This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Criminal Code - Bill to Amend—Third Reading

Hon. Serge Joyal: Honourable senators, I cannot resist the invitation of Senator Baker to share some reflections on one aspect of the bill that my honourable colleague Senator Wallace did not mention in his report and general comments on the bill. Section 8 of the bill amends section 244.2 of the Criminal Code and introduces additional mandatory minimum sentences of four years for the first offence and seven years for the second offence, up to a maximum of fourteen years. Senator Baker has raised the issue of what I would call inappropriateness of mandatory minimum sentences in the specific context of the use of BB guns or pellet guns.

There is no doubt in my mind that if such a case came to a court, the defence lawyer would certainly argue section 12 of the Charter, which is cruel and unusual punishment, because the judge would have no choice other than to impose the mandatory minimum four years.

I should take some time to reflect upon that concept of minimum mandatory sentencing because we will see it come back. We saw it in 1995, those of us who were on the committee, or in the other place, or observing the trends of Parliament. We saw it in 1995 when Parliament was preoccupied with that approach to criminal law.

I want to raise that because the imposition of mandatory minimum sentences seems to be an easy way to try to fight organized crime. In other words, clean the streets; put them all in prison and everyone will be happy and secure and sleep well at night. However, is the concept of mandatory minimum sentencing effective? Is it really cleaning the streets?

I was struck when the Minister of Justice appeared last week before the committee and repeated 13 times, "We have to send the right message. We have to send the right message." It was almost an incantation. You appeal for the message, and then the reality realizes itself.

I was, in a way, puzzled by that because as you know, fighting organized crime is not an easy issue. All the studies that have been made available to us, either through the Department of Justice or through the criminologists who have studied the nature and the impact of mandatory minimum sentences, have not concluded "effectiveness" in "cleaning the streets."

(1900)

I want to read two of those studies. One was done by the Department of Justice. It was conducted by prominent criminologist Julian V. Roberts from the Centre for Criminology, University of Oxford. This is not a person without credentials in terms of studying minimum mandatory sentences either here or in the Commonwealth countries. His study is entitled Mandatory Sentences of Imprisonment in Common Law Jurisdictions: Some Representative Models.

Dr. Roberts studied minimum sentences in most of the Commonwealth countries with which we share legal tradition in criminal law. I would like to from quote his conclusion on page 35, which states:

This report has demonstrated that while mandatory sentences of imprisonment proved popular in the 1990s across a number of common law jurisdictions, closer examination of the laws reveals that many countries allow courts the discretion to sentence below the minimum when exceptional circumstances exist.

I underline "when exceptional circumstances exist." I continue:

This usually means that courts are permitted to consider mitigating factors relating to the offence or the offender, in some cases, as long as the judge provides written reasons for doing so. In addition, while the general public appears to favour the use of mandatory sentences for offenders convicted of the most serious offences and repeat offenders, there are important limits on public support for strict mandatory sentencing laws. When the public is provided with more information regarding the law and the circumstances surrounding the offence and the offender, the tendency is not to favour punitive sanctions such as mandatory minimum sentences.

This study was commissioned by the Department of Justice and is available on their website.

Honourable senators, I want to draw your attention to another study, this time by the Research and Statistics Division of the Department of Justice, commissioned by Professor Thomas Gabor, Department of Criminology, Ottawa University; and Nicole Crutcher, from Carleton University. What do they conclude from their study? I will quote from page 32, which states:

There is a conspicuous absence of Canadian research on MMS, given the number of infractions carrying such penalties and the number of private members' bills, in the last two years, seeking to introduce MMS. Especially noteworthy is the lack of any systematic evaluation of the ten, four-year MMS for certain offences involving a firearm introduced with the enactment of Bill C-68 in 1995. Also noteworthy is the absence of evaluations of mandatory sentencing provisions relating to impaired driving. . . .

The level of public awareness of these penalties also must be ascertained, as such awareness is a precondition of deterrent and denunciatory effects. . . .

People do not know that it has no deterrent effect. That is essentially what it states. I continue:

Deterrence will therefore be more in evidence in relation to those offences usually committed by more casual or opportunistic offenders. . . . From a utilitarian point of view, incarcerating occasional, non-violent offenders, for substantial periods, constitutes a colossal waste of justice system resources.

