This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Aboriginal Languages of Canada Bill - Second Reading—Debate Adjourned

Hon. Serge Joyal moved second reading of Bill S-237, An Act for the advancement of the aboriginal languages of Canada and to recognize and respect aboriginal language rights.

He said: Honourable senators, I would like to remind you that this bill is entitled an Act for the advancement of the Aboriginal languages of Canada and to recognize and respect Aboriginal language rights.

The first thing I did before introducing this bill in the chamber was to send the proposed draft to our Aboriginal senators. Many have replied to me in writing expressing their comments in support of the bill; others have done so orally, also expressing their support and comments on the bill.

I also took the initiative of sending the draft bill to the representatives of First Nations, the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, the Métis National Council, the Mohawk council, the secretariat of the Inuit of Labrador and Quebec, and other Aboriginal groups that have a professional interest in Aboriginal languages. I took that initiative before a non-Aboriginal senator took the initiative to table such a bill.

I must inform honourable senators that the above-mentioned groups have all expressed their support in principle of this bill, would like to see it debated and eventually adopted by Parliament.

Before I move on with the substance of the bill, I should like to remind honourable senators that this bill calls on us to reflect upon the history of our country. The first barrier the European settlers encountered when they landed in Canada in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries was the language barrier. The settlers spoke French or English and they had to learn how to communicate with the Aboriginal people. They did not enter the country as conquerors; they entered the country as settlers. They did not want to impose their presence with the strength of arms; they wanted to negotiate their settlement. That is what Jacques Cartier did when he landed in Gaspé. That is what Champlain did when he landed in Acadia. They did not go to those locations with thousands of armed soldiers; they came to Canada in good faith to try to settle the land. Soon, the language barrier became the first obstacle to their purpose. What did they have to do? The Aboriginal people were much too proud to try to learn the newcomers' language and the settlers had to learn the Aboriginal languages in order to communicate with them. They did not teach the Aboriginal people English or French.

(1540)

The reverse at that time was the rule. The missionaries were best equipped to learn Aboriginal languages.

The first grammar dictionary was composed — my colleague Senator Nolin will remember that dictionary from his early days in school — by Father Jean de Brébeuf. He was the first person to draft the dictionary and grammar in Huron. The Huron were tribes occupying the site of Quebec with the Algonquin. The Minister of Colonies in France soon complained that the Aboriginal people were not learning French but rather it was the other way around with the French learning Aboriginal languages. The Aboriginal people were in the dominant position of controlling the natural resources that the French settlers wanted to exploit. The settlers were, in a way, at the mercy of the Aboriginal peoples to learn their languages. That relationship lasted for more than two centuries.

The Aboriginal people were so much in control that in 1700, when the French government wanted to sign peace treaties with all the Aboriginal groups in Canada at that time, the governor of Montreal sent five missionaries, five Jesuits — each one of them was fluent in one of the Aboriginal languages, be it Iroquois, Abénakis, Algonquin or Huron — as interpreters and diplomats because they were able to speak the languages of those nations.

When they all convened in Montreal, in August 1701, they all spoke Aboriginal languages. None of the negotiations took place in French. Everything took place in Aboriginal languages. When they signed the treaty, they did not sign their names in French. They signed their names with the pictogram that was the identification mark of the tribes: the mouse, the wolf, the squirrel, the moose, the bear and the wild rabbit. If honourable senators look at the old treaties, it is not their name that appears but rather a design, a drawing of all those signs. It is clear that for 200 years, the only way to conduct business in Canada, to buy fur from the Indian nations of Western Canada and Upper Lakes Canada, was to speak their language.

It is only when the economy of Canada turned at the beginning of the nineteenth century, when the fur trade collapsed and wood became the main resource of Canada, that the balance changed because the wood had to be cut, The settlers, not the Aboriginal people, were cutting and exploiting the wood.

In other words, when the Canadians of the nineteenth century did not need to deal with the Aboriginal peoples to profit from the land, from the natural resources, they stopped learning Aboriginal languages and the balance tipped, so much so that an act was adopted in 1857 by the Legislative Assembly of the United Provinces of Canada. As honourable senators will remember, in the middle of the nineteenth century, the provinces of Ontario and Quebec were united into one Parliament. It was called the Parliament of the United Provinces of Canada. In June 1857, they adopted an act to try to assimilate the Aboriginal people and thus have them lose or forget their languages.

