This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Tributes - The Honourable Yoine Goldstein

Hon. Serge Joyal: Honourable senators, it is a privilege to draw your attention to Senator Goldstein's contribution to the Senate of Canada, as his work in this chamber draws to a close. The length of Senator Goldstein's term here was rather short, just under four years. However, his contribution to our work has been significant and was appreciated immediately, from the moment he was appointed. Indeed, the Senate and its legislative approach have benefited greatly from Senator Goldstein's unique academic expertise.

(1355)

[English]

One should remember that after having completed his PhD in law at the Université de Lyon in France in 1960, he taught for more than 25 years at the University of Montreal. An expert in the law of bankruptcy, he has published extensively on related issues and is widely recognized by the legal and judicial community as an authority. He is quoted regularly in arbitration and court decisions.

Honourable senators, we in the Senate should appreciate the special professional background of Senator Goldstein and the backgrounds of other colleagues on both sides of this chamber, and recognize that their expertise is essential to our duty in reviewing the legislation adopted by the other place.

[Translation]

According to a study published recently by the Public Policy Forum, the newest members of the 40th Parliament elected on October 14, 2008, are less educated and less experienced than their predecessors in the 39th.

[English]

Moreover, according to that study, the House of Commons has few members experienced in public administration. This fact certainly has an impact on their capacity to do legislative work. The scholarly background of Senator Goldstein has brought solid credentials to the study of banking and financial legislation, in keeping with the fine tradition and practices of the Senate. Indeed, Senator Goldstein's talents were always at par, or even better, than those of the expert witnesses of the Department of Finance or those of the business community.

[Translation]

I cannot over-emphasize the fact that our Senate committees' reputation for credibility is due in large part to the professional experience of colleagues like Senator Goldstein.

[English]

Such colleagues sit on both sides of the chamber.

[Translation]

That is what fundamentally distinguishes this chamber from the other.

As we consider changes to the Senate appointment system, we should make it a point to maintain the elements that bring value to this chamber, elements that are critical to the Senate's credibility as a law-making institution, elements such as a high degree of professional qualification, which the system of elected representatives does not necessarily guarantee.

Let us hope that Senator Goldstein continues to take an interest in the work of Senate committees and contribute his academic and practical expertise to help us fulfill our constitutional duty to the best of our ability.

Senator Goldstein, we would be only too grateful.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Hommages - L'honorable Yoine Goldstein

L'honorable Serge Joyal : Honorables sénateurs, c'est un privilège de souligner la contribution du sénateur Goldstein au Sénat du Canada au moment où il s'apprête à quitter cette Chambre. La

durée du mandat du sénateur Goldstein aura été plutôt courte, soit près de quatre ans. Pourtant, sa participation à nos travaux aura été immédiate et surtout significative dès sa nomination. En fait, le sénateur Goldstein aura fait bénéficier le Sénat et son processus législatif de son unique expertise académique.

(1355)

[Traduction]

N'oublions pas qu'après avoir obtenu son doctorat de l'Université de Lyon, en France, en 1960, il a enseigné pendant plus de 25 ans à l'Université de Montréal. En sa qualité d'expert en droit des faillites, il a publié de nombreux ouvrages sur des sujets connexes et il est largement reconnu par la communauté juridique et judiciaire comme une autorité dans le domaine. Il est souvent cité dans les décisions arbitrales et judiciaires.

Honorables sénateurs, nous, au Sénat, devrions apprécier les connaissances professionnelles spécialisées du sénateur Goldstein et de nos autres collègues des deux côté de cette enceinte et reconnaître qu'elles nous sont indispensables pour mener à bien l'examen des lois adoptées à l'autre endroit.

[Français]

Selon une étude publiée récemment dans le Forum des politiques publiques, le dernier groupe de députés fédéraux élus lors des élections du 14 octobre 2008, qui forment la 40e législature de la Chambre des communes, sont moins instruits et expérimentés que ceux qui formaient la législature précédente, soit la 39e.

[Traduction]

De plus, selon cette étude, très peu de députés s'y connaissent en administration publique. Cela a certainement une incidence sur leur capacité de légiférer. L'érudition du sénateur Goldstein a grandement contribué à la crédibilité de notre étude des lois en matière de banques et de finances, conformément aux excellentes traditions et pratiques au Sénat. En effet, le sénateur Goldstein a toujours démontré des talents égaux, sinon supérieurs, à ceux des experts du ministère des Finances ou du monde des affaires qui comparaissent en tant que témoins.

[Français]

Je ne peux trop souligner que la réputation de crédibilité qu'ont les travaux des comités du Sénat repose, pour une large part, sur l'expertise professionnelle de collègues comme le sénateur Goldstein.

[Traduction]

Nous avons de tels collègues de part et d'autre de notre enceinte.

[Français]

C'est ce qui distingue, fondamentalement, notre assemblée de l'autre endroit.

Dans la réflexion que nous menons sur les modifications à apporter au système de nomination des sénateurs, nous devrions privilégier et conserver ce qui fait la valeur du Sénat et surtout ce qui fonde sa crédibilité législative, à savoir son haut niveau de qualification professionnelle, que ne garantit pas nécessairement le système électif.

Souhaitons que le sénateur Goldstein continue de porter intérêt aux travaux des comités du Sénat et d'offrir son expertise académique et pratique afin que nous puissions continuer de mieux remplir notre rôle constitutionnel.

Notre reconnaissance, sénateur Goldstein, ne vous en serait que plus vive.