Those are the academic conclusions or non-conclusions on the effectiveness of mandatory minimum sentencing. There are other aspects to it, however. One is its impact on criminal procedure as such. I tried to raise this question with the minister, asking him what impact this bill would have on the plea bargaining techniques that Crown attorneys use when they are faced with a list of criminal allegations and criminal offences and they have to negotiate with a defence lawyer about which one they might want to bargain for, about which one the accused will agree to and about which one they will not accept.

Honourable senators, one of our witnesses last week was a lawyer by the name of Mr. Michael Spratt, CLA Designate of the Criminal Lawyers' Association. What did he say to a regarding the impact of the presence of mandatory minimum sentencing when the Crown attorney has to deal with the defence lawyer to decide on which aspect the allegation will move to trial? I want to quote from his testimony where he said:

I believe that minimum sentences do two things, neither of which is particularly advantageous: The first is that they remove discretion from the hands of judges and put it in the hands of prosecutors, who have the discretion to withdraw some charges and proceed on others. As a result, there is a great incentive for an accused who is facing a charge that carries a mandatory minimum to bargain with the Crown to avoid a trial or adjudication of the charge and plead guilty to an included offence. That is problematic because it is a misplacement of discretion. A judge should have that discretion. If we are worried about the exercise of discretion, a member of the judiciary who is accountable to appellate review is a safe place to put that discretion.

That is the first weakness in terms of criminal procedure.

Mr. Spratt outlined a second weakness. He stated:

Conversely mandatory minimum sentences may also result in more charges making their way to trial. If one is faced with a charge which carries a mandatory minimum sentence, especially if your criminal conduct is towards the lower end of the spectrum, there is no incentive to plea bargain because you know what sentence you will get. There is actually an incentive to proceed to trial, because after trial, if convicted, you will not face any more than the mandatory minimum because your conduct is on the lower end of the spectrum. Therefore, we have this plea bargaining problem as well as a potential backlog in the courts through charges that could have been resolved earlier but simply are not, because of the mandatory minimum sentence.

Honourable senators, there are many aspects to the mandatory minimum sentence that need to be reviewed before we continue to put that in the Criminal Code. I repeat: This seems to be popular because it is a simple quick fix: "Let us put them in prison; let us clean the streets and everyone will be safer."

Honourable senators, we had the opportunity to hear from two other witnesses from the RCMP. Mr. Todd Shean represents the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police and is the Director General for the RCMP's Drugs and Organized Crime Branch. He is someone with a real background in fighting criminal organizations.

What did Mr. Sean state? He said the following:

Police services are constantly being challenged to adjust to the following two contrasting trends in today's criminal world: increasing violence between gangs and increasing infiltration into the legal economy by organized crime.

In other words, there is increased violence among gangs and there is also infiltration into the normal economy of our society.

He continued by stating:

These high-level actors in organized crime are becoming more strategic.

They are trying to pass themselves off as businessmen and investors in addition to learning more about how to protect themselves following each major investigation.

. . . we believe that our economies and free enterprise must be protected against increasing attempts by the higher echelons of traditional organized crime to enter the market place as economic actors, but according to the rules of the criminal underworld. These senior organized crime figures operate by intimidating rivals, taking over contract awards and acquiring monopolies.

He continues:

The challenge is to find legislative tools and methods to curb this phenomenon, which requires large amounts of police resources over very long periods, sometimes with mixed results.

. . . we need to discourage support for organized crime by facilitators, such as certain lawyers, notaries, accountants, tax professionals, real estate brokers and foreign exchange dealers, who have been corrupted by members of organized crime or who fail to report law-breaking. Second, we need to encourage partnerships between the various law enforcement and regulatory organizations in sharing information.

(1910)

In other words, honourable senators, there is no quick fix to organized crime. We can pile into the code a maximum of mandatory minimum sentences and we will be no more effective in fighting the second invasion of the economy, the legal profession, the accountants, the tax expert, the notaries, the lawyers and the judicial process.