The title of that act is: "An Act to Encourage the Gradual Civilization of the Indian Tribes in this Province, and to Amend the Laws Respecting Indians." Remember this was in 1857. The first "whereas" of the bill states the following:

whereas, it is desirable to encourage the progress of Civilization among, the Indian Tribes in this Province, and the gradual removal of all legal distinctions between them and Her Majesty's other Canadian Subjects. . .

Later in the bill, honourable senators, a commissioner was appointed:

. . . such Commissioners shall report in writing to the Governor that any such Indian of the male sex, and not under twenty-one years of age, is able to speak, read and write either the english or the french language readily and well, and is sufficiently advanced in the elementary branches of education and is of good moral character and free from debt, then it shall be competent to the Governor to cause notice to be given in the Official Gazette of this Province, that such Indian is enfranchised under this Act; . . . .

It was an incentive for the Indian population to abandon their original Aboriginal language and turn to French or English to benefit from the act that was adopted, that is, all the benefits of land ownership.

When Confederation was passed in 1867 and Indians became the responsibility of the federal government, there was the Indian Act. Honourable senators will remember what we learned and what we heard when we had the representatives of the Aboriginal people in this chamber two years ago following the official apology for the government policy of residential schools. At that time we learned and heard that one of the main objectives of the residential school policy was to remove the "Indianness" in the Indian. What is "Indianness:" It is language and culture.

Young Aboriginal children were taken from their families and communities, moved 100 kilometres from their home and forced to abandon their own mother tongue in the context of punishment and hardship under the new regime of learning French or English. It is stunning to read the testimony of those Aboriginal peoples of Canada from that time. Let me share information from someone who testified during the hearing related to residential schools. One student says he was forced to kneel in a corner of the classroom as punishment for having spoken Ojibway. Another student says his mouth was washed out with soap every time he spoke his language. That punishment was essentially what the policy was all about. It was deliberate government policy to eliminate the distinction of being Aboriginal. We all know — we have heard about it in this room — how moving it is to listen to how that policy is a direct cause of abandonment by the Indian people of their Aboriginal languages.

We heard one of the national chiefs mention that there were 55 Aboriginal languages in Canada, and only three survived: Inuktitut spoken by our Senator Watt, Cree and Ojibway. The other 52 are more or less extinct for the simple reason that the language is not transmitted from mother to child through the generations. Aboriginal people have lost the basic knowledge of their own language.

The Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples was established by former Prime Minister Brian Mulroney. The Erasmus-Dussault Royal commission, report in 1996 concluded with the following:

Language is one of the main instruments for transmitting culture from one generation to another. Its revitalization, according to the Commission, is the key to renewal for the First Nations, Inuit and Metis and for their culture."

Honourable senators, there is no doubt, and I am quoting Professor Leitch:

"Aboriginal languages are incontrovertibly located at the core of 'Indianness."'

(1550)

Those who speak French have mastered French and the heritage that the culture conveys from one nation to another. Those who are English speaking have mastered English and the culture that supports and makes the language thrive. Those who are Indian, who do not speak the language of their nation, cannot express their lore, their religion, their sentiments, or their convictions. Instead, they must express in the language of another, which does not relate to their deeply rooted identity.

Two years ago in this chamber, we heard Chief Phil Fontaine reply to the government apology. He said:

We are seeking fair treatment. It would be a tragedy if even one indigenous language were to disappear from here, but we are faced with 52 indigenous languages disappearing. We face a huge disaster and we need to do something to fix the situation.

Honourable senators, I am not speaking to a bill introduced out of the blue. Rather, this bill is the result of two main sources of study. The first one is the Taskforce on Aboriginal Languages and Cultures established by the federal government and reported in June 2005. The report resulting from the study is entitled Towards a New Beginning: A Foundational Report for a Strategy to Revitalize First Nation, Inuit and Metis Languages and Cultures. The report recommends:

That Canada enact legislation that recognizes, protects and promotes First Nation, Inuit and Metis languages as the First Languages of Canada. This legislation, to be developed in partnership with First Nation, Inuit and Metis peoples, must recognize the constitutional status of our languages; affirm their place as one of the foundations of First Nation, Inuit and Metis nationhood; . . .

Aboriginal peoples participated in the drafting of the report under the sponsorship of Canadian Heritage. They quote a deep-felt conviction that something must be done to give status to their languages.

