

À titre de Canadiens, nous n'en sommes qu'au début de cette aventure humaine qui est unique en ce sens qu'elle est basée sur le respect de la dignité individuelle et non parce que nous sommes citoyens canadiens. C'est là une grande différence par rapport à la Déclaration américaine des droits dont on a parlé précédemment. Les Américains jouissent d'une certaine protection du fait même d'être Américains, parce qu'ils appartiennent à un pays. Les Canadiens quant à eux jouissent d'une protection non pas parce qu'ils sont Canadiens, mais plutôt parce qu'ils sont des êtres humains.

Honorables sénateurs, c'est là une importante différence entre nos deux pays. C'est pourquoi on dit que la société canadienne est humaniste. Indépendamment de toute distinction politique de nationalité, notre premier souci est la reconnaissance des droits et libertés de la personne humaine. C'est l'arbre vivant dont le juge Dickson parlait en 1985.

Les honorables sénateurs comprendront que, lorsque beaucoup d'entre nous nous mettons à réfléchir à la Charte et à l'aventure du rapatriement de la Constitution, beaucoup de souvenir mémorables nous reviennent à la mémoire. Je me rappelle très bien le sénateur Arthur Tremblay et le regretté sénateur Maurice Lamontagne qui, avec le sénateur Austin, ont siégé plus de 300 heures au cours d'un total de 106 séances, toujours sous le feu des projecteurs de télévision, pour écouter plus de 314 témoins. Parmi eux, il y avait les premiers ministres de quatre provinces et des deux territoires et une grande diversité de représentants des Canadiens venus de tous les coins du pays. Les témoins les plus fascinants étaient les représentants des autochtones du Canada.

Honorables sénateurs, c'était la première fois de l'histoire du Canada que des autochtones se présentaient comme témoins devant le Parlement canadien. C'était la première fois que nous recevions des représentants des Inuits et des groupes d'Indiens assujettis à un traité.

Pour la première fois, nous avons reçu des représentants d'Indiens qui n'avaient jamais été reconnus au Canada — les Métis. Ils n'avaient pas été reconnus en tant qu'Indiens ni en tant que descendants d'Indo-Européens non plus. Ils étaient dans un vide, sans aucun droit. Aujourd'hui, nous avons parmi nous un représentant des Métis. Jamais nous ne penserions que les Métis ne devraient pas être considérés comme des participants à part entière à la grande aventure de la définition des droits des autochtones.

Une représentante du Comité canadien d'action sur le statut de la femme était venue plaider pour que nous admettions que, comme le sénateur Beaudoin l'a signalé, notre pays était l'un des meilleurs au monde en ce qui concerne la reconnaissance du statut égal des femmes.

Honorables sénateurs, nous avons consacré 300 heures à des réunions, presque cloîtrés comme des moines trappistes dans un monastère. Nous sommes sortis de cette session marathon avec 58 amendements à la version initiale de la Charte, y compris ceux qui reconnaissaient que les droits issus de traités des peuples autochtones et des Métis ainsi que le statut égal des hommes et des femmes primaient au Canada. Au fond, ces amendements reconnaissaient que toutes ces minorités avaient été exclues de notre histoire.

Le peuple juif, qui ne pouvait demander à immigrer au Canada au cours de la dernière guerre mondiale, a été reconnu. Les descendants des 20 000 Japonais, dont 75 p. 100 étaient nés au Canada, qui ont été internés dans des camps de concentration au cours de la dernière guerre mondiale ont été reconnus.

Ces Canadiens sont venus nous dire que si nous songions à jeter les bases d'une société qui respecte davantage les droits et les libertés, nous devions penser à ceux qui avaient été mis de côté au long de nos cent ans d'existence.

(1610)

En réfléchissant à cette initiative, on se rend compte qu'il s'agit d'une aventure qui se poursuit et à laquelle nous ne voyons aucune limite. Le gouvernement québécois de l'époque n'a pas signé le texte de rapatriement de la Constitution, comme nous disons alors. Tous les Québécois, tous les Canadiens doivent s'interroger sur les conséquences de cette mesure. Le rapatriement ne s'est pas fait contre les provinces, ni contre le Québec en particulier. En réalité, les mesures prévues il y a 20 ans contenaient de nombreuses dispositions répondant aux préoccupations exprimées par les Québécois.

Les dispositions de la Constitution prévoyaient que, en cas de modification de la Constitution dans les domaines de l'éducation et de la culture, ce qui intéresse plus particulièrement le Québec, le gouvernement québécois recevrait une pleine indemnisation financière.