I also draw to your attention that by approving this bill, our committee raised important issues, and when we vote on this bill, we should not content ourselves that we have solved the problem. The problem is much more systemic. In fact, by resorting to mandatory minimum sentences, we might add more problems than we solve.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Le Code criminel - Projet de loi modificatif—Troisième lecture

L'honorable Serge Joyal : Honorables sénateurs, je ne peux pas résister à l'invitation du sénateur Baker de vous faire connaître quelques-unes de mes réflexions sur un aspect du projet de loi dont mon collègue, le sénateur Wallace, n'a pas parlé dans son rapport et dans ses observations générales à propos du projet de loi. L'article 8 du projet de loi modifie l'article 244.2 du Code criminel et prévoit des peines minimales obligatoires de quatre ans pour la première infraction et de sept ans pour une récidive. La peine maximale serait de 14 ans. Le sénateur Baker a soulevé le problème de ce que je qualifierais d'inadéquation des peines minimales obligatoires dans le cas où l'accusé se serait servi d'une arme à balles BB ou d'une arme à plombs.

Il n'y a aucun doute dans mon esprit que, si une telle affaire était portée en justice, l'avocat de la défense invoquerait certainement l'article 12 de la Charte, qui porte sur les peines cruelles ou inusitées, car le juge n'aurait d'autre choix que d'imposer une peine minimale obligatoire de quatre ans.

Je devrais prendre le temps de réfléchir au concept de peine minimale obligatoire, car il refera surface, comme ce fut le cas en 1995. Ceux d'entre nous qui, à l'époque, siégeaient au comité ou à l'autre endroit ou qui observaient les tendances du Parlement s'en souviennent. Cette année-là, le Parlement était préoccupé par cette approche du droit pénal.

Je veux le souligner parce que l'imposition de peines minimales obligatoires apparaît comme une manière facile de lutter contre le crime organisé. Autrement dit, débarrassons les rues des criminels en les jetant en prison. Tout le monde sera content et se sentira en sécurité et pourra alors dormir sur ses deux oreilles. Mais le concept de peine minimale obligatoire est-il pour autant efficace? Nos rues sont-elles vraiment plus sûres?

J'ai été frappé lorsque le ministre de la Justice a témoigné, la semaine dernière, devant le comité et qu'il a répété à 13 reprises : « Nous devons envoyer le bon message. Nous devons envoyer le bon message. » C'était presque une incantation. On lance un message, puis il se concrétise.

Cela m'a rendu perplexe, d'une certaine façon, parce que, comme vous le savez, la lutte contre le crime organisé n'est pas chose facile. Toutes les études qui nous ont été présentées, que ce soit par le ministère de la Justice ou les criminologues qui ont étudié la nature et l'impact des peines minimales obligatoires, n'ont pas conclu qu'elles seraient « efficaces pour nettoyer les rues ».

(1900)

Je veux vous lire des extraits de deux de ces études. L'une a été réalisée par le ministère de la Justice. Elle a été réalisée par un éminent criminologue, Julian V. Roberts, du centre de criminologie de l'Université d'Oxford. Il a une réputation solide dans le domaine de l'étude des peines minimales obligatoires, que ce soit au Canada ou dans les pays du Commonwealth. Son étude s'intitule Peines d'emprisonnement obligatoires dans les pays de common law : Quelques modèles représentatifs.

M. Roberts a étudié les peines minimales d'emprisonnement dans la plupart des pays du Commonwealth avec lesquels nous partageons la même tradition juridique relativement au droit pénal. Je cite sa conclusion à la page 35 :

Ce rapport a montré que bien que l'on constate que les peines obligatoires d'emprisonnement étaient populaires dans les années 1990 dans certaines juridictions de common law, un examen plus approfondi des lois révèle que de nombreux pays donnent aux tribunaux le pouvoir discrétionnaire d'imposer une peine au-dessous du minimum lorsqu'il s'agit de cas exceptionnels.

J'insiste sur « lorsqu'il s'agit de cas exceptionnels ». Je continue :

Habituellement, cela signifie que les tribunaux ont le droit de considérer les facteurs atténuants relatifs à l'infraction ou au délinquant, dans certains cas, tant que le juge fournit des raisons écrites pour procéder ainsi. De plus, bien que le public semble favoriser l'utilisation de peines obligatoires pour les délinquants reconnus coupables d'infractions plus graves et pour les récidivistes, l'appui du public est grandement limité en ce qui concerne les lois sévères en matière de détermination de la peine obligatoire. Lorsque le public est mieux informé au sujet de la loi et des circonstances qui entourent l'infraction et le délinquant, il n'a pas tendance à favoriser les sanctions punitives comme les peines obligatoires minimales.