Honourable senators, the First Nation prepared a draft bill that was tabled at the National First Nation Assembly meeting in Halifax in July 2007. It was entitled, the National First Nation Languages Strategy and First Nation Languages and Foundation Act. Being a bill, it would fall under the framework of the Senate's capacity to introduce bills. As honourable senators on both sides know, senators may not introduce legislation that has a financial impact. That rule might seem complex to some of our new senators, but it is easy to understand. This house cannot initiate legislation that would compel the government to spend money. Such bills may be introduced only in the other place.

Bill S-237 does not compel the government to spend money. Rather, it serves as an incentive for the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development to promote and recognize Aboriginal languages. Clause 6 of this bill makes that clear. Bill S-237 gives effect to the recognition that Aboriginal languages are part of the heritage languages of Canada. Some honourable senators who recall the debate on the Charter of Rights and Freedoms in 1981 will recognize section 22 of the Charter, which states:

Nothing in sections 16 to 20 abrogates or derogates from any legal or customary right or privilege acquired or enjoyed either before or after the coming into force of this Charter with respect to any language that is not English or French.

In plain language, it means that the Charter of Rights and Freedoms does not affect customary rights to speak languages other than French and English that might have existed before the Charter was adopted. It is quite clear that the Aboriginal languages were spoken in Canada before the European settlement and the development that ensued. They have status and are part of the heritage languages that contribute to Canada's diversity.

I commend Bill S-237 to the attention of Honourable senators. All Aboriginal senators received a copy of the bill some months ago, and many have answered in writing with comments and suggestions with support in principle. All national Aboriginal groups have received copies of the bill and would like to see it studied and debated before the proper committee in due time. As a minority Canadian francophone, I understand what it means when one cannot speak his or her own language in the context of our diverse Canadian society.

[Translation]

I truly believe that it is an extremely important aspect of Canada's nature that we recognize the status of Aboriginal languages and that, in our laws, we acknowledge the value and the importance that Canada places on the native presence, the status of Aboriginal peoples and the fact that Aboriginal languages contribute to Canadian diversity and form part of our identity.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Projet de loi sur les langues autochtones du Canada - Deuxième lecture—Ajournement du débat

L'honorable Serge Joyal propose que le projet de loi S-237, Loi visant la promotion des langues autochtones du Canada ainsi que la reconnaissance et le respect des droits linguistiques autochtones, soit lu pour la deuxième fois.

— Honorables sénateurs, je voudrais vous rappeler que ce projet de loi a pour titre : Loi visant la promotion des langues autochtones du Canada ainsi que la reconnaissance et le respect des droits linguistiques autochtones.

La première chose que j'ai faite avant de déposer ce projet de loi a été d'envoyer une ébauche à nos sénateurs autochtones. Beaucoup ont répondu par écrit pour faire des observations à l'appui de cette mesure. D'autres m'ont répondu verbalement, également pour exprimer leur appui et formuler des commentaires.

J'ai également pris l'initiative d'envoyer la première ébauche aux représentants des Premières nations, à l'Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, au Ralliement national des Métis, au Conseil des Mohawks, au secrétariat des Inuits du Labrador et du Québec et à d'autres groupes qui portent un intérêt professionnel aux langues autochtones. Je l'ai donc fait avant qu'un sénateur non autochtone ne prenne l'initiative de déposer un tel projet de loi.

Je dois informer les sénateurs que les groupes que je viens de mentionner ont tous donné leur appui de principe au projet de loi et qu'ils souhaitent tous qu'il soit débattu et finalement adopté par le Parlement.

Avant de passer à la substance du projet de loi, je voudrais rappeler aux sénateurs que cette mesure nous invite à réfléchir à l'histoire de notre pays. Le premier obstacle auquel se sont heurtés les colons européens à leur arrivée au Canada au XVIe et au XVIIe siècles a été celui de la langue. Les colons parlaient le français et l'anglais. Ils ont dû apprendre à communiquer avec les peuples autochtones. Ils ne sont pas entrés dans le pays comme des conquérants, ils y sont arrivés comme colons. Ils ne voulaient pas imposer leur présence par les armes. Ils souhaitaient négocier leur établissement. C'est ce qu'a fait Jacques Cartier à son arrivée à Gaspé. C'est ce qu'a fait Champlain lorsqu'il a débarqué en Acadie. Ils ne sont pas allés là à la tête de milliers de soldats. Ils sont venus au Canada de bonne foi pour essayer de coloniser la terre. Très tôt, la langue est devenue le principal obstacle à la réalisation de leurs vœux. Qu'ont-ils fait? Les Autochtones étaient bien trop fiers pour essayer d'apprendre la langue des nouveaux venus. Les colons ont donc dû apprendre les langues des Autochtones pour communiquer avec eux. Ils n'ont pas appris aux Autochtones l'anglais ou le français.