On a reconnu la compétence exclusive des provinces sur les ressources naturelles. Or, s'il est une province où les ressources naturelles, en particulier l'énergie, sont importantes, c'est bien le Québec.

Les propositions constitutionnelles reconnaissaient et garantissaient aussi pour toujours la présence, à la Cour suprême du Canada, de trois juges du Québec; le gouvernement fédéral ne pourrait jamais modifier la loi à cet égard. Les propositions donnaient au Québec un droit de veto concernant ses trois juges à la Cour suprême.

Les propositions traitaient aussi des droits linguistiques et de la clause Canada, c'est-à-dire le droit pour une personne qui a étudié en anglais au Canada de s'instruire en anglais et en français et le privilège du gouvernement du Québec d'en étendre l'application à d'autres groupes lorsque la société québécoise se sentirait assez en sécurité pour le faire.

Les propositions garantissaient la constitutionnalisation des paiements de péréquation, c'est-à-dire l'obligation, pour le gouvernement fédéral, de verser des paiements aux provinces moins nanties pour porter leurs ressources au même niveau que celles des provinces riches. Le Québec en a bénéficié. En effet, 48,5 p. 100 de ces paiements vont au gouvernement québécois, ce qui représentait plus de 5 milliards de dollars l'an dernier. De nombreuses dispositions prévues au départ étaient conçues expressément pour répondre aux préoccupations du gouvernement québécois.

L'histoire nous apprend que, pour des raisons historiques, le gouvernement du Québec et, fort légitimement, certains députés de l'Assemblée nationale et des membres du Parti libéral du Québec étaient d'avis que cela n'aurait jamais dû se faire. C'est toujours le même problème: quoi qu'on fasse, on a toujours tort.

Honorables sénateurs, il doit être possible de donner satisfaction à la demande légitime du gouvernement du Québec concernant le maintien de sa capacité de protéger la langue française et le caractère particulier du Québec.

Honorables sénateurs, c'est ce qui reste sur la table.

Son Honneur le Président pro tempore: Sénateur Joyal, je regrette de vous interrompre, mais votre temps de parole est écoulé.

La permission est-elle accordée?

Des voix: D'accord.

Le sénateur Joyal: Merci, honorables sénateurs. Je serai bref.

Le deuxième défi concerne l'activisme judiciaire qui semble être une expression à la mode. Quand une décision de la Cour déplaît à la majorité, elle est considérée comme une manifestation de l'activisme judiciaire. Je pense que les politiques ont une responsabilité au Canada. Quand une décision judiciaire soulève une question qui n'est pas populaire au sein de la majorité, le gouvernement devrait tenter d'y remédier.

Certains gouvernements provinciaux adoptent des lois réparatrices, mais aiment donner à ces lois un titre comme «Loi modifiant d'autres lois», en raison de la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada dans l'affaire M. c. H. Autrement dit, les gouvernements refilent à la Cour suprême la responsabilité de décisions impopulaires. Les politiciens devront se pencher sur cette question, et il y a aussi le fait que l'on semble toujours aux prises avec le problème de la réforme constitutionnelle au Canada. Comme nous pouvons, au plan constitutionnel, choisir de ne pas régler la question des droits des autochtones, ce sont les tribunaux qui établissent, d'une cause à l'autre, ce qu'on entend par autonomie gouvernementale.

Nous semblons incapables d'assumer nos responsabilités, de favoriser la croissance de cet arbre vivant qu'est la Charte. En ce qui a trait aux autochtones, nous avons laissé les tribunaux assumer ces responsabilités à notre place. Mais lorsque les tribunaux définissent les droits de chacun, on dit qu'ils se livrent à de l'activisme judiciaire. J'estime que l'activisme judiciaire est notre propre responsabilité lorsque nous étudions un projet de loi. Les honorables sénateurs savent bien que nous devons examiner chaque projet de loi soumis à cette Chambre, qui a la responsabilité bien particulière d'appliquer le principe fédéral et d'équilibrer les droits linguistiques et ceux des minorités, en fonction de la Charte des droits et libertés et des autres droits inclus dans les autres instruments dont il a été question dans le débat d'aujourd'hui. C'est là un des autres défis que nous devrons relever quotidiennement, particulièrement en ce jour où nous célébrons l'accession du Canada à sa pleine souveraineté et les droits et libertés dont jouit chaque Canadien.

[Français]