Cette étude, commandée par le ministère de la Justice, est publiée sur son site web.

Honorables sénateurs, j'aimerais attirer votre attention sur une autre étude, commandée par la Division de la recherche et de la statistique du ministère de la Justice et réalisée par M. Thomas Gabor, professeur au Département de criminologie de l'Université d'Ottawa, et Mme Nicole Crutcher, de l'Université Carleton. Quelles conclusions ont-ils tirées de leur étude? Je citerai la page 37 du rapport d'étude, où les auteurs disent ceci :

On observe une pénurie manifeste d'études canadiennes sur les PMO, particulièrement étonnante eu égard au nombre d'infractions passibles de telles peines en droit canadien et de projets de loi d'initiative parlementaire tendant à en instituer qui ont été déposés au cours des deux dernières années. Il convient en particulier de noter l'absence de toute évaluation systématique des dix PMO de quatre ans qui sanctionnent certaines infractions liées à l'usage d'armes à feu depuis l'adoption du projet de loi C-68 en 1995. [Il convient également de noter l'absence d'évaluation des dispositions relatives aux peines minimales obligatoires pour la conduite en état d'ébriété.] [...]

Il faut aussi établir dans quelle mesure le public est informé sur ces peines, étant donné que cette information est une condition préalable à leurs effets de dissuasion et d'exemplarité [...]

Les gens ne savent pas qu'elles n'ont pas d'effet dissuasif. C'est essentiellement ce qu'on dit. Je poursuis :

L'effet de dissuasion sera donc plus marqué à l'égard des infractions généralement commises par des délinquants d'occasion [...]

Au point de vue utilitaire, l'emprisonnement de délinquants d'occasion et non violents sur de longues durées constitue un énorme gaspillage des ressources du système judiciaire.

Ce sont là les conclusions théoriques ou non-conclusions quant à l'efficacité des peines minimales obligatoires. Il y a cependant d'autres aspects à examiner, dont l'effet sur la procédure au criminel comme telle. J'ai essayé d'en toucher un mot au ministre, pour savoir quelle incidence ce projet de loi aurait sur les techniques de négociation de plaidoyers qu'utilisent les procureurs de la Couronne lorsqu'ils se trouvent devant une longue liste d'allégations de crimes et d'infractions criminelles et qu'ils doivent négocier avec l'avocat de la défense pour déterminer sur lesquelles ils sont disposés à faire des concessions, ce que l'accusé est prêt à accepter et quelles concessions ils ne sont pas prêts à faire.

Honorables sénateurs, un des témoins que nous avons entendus la semaine dernière est l'avocat Michael Spratt. Me Spratt est avocat de la défense désigné par la CLA, la Criminal Lawyers' Association. Que nous a-t-il dit au sujet de l'effet de peines minimales obligatoires lorsqu'un procureur de la Couronne doit traiter avec l'avocat de la défense afin de déterminer sur quel aspect de l'allégation portera le procès? J'aimerais citer une partie de son témoignage, dans laquelle il dit ceci :

Je crois que les peines minimales obligatoires accomplissent deux choses, dont ni l'une ni l'autre n'est particulièrement avantageuse. Premièrement, elles retirent aux juges leur pouvoir discrétionnaire et le donnent aux procureurs, qui ont le pouvoir de retirer des accusations et d'en poursuivre d'autres. Par conséquent, une personne accusée d'une infraction à laquelle est associée une peine minimale obligatoire a tout intérêt à négocier avec la Couronne pour éviter un procès ou le prononcé de la peine et à plaider coupable à une infraction incluse. C'est un problème, car le pouvoir discrétionnaire est mal placé. Il devrait revenir au juge. Si l'utilisation d'un pouvoir discrétionnaire nous préoccupe, alors c'est à la magistrature, dont les décisions peuvent faire l'objet d'un examen en appel, qu'il serait plus sûr de le confier.