(1540)

Le contraire était la règle à l'époque. Les missionnaires étaient les mieux équipés pour apprendre les langues autochtones.

Le premier dictionnaire et la première grammaire sont l'œuvre du père Jean de Brébeuf. Mon collègue, le sénateur Nolin, se souviendra d'avoir vu cet ouvrage lorsqu'il était à l'école, pendant sa jeunesse. Le père Brébeuf est le premier auteur d'un dictionnaire et d'une grammaire hurons. Les Hurons formaient les tribus qui occupaient l'emplacement de Québec, de même que les Algonquins. Le ministère des Colonies, en France, a bientôt commencé à se plaindre que les Autochtones n'apprenaient pas le français, mais que c'était les Français qui apprenaient les langues autochtones. Les Autochtones occupaient une position dominante. Les ressources que les Français voulaient exploiter étaient sous leur emprise. Les colons étaient, d'une certaine manière, à la merci des peuples autochtones et devaient apprendre leur langue. Cette relation a duré plus de deux siècles.

Les Autochtones avaient tant de pouvoir qu'en 1700, lorsque le gouvernement français a voulu signer des traités de paix avec tous les groupes autochtones du Canada, le gouverneur de Montréal a envoyé cinq missionnaires, cinq jésuites, qui pouvaient chacun s'exprimer couramment dans l'une des langues autochtones, soit l'iroquois, l'abénaquis, l'algonquin ou le huron. Il les a envoyés comme interprètes et diplomates parce qu'ils étaient capables de parler les langues de ces nations.

Lorsqu'ils se sont tous réunis à Montréal, en août 1701, les négociations se sont déroulées en langue autochtone, et non en français. Les participants parlaient uniquement les langues autochtones. Lorsqu'ils ont signé le traité, ils n'ont pas signé leur nom en français. Ils ont signé leur nom avec le dessin emblématique de leur tribu : la souris, le loup, l'écureuil, l'orignal, l'ours et le lièvre. Si les sénateurs jettent un coup d'œil sur les anciens traités, ils n'y verront pas des noms, mais bien des dessins. Il est clair que, pendant 200 ans, la langue des affaires au Canada était la langue des Autochtones. C'est dans cette langue qu'on pouvait acheter des fourrures aux nations indiennes de l'Ouest canadien et de la région des lacs Supérieur et Huron.

Cet équilibre n'a changé qu'au début du XIXe siècle, lorsque l'économie du Canada s'est transformée, que le commerce de la fourrure s'est effondré et que le bois a remplacé la fourrure à titre de principale ressource du Canada. Il fallait couper le bois. C'étaient les colons, et non les Autochtones, qui coupaient et exploitaient le bois.

Autrement dit, une fois que les Canadiens du XIXe siècle n'ont plus eu besoin de traiter avec les peuples autochtones pour profiter des terres et des ressources naturelles, ils ont cessé d'apprendre les langues autochtones et l'équilibre s'est rompu, au point où une loi a été adoptée en 1857 par l'Assemblée législative des provinces unies du Canada. Les sénateurs se souviendront qu'au milieu du XIXe siècle, les provinces de l'Ontario et du Québec formaient un parlement, le Parlement des provinces unies du Canada. En juin 1857, ce parlement a adopté une loi pour tenter d'assimiler les peuples autochtones et les amener à délaisser l'usage de leurs langues.

Cette loi avait pour titre « Acte pour encourager la Civilisation graduelle des Tribus Sauvages en cette Province, et pour amender les Lois relatives aux Sauvages ». Il faut se rappeler que cela se passait en 1857. Le premier alinéa du préambule de la mesure législative est ainsi libellé :

Attendu qu'il est souhaitable d'encourager la civilisation graduelle dans les tribus sauvages de cette province, de même que la suppression graduelle de toute distinction juridique entre les Indiens et les autres citoyens canadiens de Sa Majesté...

Plus loin dans la loi, il est question de la nomination d'un commissaire :

... lorsque ces commissaires auront fait rapport par écrit au gouvernement à l'effet qu'un Indien de sexe mâle d'au moins vingt-cinq ans démontre la capacité et la volonté de parler, de lire et d'écrire dans la langue française ou anglaise, qu'il possède un minimum d'instruction, qu'il jouit d'une bonne moralité et qu'il est exempt de dettes, il relèvera de la compétence du gouverneur de produire un avis dans la Gazette officielle de cette Province à l'effet que ledit Indien est émancipé en vertu de cette Loi...

C'était là une mesure qui encourageait les Autochtones à délaisser leur langue ancestrale et à se tourner vers le français ou l'anglais pour tirer profit de la loi qui avait été adoptée, notamment de tous les avantages liés à la propriété foncière.

Lorsque la Confédération a vu le jour en 1867 et que les Indiens sont devenus la responsabilité du gouvernement fédéral, la Loi sur les Indiens a été adoptée. Les sénateurs se souviendront de ce que nous avons entendu et appris lorsque nous avons accueilli des représentants autochtones dans cette enceinte, il y a deux ans, à la suite des excuses officielles du gouvernement pour sa politique concernant les pensionnats autochtones. À l'époque, nous avons appris que l'un des principaux objectifs de cette politique était de supprimer l'indianité de l'Indien. Qu'est-ce que l'indianité? C'est la langue et la culture.

De jeunes enfants autochtones furent arrachés à leur famille et à leur collectivité, emmenés à 100 kilomètres de chez eux et forcés à abandonner l'usage de leur langue maternelle dans un cadre punitif et privatif, sous le nouveau régime d'apprentissage du français ou de l'anglais. Il est ahurissant de lire les récits des peuples autochtones du Canada de cette époque. Permettez-moi de relater ce que nous a dit un témoin lors des audiences concernant les pensionnats indiens. Un ancien élève a révélé qu'on l'avait mis en punition, à genoux, dans un coin de la classe, pour avoir parlé en ojibway. Un autre se faisait laver la bouche avec du savon chaque fois qu'il s'exprimait dans sa langue. Le châtiment était l'essence de cette politique. C'était une politique adoptée délibérément par le gouvernement afin d'éliminer la distinction que représente le fait d'être Autochtone. Nous savons tous — nous l'avons entendu en cette enceinte — combien il est émouvant d'entendre décrire comment cette politique a mené directement à l'abandon par les Indiens de leurs langues autochtones.

Nous avons entendu un des chefs nationaux mentionner que, des 55 langues autochtones qui étaient parlées au Canada, seulement trois ont survécu, soit l'inuktitut, langue de notre collègue, le sénateur Watt, le cri et l'ojibway. Les 52 autres langues sont toutes plus ou moins éteintes pour la simple raison que la langue ne s'est pas transmise de la mère aux enfants au fil des générations. Les Autochtones ont perdu jusqu'à la connaissance élémentaire de leur propre langue.

La Commission royale sur les peuples autochtones fut établie par l'ex-premier ministre Mulroney. Dans la conclusion du rapport de la Commission royale Erasmus-Dussault, en 1996, on dit ceci :

La langue est le principal véhicule de la transmission de la culture. Sa revitalisation est donc, de l'avis de la commission, la clé du rétablissement des Premières nations, des Inuits et des Métis et du renouvellement de leur culture.

Honorables sénateurs, il ne fait aucun doute —- et je cite ici Mme Leitch — que :

Les langues autochtones se trouvent indéniablement au cœur de la quiddité indienne.

(1550)

Les francophones ont maîtrisé la langue française et le patrimoine que la culture transmet d'une nation à l'autre. Les anglophones ont maîtrisé la langue anglaise ainsi que la culture qui l'appuie et lui permet de s'épanouir. Les Autochtones qui ne parlent pas la langue de leur nation ne peuvent exprimer leurs traditions, leur religion, leurs sentiments ou leurs convictions. Ils doivent plutôt emprunter la langue d'autrui, ce qui ne leur permet pas d'exprimer leur identité si profondément ancrée.

Il y a deux ans, le chef Phil Fontaine prononçait ces paroles au Sénat en réponse aux excuses présentées par le gouvernement :

Nous réclamons un traitement équitable. Il serait déjà bien tragique de voir disparaître une seule de nos langues autochtones, mais nous sommes confrontés à la disparition progressive de 52 langues autochtones. La catastrophe nous attend. Il faut absolument faire quelque chose pour redresser la situation.