C'est la première faiblesse sur le plan des procédures judiciaires.

M. Spratt nous a ensuite expliqué la deuxième faiblesse :

Réciproquement, les peines minimales obligatoires peuvent entraîner un accroissement du nombre de causes entendues par les tribunaux. Une personne qui est accusée d'un crime passible d'une peine minimale obligatoire, surtout s'il s'agit d'activités criminelles de moindre importance, n'a aucun avantage à négocier un plaidoyer puisqu'elle sait quelle peine l'attend. Elle a plutôt tout avantage à subir son procès, puisque, même si elle est reconnue coupable, elle ne recevra pas plus que la peine minimale obligatoire puisque ses activités criminelles ne sont pas très graves. Il y a donc le problème de la négociation de plaidoyers en plus d'une éventuelle accumulation de causes à entendre qui auraient pu se régler hors cour, mais qui ne le sont pas à cause des peines minimales obligatoires.

Honorables sénateurs, il y a encore bien des aspects des peines minimales obligatoires sur lesquels nous devrions nous pencher avant de continuer à les inscrire dans le Code criminel. Je le répète, les gens sont favorables à ces mesures car elles représentent une solution facile. Les gens se disent : « Jetons les criminels en prison, comme ça nous serons plus en sécurité. »

Honorables sénateurs, deux autres témoins, des représentants de la GRC, ont comparu devant le comité. M. Todd Shean représente l'Association canadienne des chefs de police et est directeur général de la Direction des drogues et du crime organisé de la GRC. Il a une véritable expérience de la lutte contre les organisations criminelles.

Qu'a dit M. Shean? Il a dit ce qui suit :

Les services de police sont constamment appelés à relever le défi de devoir s'ajuster aux deux tendances opposées dans le milieu criminel d'aujourd'hui, soit l'augmentation de la violence entre les gangs et l'infiltration croissante du crime organisé dans l'économie légale.

Autrement dit, il y a de plus en plus de violence entre les gangs et il y a infiltration dans l'économie normale de notre société.

Il a aussi dit :

Ces acteurs de haut niveau dans le crime organisé deviennent de plus en plus stratégiques.

Ils essaient de se faire passer pour des hommes d'affaire et des investisseurs, en plus d'en apprendre toujours un peu plus sur la meilleure façon de se protéger après chaque enquête d'importance.

[...] nous croyons que nos économies et notre libre entreprise doivent être protégées contre les tentatives répétées des hautes sphères du crime organisé qui cherchent à s'introduire sur le marché en tant qu'acteurs économiques, mais en suivant les règles du monde interlope. Ces membres importants du crime organisé soumettent leurs rivaux à l'intimidation, reprennent des contrats et prennent la tête de monopoles.

Il a continué en disant :

Notre défi consiste à trouver les outils législatifs et les méthodes qui nous permettront de freiner ce phénomène qui monopolise un grand nombre de ressources policières pendant de longues périodes, avec des résultats souvent mitigés.

[...] nous devons réduire l'appui accordé au crime organisé par certains facilitateurs comme des avocats, des notaires, des comptables, des spécialistes fiscaux, des courtiers en immeuble et des courtiers de change qui ont été corrompus par des membres du crime organisé ou qui ne font pas rapport de certaines contraventions à la loi. Deuxièmement, nous devons favoriser les partenariats entre les divers organismes de réglementation et d'application de la loi aux fins de partage de renseignements.

(1910)

Autrement dit, honorables sénateurs, il n'y a pas de solution facile au problème du crime organisé. Nous pouvons prévoir toute une série de peines minimales obligatoires dans notre code, mais cela ne nous permettra pas de lutter plus efficacement contre l'invasion de l'économie, du milieu juridique, des comptables, des spécialistes fiscaux, des notaires, des avocats et du processus judiciaire.

J'aimerais également attirer votre attention sur le fait qu'en approuvant ce projet de loi, notre comité a soulevé d'importantes questions et que lorsque viendra le moment de voter sur ce projet de loi, nous ne devrons pas nous imaginer que nous avons résolu le problème. Ce problème est beaucoup plus systémique. En fait, en ayant recours aux peines minimales obligatoires, nous risquons de créer davantage de problèmes que nous n'en résolvons.