Honorables sénateurs, je ne me prononce pas au sujet d'un projet de loi tombé du ciel. Ce projet de loi est plutôt le résultat de deux grandes études. La première est celle du Groupe de travail sur les langues et les cultures autochtones, créé par le gouvernement fédéral. En juin 2005, ce groupe a présenté son rapport, intitulé Le début d'un temps nouveau : Premier rapport en vue d'une stratégie de revitalisation des langues et des cultures des Premières nations, des Inuits et des Métis. Le rapport recommande notamment :

Que le Canada adopte une loi visant à reconnaître, à protéger et à promouvoir les langues des Premières nations, des Inuits et des Métis en leur qualité de premières langues du Canada. Cette loi, qui sera élaborée avec la collaboration des Premières nations, des Inuits et des Métis, doit reconnaître le statut de nos langues au sein de la Constitution, affirmer qu'elles constituent un des fondements nationaux des peuples des Premières nations, des Inuits et des Métis.

Les peuples autochtones ont participé à la rédaction de ce rapport avec l'appui de Patrimoine canadien. Ils soulignent leur conviction profonde selon laquelle il faut poser un geste pour accorder un statut à leurs langues.

Honorables sénateurs, les Premières nations ont préparé une ébauche de projet de loi qui a été présentée à la réunion nationale de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations qui s'est tenue à Halifax en juillet

2007. Cette mesure s'intitulait Stratégie nationale pour les langues des Premières Nations et Loi constituant la Fondation des langues autochtones. Comme il s'agit d'un projet de loi, il serait assujetti aux règles concernant les mesures législatives pouvant être présentées au Sénat. Comme les sénateurs des deux côtés le savent déjà, le Sénat ne peut présenter aucun projet de loi ayant une incidence financière. Cette règle semble complexe pour certains nouveaux venus au Sénat, mais elle est facile à comprendre. Le Sénat ne peut présenter un projet de loi qui forcerait le gouvernement à dépenser de l'argent. Ce genre de mesure législative peut uniquement être présenté à l'autre endroit.

Le projet de loi S-237 n'exige pas de dépenses gouvernementales. Il incite plutôt le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien à reconnaître les langues autochtones et à en faire la promotion. L'article 6 de ce projet de loi expose très clairement cet objectif. Le projet de loi S-237 reconnaît officiellement que les langues autochtones font partie du patrimoine linguistique du Canada. Certains sénateurs qui se rappellent du débat de 1981 sur la Charte des droits et libertés reconnaîtront l'article 22 de la Charte, qui dit ceci :

Les articles 16 à 20 n'ont pas pour effet de porter atteinte aux droits et privilèges, antérieurs ou postérieurs à l'entrée en vigueur de la présente charte et découlant de la loi ou de la coutume, des langues autres que le français ou l'anglais.

En termes clairs, cela veut dire que la Charte des droits et libertés ne change rien au droit coutumier de parler une langue autre que le français et l'anglais qui aurait pu exister avant l'adoption de la Charte. Il est évident que les langues autochtones étaient parlées au Canada avant l'arrivée des Européens et la colonisation qui a suivi. Ces langues ont un statut et font partie du patrimoine qui contribue à la diversité du Canada.

Je soumets le projet de loi S-237 à l'attention des sénateurs. Tous les sénateurs autochtones en ont reçu un exemplaire il y a quelques mois et plusieurs ont répondu par écrit avec des commentaires et des suggestions et pour appuyer le principe du projet de loi. De plus, tous les groupes autochtones nationaux ont reçu des exemplaires du projet de loi et ils aimeraient qu'il soit étudié et débattu par le comité compétent en temps et lieu. En tant que Canadien francophone en situation de minorité, je sais ce que cela signifie de ne pas pouvoir parler sa propre langue dans le contexte de la diversité canadienne.

[Français]

Je crois sincèrement que c'est un élément extrêmement important de la nature du Canada que nous reconnaissions le statut des langues autochtones et que, dans nos lois, nous reconnaissions la valeur et l'importance que le Canada accorde à la présence autochtone, au statut des peuples autochtones et au fait que, dans la diversité canadienne, les langues autochtones ont leur place et qu'elles font partie de notre identité.